Electric cars

Expertz

On 5/23/2026 at 6:31 PM, simon_simon said:

IMHO, Elon long ago aware SG Gov held a dim view at EV.

Remember that infamous story on LTA imposed S$15,000 carbon surcharge on SG-registered Telsa S claiming their test shows that EV is "not “carbon emissions-free” ?

The Telsa boss heard about this and called PM Lee, who happened to visit his Tesla plant a month later. LTA then promised to "review" carbon evaluation.

Wanna POFMA Elon? That will make SG look like a No#1 idiot ahead of what our Bolehland gov is doing to EV ownership now.

😁

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/electric-car-tesla-slapped-with-15000-tax-surcharge

4004_2_l.jpg&w=1920&q=75

How come like that.. 😂

Screenshot_20260523_204158_Chrome.jpg

On 5/23/2026 at 2:04 PM, Ghgan said:

That is provided you stay put in SG, if drive out of SG to up north further than JB, I think you will have panic attack liao. For the battery degradation is over hype liao, most people don't drive til the COE expired. Probably before 7-8 years will sell off the car, battery degradation doubt will more than 10% by then. Else just buy EV with blade battery, no worries on 100% full charge.  

Unless the car is scrapped. Someone else will buy over. So how can one say no one will experience batt degradation. 

On 5/23/2026 at 8:37 PM, Solar said:

You take a small portable stool and sit somewhere far enough to watch with popcorn 😂

It was an open CP just beside a  coffee shop, I was there to dabao food. By the time I was done with food in hand, saw the ah bang with his bike right in front of that red Mazda, keying into his handheld device. I 光明正大 walk passed.  [:p] [laugh] [laugh]

On 5/23/2026 at 2:04 PM, Ghgan said:

That is provided you stay put in SG, if drive out of SG to up north further than JB, I think you will have panic attack liao. For the battery degradation is over hype liao, most people don't drive til the COE expired. Probably before 7-8 years will sell off the car, battery degradation doubt will more than 10% by then. Else just buy EV with blade battery, no worries on 100% full charge.  

I just found this thread, and it will be pretty useful:

On 5/23/2026 at 8:43 PM, Solar said:

How come like that.. 😂

Screenshot_20260523_204158_Chrome.jpg

Their factory floor space is big mah. Quite common for the big ones to have bicycles or golf buggies to navigate the warehouses/factory.

5th Gear

Have a question on EV charging at HDB carpark:

- HDB carpark with 100% red/white lots and 3 EV charging lots

- Saturday 5pm

If non-season holder enters at above timing and start using ev charging, can he/she continue to park+charge after 7pm? Since this carpark is reserved for season parking after 7pm only.

Hope to have some feedback here. Thanks

On 5/24/2026 at 10:35 AM, Micb said:

Have a question on EV charging at HDB carpark:

- HDB carpark with 100% red/white lots and 3 EV charging lots

- Saturday 5pm

If non-season holder enters at above timing and start using ev charging, can he/she continue to park+charge after 7pm? Since this carpark is reserved for season parking after 7pm only.

Hope to have some feedback here. Thanks

EV lots are green, nothing to do with 7am or 7pm. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

1st Gear
On 5/24/2026 at 8:54 AM, therock said:

I just found this thread, and it will be pretty useful:

Sharing my 1st road trip (回娘家) to Penang in recent month.

645511321_10163391651628558_2104403639180792735_n.jpg.b21603eaab1e0af4518a75bec234bd33.jpg

647151983_10163391651783558_3645908787837265362_n.jpg.65164f52a6025f7117da35ac55dbccc5.jpg

648095241_10163391651958558_4770969087325525102_n.thumb.jpg.66f23caea3eea7b800bae1ccb5144aee.jpg

Edited by Onslaught
  • Praise 13

On 5/24/2026 at 3:59 AM, Lala81 said:

Their factory floor space is big mah. Quite common for the big ones to have bicycles or golf buggies to navigate the warehouses/factory.

When LHL toured the 2,500 acre Telsa factory in 2016, Model 3 was about to go into product while Y and Cybertruck were still on drawing board and concept stage.

