Higher RON = More Power?

Vinceng

I'm driving an Audi A5, I had been using 98 fuel since day one and had "enjoyed" FC of about 7 km/l. I changed to 95 the past 2 months, and my FC has "deteriorated" to slightly above 8km/l.

Then u sud try 92. Maybe yr fc deteriorate further to 10km/lit. [rolleyes]

^^ than try to add water lor. water is cheaper. cheaper than JB one

if u agree to drink petrol i gladly feed water to my engine [sunny]

Edited by Wormvirus

i think is the smoothness that some pple think is more power. my previous LGT BL9 recommend 95. i pump some 98 and notice during cold start in the morning, the noise from the inter-cooler area is so much lesser. acceleration was also much smoother. the turbo come the feel also a bit different, FC improve slightly only. after that pump spc 98 (pre levo) after 2 tank, feel it is not as smooth as the caltex. the current levo is slightly better but the caltex is still smoother and give slightly better FC than spc.

i remember reading you drive some subaru. i missed my bl9 man...

I think some cars mention MINIMUM ron eg.95.

Does that mean below 95 wil hv knocking(or less power )n above 95 wil hv more power?

Maybe engine is tuned to advance timing if u use higher ron n retard it if u use lower ron?

How much does it cost to put 2T into your tank ? More than the difference paid between the 2 rons? In terms of cost you are still paying more. So it goes back to square one.

If unburned 2T residue gets into yr cat....it wil die.

okay leh.. not as if i put stones inside.. but second thoughts.. yes.. once threw mothball in my nissan many years back.. also okay till i sold it off years later. don't dare to try again though [laugh]

for 2T, been doing that in my previous cars for years.. once stopped, the engine felt rough again.

At what ratio u add 2T to petrol?

Did all these cars hv a cat?

They don't sell 92, sure say 92 not economical lor. Unless their V power give 10 to 15% more mileage, the price already so much higher than 92, in the end still don't save as much in terms of $$$

It cud also b cos of e different % of additives of 92...95... n 98 which affect fc n power?

We cannot believe the car manufacturers as they do not know our local conditions and I have never seen anyone in person. We would only believe our local petrol station guys [:p]

Everybody lies a little to make their product look better. Be it car or petrol. :ph34r:

As long as ty can get away wh it. But lie too much n it becomes obvious n ty get whacked from every corner. :wacko:

Why add 2T to petrol in your car? 2T is for motorcycle w/o CAT (2 stroke engine).

IMO, RON 92, 95 & 98 it does make differences. The higher the RON i.e Ron98 has better control of engine combustion.

Thus, you save better FC especially in NSH. the car can hit max speed as per specification (Honda Civic max speed 210km/hr without mod)

Contrary, RON 92 has low BTU (energy) and the car feel letargy during accel. At such, driving in NSH the car can never hit max speed as per specification. Highest attained only 195km/hr

jet fuel cant use for petrol engines.

jet fuel is close to kerosene.

Jet fuel is kerosene n not suitable fr petrol engines but if u can get Avgas which is used fr petrol/piston planes....its high octane ron 105 n can b used fr petrol cars.

I'm driving an Audi A5, I had been using 98 fuel since day one and had "enjoyed" FC of about 7 km/l. I changed to 95 the past 2 months, and my FC has "deteriorated" to slightly above 8km/l.

Unless you rae driving an S or RS model, 95 is enough lah. The standard TFSI engine is design to run on 95.

Why add 2T to petrol in your car? 2T is for motorcycle w/o CAT (2 stroke engine).

IMO, RON 92, 95 & 98 it does make differences. The higher the RON i.e Ron98 has better control of engine combustion.

Thus, you save better FC especially in NSH. the car can hit max speed as per specification (Honda Civic max speed 210km/hr without mod)

Contrary, RON 92 has low BTU (energy) and the car feel letargy during accel. At such, driving in NSH the car can never hit max speed as per specification. Highest attained only 195km/hr

Never got to try 92 on nshw yet, but on both 95 & 97 I reached 250km/h (electronically limited for local market)...

Jet fuel is kerosene n not suitable fr petrol engines but if u can get Avgas which is used fr petrol/piston planes....its high octane ron 105 n can b used fr petrol cars.

Jet fuel very atas meh? Since Jet fuel is a subset of kerosene, it's actually lower grade than petrol (but higher than diesel). Gas is the purest and cleanest distillates from crude.

The reason for using kerosene as fuel for airplane I can think of is, it's much less volatile than petrol, i.e. if you throw a lighted source to a open drum of kerosene, it won't burst into flame. whereas, for petrol, an explosion will occur.

At what ratio u add 2T to petrol?

Did all these cars hv a cat?

was like 60ml to 60 liter.

yes had cat.

btw.. it's not any ah meow ah kow 2T. use those ashless type. those that don't leave lumps of goo after you burn it.

those stuff should be the ones that mess with the cat.

i've not added it to my current car though..

Edited by Solar

?? what is 2T?

2 Stroke engine oil. Mixed directly wh yr petrol or injected wh e petrol into e upper cylinders to lubricate n cool e upper cylinders...pistons...n piston rings.

2 stroke engines hv a different lubrication system from a 4 stroke engine.

Jet fuel very atas meh? Since Jet fuel is a subset of kerosene, it's actually lower grade than petrol (but higher than diesel). Gas is the purest and cleanest distillates from crude.

The reason for using kerosene as fuel for airplane I can think of is, it's much less volatile than petrol, i.e. if you throw a lighted source to a open drum of kerosene, it won't burst into flame. whereas, for petrol, an explosion will occur.

I think kerosene is lighter than petrol. Its easier to burn in a jet engine.

Our petrol has additives to prevent it from burning in liquiq form. It must b atomised to combust. This is fr safety reasons.

Even jet fuel (kerosene ) has these additives now to reduce risk of fire during crashes when e fuel spilles all over e place.

Original benzene wil easily burn cos e vapours r highly flammable.

was like 60ml to 60 liter.

yes had cat.

btw.. it's not any ah meow ah kow 2T. use those ashless type. those that don't leave lumps of goo after you burn it.

those stuff should be the ones that mess with the cat.

i've not added it to my current car though..

If any oil added to e petrol is not fully burned off during combustion...it wil b expelled wh e exhaust gasses n leave an oily residue on its way out e exhaust pipe.

Thats why u can only add a small amt of oil cos too much wil not b completely burned off...especially during cold starts.

Any oil entering e cat wil coat e insides n render it useless n can even cause more polloution out e back of e pipe.

Adding 2T sud only b very small amounts. Best when u r going on a long drive.