Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 29, 2012 Share August 29, 2012 are you driving auto vios ? if you drive manual vios, the 92 and 98 definitely make big difference when you suddenly floor the accelerator. However for the best response, dont use shell fuel economy 98 or spc 98. for auto, the difference may not obvious due to the AT torque converter will spool first when you floor it. Im driving a manual vios. Clicked more than 200k km for the last 6 yrs. pumping most of the time 92 (unless I go Mal, cause they dun have 92 nowadays) Cant feel any different between 92, 95, 97, 98..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Are you sure you read correctly ? The Prius manual here say otherwise http://www.toyota.com/t3Portal/document/om...f/sec_06-01.pdf Snap shot from prius c maunal, you can download the manual below. http://priuschat.com/threads/english-prius...ailable.102440/ Check engine warning might light up when using of higher octane. So far have not heard any issues from Msian Prius/Prius C drivers but it does happen in other countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Diff cars have diff reactions, I think, due to diff compression, gearbox, engine valves, diff engine oils, etc While many drivers swear by MY petrol, my cae just cannot accept it coz it gives a very high FC everytime I pump MY petrol. No bluffing U Bluffing lah! Because MY petrol cheap so when u pump there u always zua you right! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 ever put 98 ron in my car. boh feel.. but once i mix 2T into my tank..felt smoother, with the same 95 ron. Errr, you risk your injection nozzle getting choke? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MX5NC2 1st Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Diff cars have diff reactions, I think, due to diff compression, gearbox, engine valves, diff engine oils, etc How true. The wife complained that the car felt sluggish with RON95, so we moved on to RON98. Then she had a taste of V-Power and complained normal RON98 also wasn't good enough and the car felt sluggish (again). Now it's V-Power for about 8 out of every 10 tanks. Very noticeable difference amongst all three RONs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 How true. The wife complained that the car felt sluggish with RON95, so we moved on to RON98. Then she had a taste of V-Power and complained normal RON98 also wasn't good enough and the car felt sluggish (again). Now it's V-Power for about 8 out of every 10 tanks. Very noticeable difference amongst all three RONs. I believe V power will give you good response on your car because of the additives added in. For those that want to try a slight boost when pump in Msia, try the BHP 97 2X. The additive they add in is around 0.5 more than the normal petrol(quoted from a manager from Petronas) Still I will say the FC remains the same thru out all grades of fuel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naruto13 Clutched August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 yup i agree....Shell 98 gave me ard 50km more than 95.... n i find slightly better to drive with 98.. can feel sluggish with 95 versus shell 98 on vios. but jumping to other petrol station to test further soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 ever put 98 ron in my car. boh feel.. but once i mix 2T into my tank..felt smoother, with the same 95 ron. How much does it cost to put 2T into your tank ? More than the difference paid between the 2 rons? In terms of cost you are still paying more. So it goes back to square one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 (edited) Im driving a manual vios. Clicked more than 200k km for the last 6 yrs. pumping most of the time 92 (unless I go Mal, cause they dun have 92 nowadays) Cant feel any different between 92, 95, 97, 98..... Thats because you are driving a smaller cc car , bigger CC cars which require a higher ron would probably experience a bigger difference. Let's say an accord. There is significant difference when you are pumping 95 and 98. So it really depends on what engine and what kind of car you are driving. Edited August 30, 2012 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Thats because you are driving a smaller cc car , bigger CC cars which require a higher ron would probably experience a bigger difference. Let's say an accord. There is significant difference when you are pumping 95 and 98. So it really depends on what engine and what kind of car you are driving. The difference depends on engine compression ratio and not engine capacity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Errr, you risk your injection nozzle getting choke? okay leh.. not as if i put stones inside.. but second thoughts.. yes.. once threw mothball in my nissan many years back.. also okay till i sold it off years later. don't dare to try again though for 2T, been doing that in my previous cars for years.. once stopped, the engine felt rough again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 How much does it cost to put 2T into your tank ? More than the difference paid between the 2 rons? In terms of cost you are still paying more. So it goes back to square one. about 8-10ml per 100liter petrol ratio.. dont feel that 'power' but smoothness in the engine.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 okay leh.. not as if i put stones inside.. but second thoughts.. yes.. once threw mothball in my nissan many years back.. also okay till i sold it off years later. don't dare to try again though for 2T, been doing that in my previous cars for years.. once stopped, the engine felt rough again. It's like drug, once u remove it, ur car BTH again lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Snap shot from prius c maunal, you can download the manual below. http://priuschat.com/threads/english-prius...ailable.102440/ Check engine warning might light up when using of higher octane. So far have not heard any issues from Msian Prius/Prius C drivers but it does happen in other countries. My suspicion lies with the Prius's engine, 1NZE-FXE. It is a Otto thermal engine modified to simulate the Atkinson thermal engine. This occurs by retarding the closing of the intake valves, most probably by modifying the intake lobe on the engine camshaft. The Atkinson thermal engine design has a power stroke which is longer than the compression stroke (4 stroke thermal engines consists of intake, compression, power, and exhaust) Also, because the compression stroke is reduced, the volume of air drawn into the piston cylinder is reduced. I am being speculative but the reduced volume of air means that the overall volume of fuel to be injected by the EFI has to be reduced to conserve the AFM ratio. Perhaps using a higher octane rating fuel interferes with this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 U Bluffing lah! Because MY petrol cheap so when u pump there u always zua you right! maybe maybe..... but my foot is very consistent one leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 The difference depends on engine compression ratio and not engine capacity. True . Thats probably what i meant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 My suspicion lies with the Prius's engine, 1NZE-FXE. It is a Otto thermal engine modified to simulate the Atkinson thermal engine. This occurs by retarding the closing of the intake valves, most probably by modifying the intake lobe on the engine camshaft. The Atkinson thermal engine design has a power stroke which is longer than the compression stroke (4 stroke thermal engines consists of intake, compression, power, and exhaust) Also, because the compression stroke is reduced, the volume of air drawn into the piston cylinder is reduced. I am being speculative but the reduced volume of air means that the overall volume of fuel to be injected by the EFI has to be reduced to conserve the AFM ratio. Perhaps using a higher octane rating fuel interferes with this. Other than the Prius and some other cars using Atkinson thermal engines, cars which use the more conventional Otto 4 stroke thermal engine design should still follow the same logic bah. Min RON fuel i.e. below will knock/damage engine, above damage your wallet only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 (edited) about 8-10ml per 100liter petrol ratio.. dont feel that 'power' but smoothness in the engine.. To me 98 is probably smoother in acceleration for accord and for fit , i have tried 95 and 98 not much diff only a slight improvement in FC. But for accord it is a minimum 30km difference between each pump from 95 and 98 though not much difference from vpower and 98. Never added 2T , anyway it is still a cost irregardless how u look at it and quite troublesome. Must remember to put. To me i lazy , pump and f off. i don't really care the difference in 5~8 bucks at most each pump since the increase in distance cover would have covered half the difference price. A few bucks also not enough for me to go cinema and buy popcorn. Edited August 30, 2012 by CH_CO ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...