Vinceng Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 (edited) Very interesting read. Shell claims that high octane petrol gives better mileage. So if my car's minimum RON requirement is 91, I get better mileage by pumping 95RON, instead of 92RON, and probably superb mileage when 98RON is used. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=2142 "There is also a misconception that the lowest-priced grade of unleaded petrol, that is 92-octane fuel, is the most economical. That is not necessarily the case. Shell's research and other studies have confirmed that adaptive engine management systems found in modern cars, such as knock sensors, lead to better fuel efficiency when higher-octane fuels are used." Edited September 11, 2012 by Vinceng ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Very interesting read. Shell claims that high octane petrol gives better mileage. So if my car's minimum RON requirement is 91, I get better mileage by pumping 95RON, instead of 92RON, and probably superb mileage when 98RON is used. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=2142 "There is also a misconception that the lowest-priced grade of unleaded petrol, that is 92-octane fuel, is the most economical. That is not necessarily the case. Shell's research and other studies have confirmed that adaptive engine management systems found in modern cars, such as knock sensors, lead to better fuel efficiency when higher-octane fuels are used." They don't sell 92, sure say 92 not economical lor. Unless their V power give 10 to 15% more mileage, the price already so much higher than 92, in the end still don't save as much in terms of $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Very interesting read. Shell claims that high octane petrol gives better mileage. So if my car's minimum RON requirement is 91, I get better mileage by pumping 95RON, instead of 92RON, and probably superb mileage when 98RON is used. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=2142 "There is also a misconception that the lowest-priced grade of unleaded petrol, that is 92-octane fuel, is the most economical. That is not necessarily the case. Shell's research and other studies have confirmed that adaptive engine management systems found in modern cars, such as knock sensors, lead to better fuel efficiency when higher-octane fuels are used." I think there is one thing is not mentioned, typically the lowest grade will have the bare minimum of additives and the top grade often contains friction modifier that helps with the fuel economy. RON - power relationship really depends on how the ECU is programmed and how fast your foot floor the pedal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 watch this video... posted MANY times on MANY forums Loyal V-Power customer here.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMniceguy Clutched September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Yes, higher RON fuel gives better mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 (edited) Very interesting read. Shell claims that high octane petrol gives better mileage. So if my car's minimum RON requirement is 91, I get better mileage by pumping 95RON, instead of 92RON, and probably superb mileage when 98RON is used. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=2142 "There is also a misconception that the lowest-priced grade of unleaded petrol, that is 92-octane fuel, is the most economical. That is not necessarily the case. Shell's research and other studies have confirmed that adaptive engine management systems found in modern cars, such as knock sensors, lead to better fuel efficiency when higher-octane fuels are used." Intsead of believing the one who make the car, U believe what they says??? [laugh] Which petrol company tells you that you that their premium petrol is lousier compare to their lower cost product?? I have never come across any so far. What I know is that petrol companies always try hard to upsell. Even When you go petrol kiosk, the pump attandance will always ask, VPower full tank sir?? Do you think Shell will ever tell you that their 98 is better than VPower? LOL Anyway, its individual preference and freedom to spend... Like Ive keep repeating, if you believe that pumping a higher ron petrol required by the car manufacturer will make your car performing better, or give you better millage, pls go ahead... if spending a few dollars everymonth can make you happy, I dont see why not. Afterall, its your money. For me, I believe that its nothing but just marketing gimmick to make consumer spend more unnecessarily so instead of donating these money to those petrol companies, I am happier to save the few dollars in my pocket. Edited September 12, 2012 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 Intsead of believing the one who make the car, U believe what they says??? We cannot believe the car manufacturers as they do not know our local conditions and I have never seen anyone in person. We would only believe our local petrol station guys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 We cannot believe the car manufacturers as they do not know our local conditions and I have never seen anyone in person. We would only believe our local petrol station guys [laugh] u win liao lo.... