Tianmo Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 12:53 PM, Mkl22 said: i also wonder about the efficiency of AC vs DC. I know charge+ rates are the same for DC/AC if you sign up for their prepaid monthly plans. Efficiency I think depends on how you defined it. To me, it's about how much down time. If I can plug into an AC and walk away for a few hours to do my work, come back unplug and drive away, there is no down time. Similarly, if I can plug into a DC, stay there and do my work, unplug and drive away in 30-40 min, there is also no down time. However, AC charging you might need to keep charging almost everyday, otherwise you need a very long night to get back those stored energy. DC charging, one charge can last 3 days on avg for me, sometimes 4 days. In the same MSCP, hardly can see me at the AC charging lots, but there is one grey SL7, he is almost always there when he is parked. When you see him not there, you cannot find him anywhere else in the MSCP. I heard charge+ prepaid plan for condos are same price, but the AC and DC prices are different for public chargers. DC cost a lot more. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 1:04 PM, Voodooman said: You must have gotten used to the wait while the car is being charged. La kopi? I have only used DC once. Always on AC charging with no availability issue at home and work. Best is still no idle fee yet. Our experience and use case are so different. La kopi was only in the early stage of maybe first month, but I find it quite a rush and stopped. For the last 2 months, I just leave the car on, plug in DC charging, and moved to the back seat to do some work, so there is actually no waiting. There was once I was so tired, I set an alarm for 30min, and took a nap on the back seat while the car was DC charging. When the alarm came on, the car was already fully charged. I just woke up, recollect myself, unplug and drive off. Power nap also is considered positive productivity mah. 7 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 1:41 PM, Tianmo said: Efficiency I think depends on how you defined it. To me, it's about how much down time. If I can plug into an AC and walk away for a few hours to do my work, come back unplug and drive away, there is no down time. Similarly, if I can plug into a DC, stay there and do my work, unplug and drive away in 30-40 min, there is also no down time. However, AC charging you might need to keep charging almost everyday, otherwise you need a very long night to get back those stored energy. DC charging, one charge can last 3 days on avg for me, sometimes 4 days. In the same MSCP, hardly can see me at the AC charging lots, but there is one grey SL7, he is almost always there when he is parked. When you see him not there, you cannot find him anywhere else in the MSCP. I heard charge+ prepaid plan for condos are same price, but the AC and DC prices are different for public chargers. DC cost a lot more. I noticed some EV always or default at the charging point everyday. And it is a personal EV, not some PHV EV. Maybe for some people, even the battery level is at 70-80 plus, they still go charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 1:59 PM, Tianmo said: La kopi was only in the early stage of maybe first month, but I find it quite a rush and stopped. For the last 2 months, I just leave the car on, plug in DC charging, and moved to the back seat to do some work, so there is actually no waiting. There was once I was so tired, I set an alarm for 30min, and took a nap on the back seat while the car was DC charging. When the alarm came on, the car was already fully charged. I just woke up, recollect myself, unplug and drive off. Power nap also is considered positive productivity mah. Good for Jack Neo wannabes wo. Can buy an EV plug in 30 mins. Go behind backseat and plug in mistress to "recharge". Body, mind and spirit recharged liao, car also just nice recharged 🤣 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 12:53 PM, Mkl22 said: i also wonder about the efficiency of AC vs DC. I know charge+ rates are the same for DC/AC if you sign up for their prepaid monthly plans. For DC chargers, the efficiency of AC-DC conversion should be stated on the ratings plate. Walk around the charger and you should be able to find. For AC charging, AC voltage is pass-through from charger to EV. Only the EV manufacturer will know what is the efficiency of the EVCC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2026 at 10:56 PM, Gizmore said: For DC chargers, the efficiency of AC-DC conversion should be stated on the ratings plate. Walk around the charger and you should be able to find. For AC charging, AC voltage is pass-through from charger to EV. Only the EV manufacturer will know what is the efficiency of the EVCC. Don’t think one is charged for the AC to DC losses on the DC charger since it is what is input into the car that counts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 On 4/6/2026 at 9:57 PM, Lethalstrike said: Good for Jack Neo wannabes wo. Can buy an EV plug in 30 mins. Go behind backseat and plug in mistress to "recharge". Body, mind and spirit recharged liao, car also just nice recharged 🤣 You sound like very experienced with such application hor? While the electric box was "discharging" to "recharge" your EV. You also "recharged" your mistress by "discharging" into her. Chargeeeeeeee!!!!!?? 