Deckbuild 6th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 I know double zig zag and single zig zag rules, but what about double yellow? Just now I was waiting infront of another car at double yellow line. I was in the car but the back car driver is standing outside. I was being told off and I thought the same will happen to the back, after making a round, the back car was still there. Double standard or cannot wait in car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Told off by who? Why dare not tok back? If not blocking, then inside HDB estate. Should not worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Dont you guys get pissed when its raining heavily (like today) and you want to pickup/drop off your kids (someone) at the covered path near the HDB void deck and someone happily parks their car there?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear July 5, 2012 Author Share July 5, 2012 Told off by who? Why dare not tok back? If not blocking, then inside HDB estate. Should not worry. Summon auntie, I told them I'm waiting, and she say illegal parking, I'm not blocking anyone or hazard to anyone as well. Quite pissed with the double standard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Welcome to singapore. Where double standard are everywhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 double yellow line also consider as illegal parking. but this is rarely enforced in a hdb car park especially when there's a driver, but it's still an offence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Summon auntie will summon cars not in lots? Perhaps Cisco will summon illegal parked cars? Yes, alot of buay zhi tong drivers think they are entitled to park at the shelters, as long as they are waiting for someone that is coming soon. They behanve Like if they move off to make a loop in the carparks, to allow someone to use the shelter, will kill them or make them missed their loved ones who will suddenly appear just when they move off the shelter?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiraz 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 I've been told to move off before too in the same situation. I explained to the 2 guys that I am in the car, not in the drop-off point and not blocking anyone BUT in case a huge lorry were to come, I will move off. They didn't accept my explanation! Well, no point arguing since it's their job so I drove twice around the car park. Sometimes, we can't understand why they can't think like us and get all frustrated but if they can think like us, they would rather be doing our jobs. It's the harsh truth and it's not polite but I think that's the only logical explanation. Of course these are a few black sheep and there are ones who are good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 I would have understood if say you were waiting for someone who has difficulties moving around and there wasn't a handicap lot to facilitate that. Just how hard is it to find a proper parking and have your car wait there? just because someone was parking on the double yellow line and that lend credence to you justifying yourself doing the same? A bike cut into my lane very abruptly two weeks ago and when i confronted him, guess what? He told me that he experience some cars doing the same to him (and therefore he had the belief that he should be able to do that) Sad to conclude that you share the same warped sense of logic as this biker. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph27 Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 I would have understood if say you were waiting for someone who has difficulties moving around and there wasn't a handicap lot to facilitate that. Just how hard is it to find a proper parking and have your car wait there? just because someone was parking on the double yellow line and that lend credence to you justifying yourself doing the same? A bike cut into my lane very abruptly two weeks ago and when i confronted him, guess what? He told me that he experience some cars doing the same to him (and therefore he had the belief that he should be able to do that) Sad to conclude that you share the same warped sense of logic as this biker. Biker think that you bang you pay ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 there are traffic rules and just follow if you are worried of being fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Biker think that you bang you pay ... i tend to agree with what you said but i think you are missing my point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 My experiences with TP and Fatimah, don't reason with them on your explanation. They already tell you to move, just move off and turn around later. It better to respect their instruction at least you listen first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear July 6, 2012 Author Share July 6, 2012 I would have understood if say you were waiting for someone who has difficulties moving around and there wasn't a handicap lot to facilitate that. Just how hard is it to find a proper parking and have your car wait there? just because someone was parking on the double yellow line and that lend credence to you justifying yourself doing the same? A bike cut into my lane very abruptly two weeks ago and when i confronted him, guess what? He told me that he experience some cars doing the same to him (and therefore he had the belief that he should be able to do that) Sad to conclude that you share the same warped sense of logic as this biker. The thing here is not the car wait there so I also wait there, I want to know is it double standard, or is it not allow to wait when you are inside the car. Your example is on the extreme case, like during the army, I kena tekan by senior, so I must tekan junior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear July 6, 2012 Author Share July 6, 2012 My experiences with TP and Fatimah, don't reason with them on your explanation. They already tell you to move, just move off and turn around later. It better to respect their instruction at least you listen first. Sounds like my dad, will just move in future if I ever meet this incident again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear July 6, 2012 Author Share July 6, 2012 there are traffic rules and just follow if you are worried of being fine. I just want to know the concrete traffic rules as it's very grey on this. After being told off and the back car wasn't make me unsure whether we are allow to wait at double yellow line or not therefore I asked here. Anyway was being told even with concrete rules, fatimah can still summon you so I will just be a good Singaporean and follow fatimah rules. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hojc82 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Did anyone even consider that the car at the back had moved off initially and got back once the enforcement officer left? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arixlim Clutched July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 double yellow, means no waiting no parking , the revised action is, even u in the car and car stop, the car is called parking, whether u inside or outside or engine on of waving to someone etc..the fine line or grey when kanna summon..then u use brain..good idea?... why doesn't ask the other party, cos he/she aim 1 person to move or will summon to reinforced the action, so u been selected....but if u obliged or understand or like me kanna summon before...even my loading bay stairs 5 m from my door to downstairs and the double yellow drawn on the loading bay side...sure got some hdb fella, phantom write paper to fine u, premas got cameras, or other people selected for the summon hdb team....so be gracious f it, move along....1 fine $120-$150, u pay for season.ya i paid season, tt time premas just got selected very ya ya...so beat it buddy...forget ur votes, they are not needed....dun too personal, otherwise like me kan bu kai..but actually luck also have a part la, dun force it....very suay one...u see the action of u being haunted...more u dun want ..more they want to give u sell papaya....to eat ur own papaya...time to up class and move ur car before the car abit further...if u still want to try...but they can issue first and u want to get its your problem....okie...wake up la. haha..ur "my grandfather road" very pek chek also.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...