Electric cars

Expertz

On 5/5/2025 at 8:25 PM, Hamburger said:

One thing about china made car is the seats. Having sat in different variants like Aion,BYD and Xpeng,

They have seats that are too soft which I am not used to. I prefer firmer ones.

This is the so-called Asian preference, so to speak according to the Chinese brands.

Seats soft, suspension soft, everything must be soft 🤣

• Haha! 7

On 5/5/2025 at 8:25 PM, Hamburger said:

One thing about china made car is the seats. Having sat in different variants like Aion,BYD and Xpeng,

They have seats that are too soft which I am not used to. I prefer firmer ones.

Welcum to the club for lao ah peh...everything also must be hard...but hard to cum by...🙏😂

On 5/6/2025 at 10:06 AM, mersaylee said:

Welcum to the club for lao ah peh...everything also must be hard...but hard to cum by...🙏😂

So boh everything must be hard.

Give you Carbon Fibre Bucket Seat.  Ai Mai?

🤭

On 5/6/2025 at 11:11 AM, Lala81 said:

we got so many BYD on the road. And the cab/PHV E6s been running so long on the road liao.

Isolated case lah, ICE can stall on the road too, especially these days more and more cars are software driven. But if this is due to electrical circuitry,  then it will be a diff problem 

Edited by Ct3833

2nd Gear
On 5/6/2025 at 11:00 AM, Ct3833 said:

BYD Atto 3 owner claims car performed emergency braking on highway without warning

https://soyacincau.com/2025/05/06/byd-atto-3-sudden-emergency-braking-power-system-failure-cheras-kajang-highway/

Atto3 in the limelight for so many bad news. either brake itself when it shouldn't.. or it should brake but it didn't (the polling station case where the car able to move with an opened door)... some PR effort should be activated by BYD to gain back some confidence..

Edited by Soundphile

I find the prices that MG ES5 is more palatable with rear wheel drive. Front wheel drive for EV normally results in torque steer and they dont have torque vectoring. If only the Proton specs it to asia roads, the car would be a tad easier to market. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

I wonder if we can turn off the OTA updates on our EVs and/or cut the car off from the "mothership". What if one day hacker take over the car (after hacking the car company's main system) and bricks the car until we pay them x amount of bitcoin....

On 5/7/2025 at 3:03 PM, Kar_lover said:

I wonder if we can turn off the OTA updates on our EVs and/or cut the car off from the "mothership". What if one day hacker take over the car (after hacking the car company's main system) and bricks the car until we pay them x amount of bitcoin....

U can take the SIM card out.. but why would u do that as the beauty of OTA is an option button on auto update. The rest of the car eco systems allows u to turn on the aircon n other fancy stuff. Even the bread n butter Hyundai Elantra in Korea has this functionality, just that it’s cost prohibitive and not offer locally.

while I agree with the logic of the server been hosted in China, it’s only a short period of time before you start paying for the server bandwidth. So u have a choice to not subscribe 

On 5/9/2025 at 8:00 AM, Sdf4786k said:

U can take the SIM card out.. but why would u do that as the beauty of OTA is an option button on auto update. The rest of the car eco systems allows u to turn on the aircon n other fancy stuff. Even the bread n butter Hyundai Elantra in Korea has this functionality, just that it’s cost prohibitive and not offer locally.

while I agree with the logic of the server been hosted in China, it’s only a short period of time before you start paying for the server bandwidth. So u have a choice to not subscribe 

haha.... cybersecurity is one of the stuff i do for a living. Combined with too many take-over-the-world movies, become paranoid... maybe i can turn on like once a month, get the updates, then turn off rather than leave it on perpetually (I was told XP uses e-sim). It's like leaving ur front gates open all the time - low crime doesn't mean no crime lol.... 

Yes, i suspect my current "basic" car also have OTA updates but ICE cars don't rely so much on software to operate the car. I am just thinking threat actors will start looking at EVs as a new cash cow and hold the manufacturers literally to ransom esp the big ones like Tesla and BYD

Edited by Kar_lover

On 5/9/2025 at 8:08 AM, Kar_lover said:

haha.... cybersecurity is one of the stuff i do for a living. Combined with too many take-over-the-world movies, become paranoid... maybe i can turn on like once a month, get the updates, then turn off rather than leave it on perpetually (I was told XP uses e-sim). It's like leaving ur front gates open all the time - low crime doesn't mean no crime lol.... 

Yes, i suspect my current "basic" car also have OTA updates but ICE cars don't rely so much on software to operate the car. I am just thinking threat actors will start looking at EVs as a new cash cow and hold the manufacturers literally to ransom esp the big ones like Tesla and BYD

Nice .. spoken like a truly certified cissp professional 

2nd Gear
On 5/1/2025 at 11:11 AM, eleong said:

You’re right. Different models from different years may have different warranty coverage. But there doesn’t seem to be a proper warranty agreement between BMW and owners. I’ve been asking for this so that I know what’s covered or not and BMW just sent that one page warranty brochure and said no other terms and conditions are available. I also asked if they have a supplementary warranty document applicable for EVs and PHEVs like the one I found from BMW Australia which has this clause:-

“Should a capacity check at a BMW service workshop at any time during the Certificate Period show that the net battery capacity has dropped below 70% of its original value at delivery of the new BMW vehicle, the portion of net battery capacity below 70% is regarded as ‘excessive capacity loss’. This excessive capacity loss will be repaired by an authorised BMW dealer or authorised BMW repairer for the purchaser free of charge.”

His initial reply is that is generated by Google AI and after I’ve sent him the link he said “BMW Australia’s current warranty does not refer to any battery degradation level.” and “we do not have a supplementary battery warranty document.”

Cost depends on number of battery modules to be changed. They won’t know how many until they strip the battery out for further tests. Quote from PML range from $7.7k to $17.8k. Downtime could be a month or more.

No wonder bmw drivers always drive so dangerously and behave like ***holes on the road. Their distributor selling the cars and the manufacturer treat them so badly. 

Screenshot_20250509_210545_Facebook.jpg

Edited by Tohto