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 7 Share April 7 On 4/6/2026 at 10:56 PM, Gizmore said: For DC chargers, the efficiency of AC-DC conversion should be stated on the ratings plate. Walk around the charger and you should be able to find. For AC charging, AC voltage is pass-through from charger to EV. Only the EV manufacturer will know what is the efficiency of the EVCC. Overall, in SG 30+ weather, I get 15% loss from the charger and my car's ICC. I wasn't factoring in so much before I went EV. Thats like running two overclocked 4090/5090 gpus throughout my 7.2kW charging session. Quite a lot of heat being vented into the air via the batt system. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 10:32 AM, Ake109 said: Overall, in SG 30+ weather, I get 15% loss from the charger and my car's ICC. I wasn't factoring in so much before I went EV. Thats like running two overclocked 4090/5090 gpus throughout my 7.2kW charging session. Quite a lot of heat being vented into the air via the batt system. So if it was possible will a faster charger eg 22kw experience less loss ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 10:55 AM, therock said: So if it was possible will a faster charger eg 22kw experience less loss ? I not sure. Faster charge also means battery heat up more but less time spent. No idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 (edited) On 4/7/2026 at 10:32 AM, Ake109 said: Overall, in SG 30+ weather, I get 15% loss from the charger and my car's ICC. I wasn't factoring in so much before I went EV. Thats like running two overclocked 4090/5090 gpus throughout my 7.2kW charging session. Quite a lot of heat being vented into the air via the batt system. So roughly how much are u paying per km? Edited April 7 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 7 Share April 7 (edited) On 4/7/2026 at 11:21 AM, Lala81 said: So roughly how much are u paying per km? Right now, after all in, just a bit under 1 dollar per 10km after accounting for all the losses. If landed, will be 50 to 60 cents I think. After the BYD 20% discount expire, plus Gulf War impact, dunno man. probably expect to pay 1.30 to 1.50 per 10km. It doesnt save if you compare to those super efficient 1.5 Toyota Hybrids which can get 25km/litre. But I wanted bigger car with low end torque so pay lor. Edited April 7 by Ake109 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 11:21 AM, Lala81 said: So roughly how much are u paying per km? I am paying about 10 cents per km. My AC after discount is just a little above 50 cents, while my DC ranges from 49 cents to 53 cents kwh. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 11:44 AM, Tianmo said: I am paying about 10 cents per km. My AC after discount is just a little above 50 cents, while my DC ranges from 49 cents to 53 cents kwh. Your 49 sen DC is from where ah? Maybe next time meet up for kopi there. And your tayars, change liao boh? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 11:21 AM, Lala81 said: So roughly how much are u paying per km? Oh and if the car is on idling mode, with ac blowing at 21 deg under the hot noon sun, it cost about $1 an hour of idling base my charging rate. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 (edited) On 4/7/2026 at 11:49 AM, Ake109 said: Your 49 sen DC is from where ah? Maybe next time meet up for kopi there. And your tayars, change liao boh? 49 cents DC (120kwh) is one ulu place in Jurong from midnight to 8am, so far I only tried once, and then it goes to 51 cents from 8am to 6pm, 6pm to midnight become 50 cents. But parking is $1.20/hr, free parking from midnight to 10am. No kopi no toilet there, so is charge and f**k off, unless buy own kopi there. I usually charge there at 51 cents, and once a while in the late evening for 50 cents if I were busy in the day. Taya ended up no change. My daughter said she feels nothing wrong in the rain, and I tested a few times in the rain, really nothing as bad as what was reviewd. In fact I find it better than many others I had before. I don't understand why review on wet is that bad, given that Conti is well known for wet grip. Maybe is an expectation thingy. Edited April 7 by Tianmo 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 11:26 AM, Ake109 said: Right now, after all in, just a bit under 1 dollar per 10km after accounting for all the losses. If landed, will be 50 to 60 cents I think. After the BYD 20% discount expire, plus Gulf War impact, dunno man. probably expect to pay 1.30 to 1.50 per 10km. It doesnt save if you compare to those super efficient 1.5 Toyota Hybrids which can get 25km/litre. But I wanted bigger car with low end torque so pay lor. You mean EV doesn’t save much? Lol. Anyway, thought EV charging rate is at $0.62-0.67? How come all can get at 0.60 and below de? Due to BYD discount? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 7 Share April 7 On 4/7/2026 at 12:09 PM, Tianmo said: 49 cents DC (120kwh) is one ulu place in Jurong from midnight to 8am, so far I only tried once, and then it goes to 51 cents from 8am to 6pm, 6pm to midnight become 50 cents. But parking is $1.20/hr, free parking from midnight to 10am. No kopi no toilet there, so is charge and f**k off, unless buy own kopi there. I usually charge there at 51 cents, and once a while in the late evening for 50 cents if I were busy in the day. Taya ended up no change. My daughter said she feels nothing wrong in the rain, and I tested a few times in the rain, really nothing as bad as what was reviewd. In fact I find it better than many others I had before. I don't understand why review on wet is that bad, given that Conti is well known for wet grip. Maybe is an expectation thingy. PM location leh. If I out of juice on way home maybe need go there emergency top up sometimes. Yalor, the tayar I tested, is not that bad in the rain. But all reviews say until like crap, really scared me. I will stick with it until botak. I changing shocks though. Cannot tahan the stock wobble liao. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...