Salary report 2011

Wind30

http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/papers/people/pp-s18.pdf

Interesting read for guys here since people like to compare salaries :)

Interesting facts.

1) there is a 11% jump in median household income from 2010 to 2011 !!! Did your pay jump by 11% in 2011?

2) Median household income is only around 7k and that is including employer CPF... take home pay is probably ard 5.5k?

3) Median household income for condo is 14.6k, landed is 17.4k. So no need to ask if you can afford a condo :)

For first point, I got 44% jump in salary in just 7 months in 2012. Don't know is it luck or what, happen after changed job.

So u bigger fry than sabbie?

no lah, sabbie is the biggest fry..... but still fry...

note: i smaller fry but can still comment hor....

no lah, sabbie is the biggest fry..... but still fry...

note: i smaller fry but can still comment hor....

Sabbie fried... [laugh]

aiyah, i most unlucky one. talk about salary, my salary already frozen 2 yrs. next year if freeze again, i have to sell my car to pay for my watch instalments. or sell my watch to pay for my condo instalments , or sell my condo to pay for my car instalments.... ...hai.....

selling your backside shld pay for all 3

salary freeze is ok

you can 'revised' your salary upward by selling properties whenever you feel like it [thumbsup]

salary freeze is ok

you can 'revised' your salary upward by selling properties whenever you feel like it [thumbsup]

oh cannot...i'm like the property agent, home loan big big, car also loan big big, watch also instalment, Tv and fridge too....

die liao... if my salary freeze next year, cannot cover monthly instalment payments after CPF....but lucky i not driving 991 Turbo

Edited by Throttle2

Perhaps the sandwich class is partly because they are trying to live up to society's expectations of them "making it" and as a result living beyond their means? I know, part of the problem is that the sandwich class is too well paid to enjoy government benefits/assistance but too poorly paid to be able to survive reasonably......

Its like people expect if you're a VP at a bank you have to be driving a premium brand conti car and living at least in a condominium. Anything less and they'll ask why you're not at that expected level. I mean, couldn't a VP choose to live frugally driving a Japanese B&B car or commuting to work by public transport, and living in a HDB flat? For many people, the more they earn, the more they spend, its fine if they can afford it but if they start spending beyond their means, they're in trouble. They may as well earn less and live more humbly.

VPs in the banks are overrated. I mean, how many VPs are there in each bank, hundreds, thousands? And a VP in Investment Banking and the VP of Operations have different pay grades.

Call me a janitor and give me the VP's pay i'm still a happy person. But they might also change my janitor's title to "Sanitation Specialist".

VPs in the banks are overrated. I mean, how many VPs are there in each bank, hundreds, thousands? And a VP in Investment Banking and the VP of Operations have different pay grades.

Call me a janitor and give me the VP's pay i'm still a happy person. But they might also change my janitor's title to "Sanitation Specialist".

So are you still in OUE Bayfront or you have taken up another offer?

most bank VPs i know are in their 30s and live either in HDBs or mass mkt condos, they do drive entry level premium contis.

i think thats about right. just nice. not over-extravagant nor miserly....

KNN, if janitor just call janitor lah, simi sanitation specialist?

like me, table wiper mean table wiper. [:p]

So are you still in OUE Bayfront or you have taken up another offer?

Harbourfront ler, not as fancy as OUE Bayfront.

Management has clearly indicated a clear and defined career progress for me and i'm happy with the overall environment. I took some of the advice from you guys to stay put and build up the core skills. Bottom line, i still have a job as long as i remain valuable to the organization. [cool]

But you did mention that youngsters now going for titles mah. So if i'm the head of a big organization trying to lure young cheap local talents i'll create a fanciful job description and give a fancy title for what is supposed to be a 'janitors' job.

And then put the salary in 'per annum' basis hoping they didn't see it. :D

Edited by Nullifi3d

Interesting 3rd point. $17.4k can buy landed already? How can?

you have forgotten that just 6 yrs ago, landed could be bought for 400 to 800 psf only.

Yup, in 1998 when the post-AFC impact was near bottomed, a FH, D.10 landed in the Holland Rd area can be had for $400 psf or thereabout.