Fast forward to 2026, there are now 3 operational Telsa factories with Shanghai the biggest and highest production capacity at nearly 1 million units per year...And Elon has moved his focus on SpaceX IPO and 2nd gen Optimus, Telas's 1st humanoid robot.

In the nutshell - (autonomous) EV is nothing new and it is obvious this is just a start into a World many will not recognise in the coming next 10 years.  Guys, we are now living in Interesting Time.

😜

bqnaq2qptudc1.png

On 5/23/2026 at 8:44 AM, Ghgan said:

I am aware, need additional effort to plan, install so many app, go google map to check out where is the charging spot, etc. My phone already got so many of my kids school app, company app, shopping mall app, etc, no wonder nowadays phone need so much memory. Guess it is inevitability EV will be 100% in SG soon if there is no change in gov policies. 

Bro, perhaps you can "outsource" your EV-charger-tracking job to your children & their smart device when their are at appropriate age.

That way, they will appreciate Daddy's challenge and perhaps grow an interest in modern software centeic mobility business.

Afterall, young-lings are far more adaptable in "new tech".

😝

Counting how many EV charging point has become a "vanity metric" - I agree with this saying. Experienced/smart EV owners will know this and learn how to optimise their charging habit based around their daily routines and cost/convenience.

😄

CNA (21 May) As Singapore's EV uptake soars, drivers and experts say it's not how many chargers, but where and what kind

"I would argue that the charger count is becoming a vanity metric," said  NUS Assoc Prof Peng

The real measure, he said, was charging energy delivered per vehicle per week. A 7-kilowatt (kW) alternating current (AC) home charger, which is slower and suitable for overnight charging, and a 180-kW direct current (DC) fast charger each count as one charging point but serve very different needs. 

Over 90% of HDB car parks are equipped with slow chargers (AC). Fast-charging (DC) hubs are being rolled out, with at least one per HDB town planned by end-2027.  "If close to 60% of new cars are EVs, the right question shifts from 'how many points' to 'how many usable kilowatts, in the right locations, at what utilisation..."

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ev-electric-vehicles-new-cars-chargers-location-6097106

1190x520.jpg.downloadasset.jpg

On 5/23/2026 at 10:54 AM, Solar said:

Even if they don't send people down, they can use the submitted photo to send the owner a love letter. Just a few clicks in their backend 😂  We just observe if this happens again, then keep reporting if it does.

Me think motorists in SG will feel like BMT recruits on stand-by-bed takan session....Video captures of illegal acts uploaded to LTA/TP/TC/URA is now used to train its AI to detect and issue summons. 

😉

Police plan to use AI to screen videos from public to nab traffic offenders

An AI-powered video analytics tool called Traffic Rule Analysis and Compliance Recognition (TRACER) is an example of how the police will be using AI in its operations, said Second Minister for Home Affairs Edwin Tong.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/police-plan-to-use-ai-to-screen-videos-from-public-to-nab-traffic-offenders-issue-summons-faster

1*JiaKk6pyw1ZRImNvUeBu8A.png

On 5/25/2026 at 11:22 AM, simon_simon said:

Me think motorists in SG will feel like BMT recruits on stand-by-bed takan session....Video captures of illegal acts uploaded to LTA/TP/TC/URA is now used to train its AI to detect and issue summons. 

😉

Police plan to use AI to screen videos from public to nab traffic offenders

An AI-powered video analytics tool called Traffic Rule Analysis and Compliance Recognition (TRACER) is an example of how the police will be using AI in its operations, said Second Minister for Home Affairs Edwin Tong.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/police-plan-to-use-ai-to-screen-videos-from-public-to-nab-traffic-offenders-issue-summons-faster

But dowan to catch PMD/PMA

• Sad 1

4th Gear
On 5/22/2026 at 9:58 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

I suaku. Not used to so fast charging

IMG_3846.jpeg

Actually, if you navigate to a supercharger, it will pre-condition the battery for fast charging. Then it will probably hit close to 250 kW at low SoC. But if you charge to 100%, i recall got some extra congestion fees above 80%.

That’s the problem 

too many apps instead of a single unifying app 

1st Gear
On 5/25/2026 at 1:16 PM, therock said:

That’s the problem 

too many apps instead of a single unifying app 

No choice...many competitors and each has their own business model.