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 Yes, higher RON fuel gives better mileage. Mine was opposite.......been pumping 95 but once the attendant pump wrongly 97......that time fuel efficiency boh ho leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 My car manual states that my car needs a minimum of RON95.. Ever tried 92, and got knocking, so flushed and put 95.. Checked with mechs, my car's engine is still retarding with 95, due to high compression.. So, tried Petronas 97, check, run normally.. Now I pump 98 & Malaysian 97 only.. Loss of power might be due to engine retardation for higher compression engines when pumped with lower RON to prevent knocking.. Some cars really will loose power.. But for low compression engines, no diff one, Vios & Fit and the likes can run on 92 without retardation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GemLeo 1st Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 I actually thought if you want to switch petrol usage.. you have to use a few tanks first.. so the ecu can adapt to it? i don't think it will be fair to decide just after just 1 tank thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 I actually thought if you want to switch petrol usage.. you have to use a few tanks first.. so the ecu can adapt to it? i don't think it will be fair to decide just after just 1 tank thou. thats for stock ecu only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AbdulHudaifah Neutral Newbie September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 put some diesel mix with low ron maybe u get higher ron haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched September 18, 2012 Share September 18, 2012 Typically JDM cars have maps to utilise higher Ron to advance the ignition timing though it is not necessary unless its a high comp or turbo engine. In fact the best way is to read the timing advance from the ECU to confirm/debunk the benefits of higher ron as data don't lie. Unfortunately the quality of octane boosters varies and the better ones are expensive and can last only 1 tank. I have mentioned it many times... ron rating have nothing to do with the engine power. A higher ron rating petrol is required for higher car compression engine to prevent engine from ping. Getting petrol with higher ron rating required is nothing but contributing bonuses to those petrol companies. Do a blind test, ask your friend to pump petrol for you for a few rounds without telling u what petrol they pump.... trust me, you cant tell the diff.... btw, of pumping higher ron rating could bring more power. Then why buy car with higher capacity?? just pump Ron 98 + ron booster will do the tricks... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged October 22, 2012 Author Share October 22, 2012 Been using 95RON. Yesterday pumped full tank of V Powerat 98RON price. after driving 50km and parked car, could smell burnt smell from exhaust. what could the smell be due to? V Power clear carbon built up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 22, 2012 Share October 22, 2012 (edited) In the US, most gas stations only have RON91 to 93 leh... My friend's Corvette (C6) only requires RON91, but he always pumps RON93. So far, nothing is wrong with his car leh.. Is USA less developed than Singapore? USA uses PON. Too tired to explain the difference between PON, MON and RON (look it up - I posted on this before, I think), but their PON 93 is equal to our RON 98. Their PON 91 is around our RON 95. Edited October 22, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 22, 2012 Share October 22, 2012 (edited) BTW, in response to the question posed by the thread: there are often two octane figures quoted in your manual and/or fuel-filler cap area. One is "minimum", the other is "recommended". Don't go below "recommended" RON unless you absolutely have to (e.g. if you don't have a higher grade of petrol available). And don't ever go below "minimum" RON under *any* circumstances (other than life-and-death emergencies). Cars run best on their recommended RON rating. Anything below this recommended RON, but still equal to or greater than minimum RON, and the engine will still run, but at lower efficiency and power output. Basically, your engine is knocking initially and the knock sensor triggers the ECU to retard timing (all cars) and lower boost (turbo cars). Anything below minimum RON, the car may throw a check engine light and go into limp mode. So routine fills should be done at exactly the recommended RON, or the next grade higher if you can't get exactly that grade. There's no point in going to a higher than recommended RON. That really is wasting money because increasing RON beyond the "recommended" figure won't give you more power. But the posts that say there's no point in filling anything higher than "minimum" RON are misinforming people. If a car's manual says recommended is RON98 but minimum is RON91, you'd better be damn sure to routinely fill RON98 if you want your car to function at its stated power output and give you good efficiency. Otherwise, you're just being penny wise, pound foolish. Of course, higher grade petrols have better additives. My 911 loves V-power and balks at anything else. It especially hates SPC98 for some reason. I'm guessing this has little to do with RON, and more to do with the special additives that go into V-power. Edited October 22, 2012 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...