Throttle2 Supersonic January 27, 2017 Author Share January 27, 2017 Walan eh. T2 call me rich is like kettle calling the pot silver. I no dignity compared to you leh. :d Muayhahahahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 any comments on this: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=626758 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 10, 2017 Share March 10, 2017 (edited) any comments on this: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=626758 I guess it's an Import Used car? Original reg in 2007 but brought to sg in 2009. No real scrap value (body not worth that much for most Porsches) and resale will be tough. The car has already had the reflash and GT3 throttle body upgrade that are the easy ways to unlock power for this model. Soft top will give issues. Look at what was spent on the motor for it. And you can expect the cables to snap inconveniently frequently like it did in my 996 cab. All in all, save yourself the headache and go for a hardtop. Seriously consider the "Gay Man" haha. Whatever you do, get the car fully inspected by a Porsche specialist. Not sure if Andy Tatlow (Flat Six) is still in the game. He knows his stuff but I think he's just doing air cooled restorations now. Another alternative for the inspection is Weissach Motors, they're Porsche specialists. They did a thorough job on a 997 turbo I was looking at before I got the F430. And bargain hard on the price. Remember it's likely to be a money pit. Almost certainly less than an Italian exotic but more than a Japanese car of similar vintage. Edited March 10, 2017 by Turboflat4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 11, 2017 Share March 11, 2017 (edited) Works out to be $10k depreciation for a Porsche boxster S. Very worth if u drive finish till 2019 & buy fresh 10 yr coe ( till 2029 ). A honda vezel or Toyota altis also depreciate the same. the low depreciation of this 987 vs 1999-2001 non-S 986s with $11K+ depreciation is the main attraction. however must be committed to the former for the long haul (12yrs!) vs 2-3yrs for the latter... Edited March 11, 2017 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 11, 2017 Author Share March 11, 2017 "Have pity on jobless man, buy my car......" Thats what T2 will say. I bet you two condos along Nassim Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 11, 2017 Share March 11, 2017 (edited) "Have pity on jobless man, buy my car......" Thats what T2 will say. I bet you two condos along Nassim Road. Edited March 11, 2017 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 11, 2017 Share March 11, 2017 (edited) "Have pity on jobless man, buy my car......" Thats what T2 will say. I bet you two condos along Nassim Road. ð All jokes aside, this is what I was waiting to hear bro T2 say. He has a very nice car, and it's the iconic 911 (as opposed to "just" a B or C). But he's still finding it tough to sell. I found mine tough to sell as well, but I did it anyway at a big loss. I was able to come to terms with it as I just wanted to try something new, but it's not that the experience didn't irritate me. The take home message here is that it's going to be tough to sell an older Porsche. You have to have holding power *and* a hell of a lot of patience (both of which I'm sure T2 has in spades) if you want to get a reasonable offer, and even then there are no guarantees. With a COE car you're not even assured much money back on it. Anyway, just more food for thought. I'll end with my final piece of advice. If this is likely to be your only Porsche, go 911 or go bust. Don't bother with other models. And now buy T2's car. Edited March 11, 2017 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 Whatever you do, get the car fully inspected by a Porsche specialist. Not sure if Andy Tatlow (Flat Six) is still in the game. He knows his stuff but I think he's just doing air cooled restorations now. Another alternative for the inspection is Weissach Motors, they're Porsche specialists. They did a thorough job on a 997 turbo I was looking at before I got the F430. calls to the number on Flat Six site is re-routed to Jennifer of Autostrasse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 calls to the number on Flat Six site is re-routed to Jennifer of Autostrasse.I dislike autostrasse. Jennifer is ok but I don't want to deal with Greg. He's the boss so I steer clear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 17, 2017 Share March 17, 2017 Whatever you do, get the car fully inspected by a Porsche specialist. found one but the owner's agent demanding to agree on price & place deposit BEFORE can do inspection. say will refund deposit if any "major" problems... is this really the SOP? really bugs me i have to negotiate