Sunny Hypersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 i only give the "lai lah... bang me if u dare" look if the left/right turning vehicle keep inching towards me when i cross with green man n i am walking at normal/ quick pace. i may even completely stop and face my palm towards the driver before completing my crossing. my wife say i mad but they have to learn to stop pressurising people mah... life in sg is stressful enuf. when people are crossing the road, they should be threatened with bodily harm to walk faster when crossing with green man. on this note i support you earlier i was not refering traffic light green man. my home area in mornings there is this lady, always walk on road side (and literally on the the road (side)) and not on the walking path. really ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 (edited) In school I already saw ppl boh chap Chinese lessons. What makes you think they will bother to "brush up" now? Waste time lah. Dun know how to read just skip lor. Why must ppl translate for you? If you didn't bother during lesson, why the heck bother now? I remember when i was back in school, my relatives would tell me no need to be good in chinese, even chinese scored A1 also no future. Better brush up on your english, maths and science. Anyway, saw the video clips of the merc reversing, the speed was very very fast! Luckily people managed to siam away from the car, if not major accident. Edited August 7, 2012 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 thats brings to another interesting point of discussion, when reversing, y need to open door and pop out head? the mirrors not good enuf meh ? i trust my 3 mirrors well lo. + 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 Are you a chinese? If you are, perhaps you should brush up on yr chinese reading skills. Why is it, that someone with yellow skin is always expected to speak chinese? My paternal grandmother is German, but I don't speak German. My Maternal ancestors are Irish, yet nobody expects me to speak Gaelic. Just why is that? Why, just because however many generations ago someone originate from China, are they expected to speak Chinese? Further, if you want to go by strict definition, a Caucasion comes from the Caucasus region. The languages of the Caucasus? It sure as hell ain't english... Three of these families have no current members outside the Caucasus, and are considered indigenous to the area. The term Caucasian languages is generally restricted to these families, which are spoken by about 11.2 million people. Kartvelian language family with a total of about 5.2 million speakers. Includes Georgian, the official language of Georgia, with four million speakers, Mingrelian, Laz language and Svan language. Northwest Caucasian, also called the Abkhaz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 (edited) Still find it unbelievable to step for so long without any corrective action, even lifting off the accelerator would have helped tremendously and avoided this disaster. Wonder what does the driver have to say. I am leaning towards mechanical failure as likely cause since there is no verifiable reports stating that driver fainted or had a heart attack. It is an old Merc, mind you. Quite unlikely he had step on the wrong pedal also...that would be an epic mistake if he did. Edited August 7, 2012 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvingoh45 Clutched August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 i only give the "lai lah... bang me if u dare" look if the left/right turning vehicle keep inching towards me when i cross with green man n i am walking at normal/ quick pace. i may even completely stop and face my palm towards the driver before completing my crossing. my wife say i mad but they have to learn to stop pressurising people mah... life in sg is stressful enuf. when people are crossing the road, they should be threatened with bodily harm to walk faster when crossing with green man. [/quot Shuay shuay 1day u kanna a blur fuk which mistaken the accelerator for the brakes how? I will chose to walk faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arcoxia Neutral Newbie August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 Why is it, that someone with yellow skin is always expected to speak chinese? My paternal grandmother is German, but I don't speak German. My Maternal ancestors are Irish, yet nobody expects me to speak Gaelic. Just why is that? Why, just because however many generations ago someone originate from China, are they expected to speak Chinese? Further, if you want to go by strict definition, a Caucasion comes from the Caucasus region. The languages of the Caucasus? It sure as hell ain't english... Three of these families have no current members outside the Caucasus, and are considered indigenous to the area. The term Caucasian languages is generally restricted to these families, which are spoken by about 11.2 million people. Kartvelian language family with a total of about 5.2 million speakers. Includes Georgian, the official language of Georgia, with four million speakers, Mingrelian, Laz language and Svan language. Northwest Caucasian, also called the Abkhaz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stooky 6th Gear August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 News say the 67 year old driver of the merc suffered a stroke previously, so maybe his reaction time lagged liao lor.. still go driving... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 (edited) News say the 67 year old driver of the merc suffered a stroke previously, so maybe his reaction time lagged liao lor.. still go driving... His next car insurance renewal will be tough one. Even if there are takers they will probably want him to go thru a barrage of medical tests before charging him extra premium coz of this incident. He might as well give up driving. Edited August 7, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 wont happened if its Selespeed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satrianeo_2012 Clutched August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 Lol.... German technology indeed..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 I am leaning towards mechanical failure as likely cause since there is no verifiable reports stating that driver fainted or had a heart attack. It is an old Merc, mind you. Quite unlikely he had step on the wrong pedal also...that would be an epic mistake if he did. i read the newspapers and they seeming suggested that the driver had mild stroke attack during driving. you know for stroke, sometimes one side of the body may suffer temporary loss of movement. if indeed so, is tough luck for those injured party that his right leg chose to go through this temporary paralysis when his foot was on the accelerator and car on reverse gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 i read the newspapers and they seeming suggested that the driver had mild stroke attack during driving. you know for stroke, sometimes one side of the body may suffer temporary loss of movement. if indeed so, is tough luck for those injured party that his right leg chose to go through this temporary paralysis when his foot was on the accelerator and car on reverse gear. Suay man if this is true. But still, glad no fatalities and no children/babies involved Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 Saw footage on news yesterday. Quite scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 Some people just shouldn't drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 "mistaken" brake for accelerator if the guy is leaning out too much and foot position changed without him knowing....not exactly mistaken but more like foot was previously over brake so though still over brake.....??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cllee 2nd Gear August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 In US, ppl happily shoot here and there. In Sgp, drivers unable or unfit to control car properly, bang here and bang there. Life is very stress now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picia Clutched August 7, 2012 Share August 7, 2012 (edited) this one reverse like drag racing! do u think govt should revised the limit age for license to be reduced instead of increased? I'm against this as it can be regarded as ageism. Same reason I'm against having a compulsory retirement age. Medical assessment should be increased in frequency with age given the risks but some people are perfectly capable in mind and body up to age 100 and beyond. I don't see why such able people should be prevented from having their vehicle for no good reason other than one day they are yonger than the arbitrary limit and the next they are older. Same reason why I don't agree with reducing CPF of those aged 55 and over, they don't suddenly become less capable when they hit 55. People are individuals and should be treated as such. Granted, in Singapore, unlike US, not being able to drive does not severely restrict one's mobility, but I still favour individual assessment rather than a blanket ban above a certain age. This is a fairer approach to all. Cases like the one in this thread really are "freak" accidents (you hear a lot of so called "freak" accidents that are in fact due to driver stupidity) and these real freak accidents happen only once every few years or so. Heart attack has also been known to hit younger people, although chances are less and increase with age. Edited August 7, 2012 by Picia ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...