Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 My suspicion lies with the Prius's engine, 1NZE-FXE. It is a Otto thermal engine modified to simulate the Atkinson thermal engine. This occurs by retarding the closing of the intake valves, most probably by modifying the intake lobe on the engine camshaft. The Atkinson thermal engine design has a power stroke which is longer than the compression stroke (4 stroke thermal engines consists of intake, compression, power, and exhaust) Also, because the compression stroke is reduced, the volume of air drawn into the piston cylinder is reduced. I am being speculative but the reduced volume of air means that the overall volume of fuel to be injected by the EFI has to be reduced to conserve the AFM ratio. Perhaps using a higher octane rating fuel interferes with this. Click the link below if you are interested reading in detail for 1NZE-FXE http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/Hybrid04.pdf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Click the link below if you are interested reading in detail for 1NZE-FXE http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/Hybrid04.pdf You saw the excerpt on Overfilling? Thought you may want to take note if you haven't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 To me 98 is probably smoother in acceleration for accord and for fit , i have tried 95 and 98 not much diff only a slight improvement in FC. But for accord it is a minimum 30km difference between each pump from 95 and 98 though not much difference from vpower and 98. Never added 2T , anyway it is still a cost irregardless how u look at it and quite troublesome. Must remember to put. To me i lazy , pump and f off. i don't really care the difference in 5~8 bucks at most each pump since the increase in distance cover would have covered half the difference price. A few bucks also not enough for me to go cinema and buy popcorn. yeah.. maybe i numb.. no feel between 95 or 98..so i stick back to 95 loh.. 2T is about $14 a quart for use in a few tanks, yes, slightly troublesome. if i forget, then skip that round loh.. btw, for those adventurous.. use only ashless 2T, not just any 2T, as it burns clean. also..disclaimer.. do it at your own risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 yeah.. maybe i numb.. no feel between 95 or 98..so i stick back to 95 loh.. 2T is about $14 a quart for use in a few tanks, yes, slightly troublesome. if i forget, then skip that round loh.. btw, for those adventurous.. use only ashless 2T, not just any 2T, as it burns clean. also..disclaimer.. do it at your own risk. What's the brand of ashless 2T u are using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 You saw the excerpt on Overfilling? Thought you may want to take note if you haven't. Take note liao lor, suan me go msia always over fill right! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 yeah.. maybe i numb.. no feel between 95 or 98..so i stick back to 95 loh.. 2T is about $14 a quart for use in a few tanks, yes, slightly troublesome. if i forget, then skip that round loh.. btw, for those adventurous.. use only ashless 2T, not just any 2T, as it burns clean. also..disclaimer.. do it at your own risk. Inspection can pass bo? No sticky substance in your exhaust meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 @moredhel: was using amsoil injector. done experiment myself. burnt it with a lighter, nothing was left behind. @deckbuild: only 8ml per 100liter. not the whole darned bottle. exhaust pipe was clean. no gum no smoke. just do a search..2T/stroke/cycle..this was also discussed in mcf. but here i think we've gone off topic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Take note liao lor, suan me go msia always over fill right! why? you alway pah yew, yeo chia yeo ka song song siboh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 why? you alway pah yew, yeo chia yeo ka song song siboh? Nowadays still got this trend meh? I pah yew Gangnam style leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 What's the brand of ashless 2T u are using? RS959 not bad,i used it on my Yamaha,very little carbon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Inspection can pass bo? No sticky substance in your exhaust meh 1 ml per L no sticky stuff on the exhaust. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Thats because you are driving a smaller cc car , bigger CC cars which require a higher ron would probably experience a bigger difference. Let's say an accord. There is significant difference when you are pumping 95 and 98. So it really depends on what engine and what kind of car you are driving. I repeat, Ron rating will not bring any benefit to your car performance, and CC have nothing got to do with what petrol grade is required... only engine with higher compression ratio require higher ron rating petrol to prevent the engine from pinging (advance combustion). As for your example of Accord, Im not too sure what is the min ron rated petrol required but if it need Ron 95, then pumping Ron 98 wont bring any benefit. You could doubt what I said, but I think you should believe the car manufacurer. Afterall, they are the 1 who built, design & test the car... Anyway, its your money and if that few dollars per tank could make you happier, I dont see why not spending it. [;)] As for me, I know it bring me no benefits, and I would rather throw the money into the sea rather than donating it to those bandits that never fail to rob me all these while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 (edited) I repeat, Ron rating will not bring any benefit to your car performance, and CC have nothing got to do with what petrol grade is required... only engine with higher compression ratio require higher ron rating petrol to prevent the engine from pinging (advance combustion). As for your example of Accord, Im not too sure what is the min ron rated petrol required but if it need Ron 95, then pumping Ron 98 wont bring any benefit. You could doubt what I said, but I think you should believe the car manufacurer. Afterall, they are the 1 who built, design & test the car... Anyway, its your money and if that few dollars per tank could make you happier, I dont see why not spending it. [;)] As for me, I know it bring me no benefits, and I would rather throw the money into the sea rather than donating it to those bandits that never fail to rob me all these while. Well said , i don't really know how to read the manual as it is in japanese but my mechanic say better put 95 and above , so i just merely followed, now coming 9 years old still no engine