not knowing condition of car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 17, 2017 Share March 17, 2017 (edited) found one but the owner's agent demanding to agree on price & place deposit BEFORE can do inspection. say will refund deposit if any "major" problems... is this really the SOP? really bugs me i have to negotiate not knowing condition of car... For the 996 I bought and the 997 turbo I eventually rejected, I chose the specialist workshop (first was Flat Six, second was Weissach), ascertained they had no commercial relationship with the seller or agent and paid for the inspection fully. Then I had full assurance of no conflicts of interest and I owned the report arising from an objective assessment. Even if the inspection is a few hundred bucks, I suggest you do exactly this. Don't agree to any damn deposit. Walk away if they insist. I did the same thing for a Ferrari I was considering at first (but later rejected) and that cost more than 700 bucks for the inspection. For a car I didn't buy, but that's still money I consider well spent. Edited March 17, 2017 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged March 18, 2017 Share March 18, 2017 found one but the owner's agent demanding to agree on price & place deposit BEFORE can do inspection. say will refund deposit if any "major" problems... is this really the SOP? really bugs me i have to negotiate not knowing condition of car... Many other porsches available... if that guy has been trying to sell his porsche for ages he will agree to anything for a prospective buyer! For porsche buyer should have a "take it or leave it attitude"! Else later on got problem, cost you a lot more money to repair... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged March 18, 2017 Share March 18, 2017 found one but the owner's agent demanding to agree on price & place deposit BEFORE can do inspection. say will refund deposit if any "major" problems... is this really the SOP? really bugs me i have to negotiate not knowing condition of car... There are other Boxster S available or will become available on the market such that you don't need to put up with male cow excrement like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 18, 2017 Share March 18, 2017 thanks guys. maybe the agent buay song coz i say since interest so high i pay cash... i shall wait for the proper shiok buying experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic March 18, 2017 Share March 18, 2017 (edited) money in the pocket, why endure ketuk by shameless dealer with $$$ can go anywhere to buy Edited March 18, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 18, 2017 Author Share March 18, 2017 thanks guys. maybe the agent buay song coz i say since interest so high i pay cash... i shall wait for the proper shiok buying experience. Buay song pay interest buy cash, then buy direct from owner lah. Boxster for what? Sell you 911 lah.. swee swee. Wah lau cant understand you buyers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 18, 2017 Author Share March 18, 2017 (edited) Many other porsches available... if that guy has been trying to sell his porsche for ages he will agree to anything for a prospective buyer! For porsche buyer should have a "take it or leave it attitude"! Else later on got problem, cost you a lot more money to repair...My porsche for sale for 6 mths already but i still wont agree to anything for prospective buyer. Last time, i very nice guy, sent my Porsche to buyers mech for inspection. KNS mech is not even Porsche specialist. Check here and there, rev here and there. After that buyer say this say that, machiam want to play agreed price. I cancelled the deal first and walked off. KNS, my Porsche, i hv been drving for so long, solid like a rock, come and ngeow chee ngeow lan. If no deposit dont ask me to go to some stupid mech!!! Which mech will know my car better than Neem Pei. Lai, i give him one Gold Rolex. Come! Its just a freaking hundred over thousand dollar car. Think neem pei is beggar ah? Just like some Rolex buyers, f**king expect brand new watch when it is a vintage 40yr old watch. Pwui ...... Paiseh venting anger, damn tulan with these time wasters. Edited March 18, 2017 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 18, 2017 Author Share March 18, 2017 Want to buy and drive Porsche, better be knowledgeable about the car. These are thoroughbred sports, not your "every carpark also have 20" Vezel. Want to buy and wear vintage Rolex, better be knowledgeable about the brand history model etc... And dont ngeow about small thing like scratches or worn out replaceable plastics. Most important, better see who is the seller. If dealer selling, i can understand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...