problem and i am pretty sure my engine can tahan another 10 years if i wanted . To me , i just don't want to take unnecessary risk , i am not a car mechanic , so to me , if i spend a few bucks get a piece of mind to me i ok. I earn enough for those bandits. By the way , i don't trust whatever you say no offense , if there is no benefit then how my additional mileage come from ? Lighter footing? Seriously , dude it makes no sense if you only use 1 example of a vios while i tried it on 3 cars with similar results. By the way i think my merc got problem with 95 , abit sluggish , so i stopped pumping after one time. Anyway to me driving is an expense , some choose to spend more some choose to spend less , to me , if i wanna drive and i bother about what petrol to pump i might as well buy a house in jb and pump petrol at half the cost . Edited August 30, 2012 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 (edited) Snap shot from prius c maunal, you can download the manual below. http://priuschat.com/threads/english-prius...ailable.102440/ Check engine warning might light up when using of higher octane. So far have not heard any issues from Msian Prius/Prius C drivers but it does happen in other countries. I have downlaoded the manual, it still say Octane 87 (RON 91) or higher. I think your manual is customized due to the fact many premium fuel in the US is loaded with Ethanol (especially in Winter) and Prius can not use more than E10(10% of Ethanol). In Singapore or Malaysia, Ethanol is not used to jack up the RON, so it is OK. Edited August 30, 2012 by Kr_toy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Im driving a manual vios. Clicked more than 200k km for the last 6 yrs. pumping most of the time 92 (unless I go Mal, cause they dun have 92 nowadays) Cant feel any different between 92, 95, 97, 98..... Have you tried clean your injector ? It make a lot of difference, and not just butt dyno, but on actual dyno. Personally i find not all gas in Singapore maintains injector clean, and quite often need to put cleaner except you stick to Caltex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 @moredhel: was using amsoil injector. done experiment myself. burnt it with a lighter, nothing was left behind. @deckbuild: only 8ml per 100liter. not the whole darned bottle. exhaust pipe was clean. no gum no smoke. just do a search..2T/stroke/cycle..this was also discussed in mcf. but here i think we've gone off topic... just realised typo. should be 80ml per 100 liter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 Well said , i don't really know how to read the manual as it is in japanese but my mechanic say better put 95 and above , so i just merely followed, now coming 9 years old still no engine problem and i am pretty sure my engine can tahan another 10 years if i wanted . To me , i just don't want to take unnecessary risk , i am not a car mechanic , so to me , if i spend a few bucks get a piece of mind to me i ok. I earn enough for those bandits. By the way , i don't trust whatever you say no offense , if there is no benefit then how my additional mileage come from ? Lighter footing? Seriously , dude it makes no sense if you only use 1 example of a vios while i tried it on 3 cars with similar results. By the way i think my merc got problem with 95 , abit sluggish , so i stopped pumping after one time. Anyway to me driving is an expense , some choose to spend more some choose to spend less , to me , if i wanna drive and i bother about what petrol to pump i might as well buy a house in jb and pump petrol at half the cost . Wasn't the octane level required normally written behind the fuel cap? Much like the air pressure required for the tires on the door? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 31, 2012 Share August 31, 2012 (edited) Well said , i don't really know how to read the manual as it is in japanese but my mechanic say better put 95 and above , so i just merely followed, now coming 9 years old still no engine problem and i am pretty sure my engine can tahan another 10 years if i wanted . If you want to make sure, you should have check what is the manufacturer recomendation. Rather than the mechanics answer. Like I have been keep repeated myself, if you cant trust the manufacturer, then u better dont buy their car To me , i just don't want to take unnecessary risk , i am not a car mechanic , so to me , if i spend a few bucks get a piece of mind to me i ok. I earn enough for those bandits. Think you dont get what I meant. Its not the matter whether you earned enough or not. if a person can affort to own a car, I dont see why he cant affort to pay a few dollars more. Its the matter of why do you want to pay more. Anyway, if that is the case, then you better dont complain when they increase prices of petrol every now and then, since you are perfectly fine to get rob by them.... By the way , i don't trust whatever you say no offense , if there is no benefit then how my additional mileage come from ? Lighter footing? As for your increase in millage, there are many factors that could affect the millage. Only you knows the best what is affecting it. If you insist that its the petrol, so be it. Its none of my business anyway Seriously , dude it makes no sense if you only use 1 example of a vios while i tried it on 3 cars with similar results. I didnt know what you meant by "it makes no sense if you only use 1 example of a vios" Did I ever mentioned that Vios is the only car I owned?? this is not my 1st car and if you are talking about my family. We own 3 cars at the moment (me, my wife and my father). And by the way, If you have the problem of selective reading, there is no way we can communicate. Im not the only 1 who say this....Car manufacturers and experts says the same thing, you wont get any benefits from pumping higher than required ron rating petrol. If I were you, instead of depending on your butt feels, Google to find out more... By the way i think my merc got problem with 95 , abit sluggish , so i stopped pumping after one time. Sluggish feeling??? If you meet the requirement of the car manufacturer and you have such problem, then your car is having a problem. Better go n check it out Anyway to me driving is an expense , some choose to spend more some choose to spend less , to me , if i wanna drive and i bother about what petrol to pump i might as well buy a house in jb and pump petrol at half the cost . you are rite. Its individual preference. Thats what I alrd mentioned in my previous post..... Edited August 31, 2012 by Tigershark1976 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...