Some things I noticed

Maybe they realised that it causes cancer. The more you burn the faster you go there and receive things also.

Be careful of what you say hor! [:|]

Edited by Fitvip

there's none at my side...only a few joss sticks here and there..and even hari raya...no raya mood also..makes me wonder if i am still living in sg? im really confused now...

I also noticed that there were less bling2 deco for Hari Raya!

Less burning and offering. Recession time?

Also noticed that not many getais as before? Sign of things to come?

I think downstairs also going to start QE3 soon, thus don't need more liquidity from us. Inflation downstairs very jialat already, don't want to add more zeros to their dollar notes! [laugh]

Less burning and offering. Recession time?

Also noticed that not many getais as before? Sign of things to come?

I was so blur, I actually went burning on Friday night... then notice, why so quite, just a few burning. Ummm... then the next day, my sil called and reminded us to pray at nite, then only we realized we did it one day earlier.... [laugh]

Be careful of what you say hor! [:|]

Thats what I overheard a doctor telling a patient. That patient have lung cancer but he works at those temples ma. Then the doctor ask him try not to go too often as it'll affect his condition.

I agree with you that we are losing culture.

Furthermore people nowadays also stomp and complain such burning of offering

Chinese culture? Chinese culture is a lot more than burning some paper to appease the spirits. I wouldn't call this burning of paper "Chinese culture". More like illiterate Southern Chinese peasant culture that was imported here by our superstitious coolie forefathers.

Maybe to get an insight to what Chinese culture is all about, you should read some ancient Chinese history and philosophy books, in addition to strategy and classical literature. If the Chinese words too cheem, you can buy the English translation.

Don't look down on Chinese culture, can? :D

With learned modern science in schools, with Neil Armstrong having walked on the moon, and Voyager's flight now approaching Neptune and beyond, and with Curiousity walking around Mars now ... Tell me, who would believe that burning a paper BMW effigy will land the dead a spanking new BMW in the other realm?

Just CO2, water vapor and ash only right?

Illiterate peasants didn't know what CO2 and water vapour were lah, they really thought fire can directly transport the tonnes of cash from this world to the next.

That was decades before the bloody Americans invented the Back to the Future car ok. Chinese peasants sart or not?

Chinese Singaporeans have finally entered the age of enlightenment and realized that the money ain't gonna get there by burning it.

chinese christian hv not entered the age of enlightenment & realized that the $ to kong hee fa choi, will not make their $ becoming 30 60 100 folds.

Chinese culture? Chinese culture is a lot more than burning some paper to appease the spirits. I wouldn't call this burning of paper "Chinese culture". More like illiterate Southern Chinese peasant culture that was imported here by our superstitious coolie forefathers.

Maybe to get an insight to what Chinese culture is all about, you should read some ancient Chinese history and philosophy books, in addition to strategy and classical literature. If the Chinese words too cheem, you can buy the English translation.

Maybe you would like share your insight and knowledge of Chinese history with us. So we could leverage on your profound knowledge.

some are using the apple hell note app to burn.

I know because my friends are using it.

I certainly do not blame Caucasian expats for thinking that Singaporeans (especially Chinese) are farking stupid retards.

Maybe you would like share your insight and knowledge of Chinese history with us. So we could leverage on your profound knowledge.

I am not qualified. You should ask my Professor of Asian civilization back in university. He is a German guy and very well-versed in East Asian history and civilization. I only took one elective course on it :(

But it was enough to know that Chinese culture does not consist of burning paper and knocking on bride's door at 5am. These are just retarded peasants culture.

I certainly do not blame Caucasian expats for thinking that Singaporeans (especially Chinese) are farking stupid retards.

Ok mah...at least they don't contribute to the ashes and smoke.

Times have changed, we should also use more innovative method to this tradition

I took my son to go help pack 7th month goodies to let him understand being a member of the Singapore community is not just posting on forum and complaining in kopitiam. It's more to do with helping each other out, especially the more affluent help the less privileged. We're free thinkers, and the activity is not even entirely religious. I think there is a lost generation in our country.

As a person with appreciation for sociology, I am heartened to find that there are still enlightened people like you who can distinguish between cultural practices and religious ceremonial rituals.

Are you an anthropologist? Do you have credence to backup your unsubstantiated claims/allegations?

please lah, if you are not an academic, don't just shoot your mouth off.

*facepalm

There are quite a few Western anthropologists and sociologists studying about cultural elements and social constructs derived from Southern China and ironically in Singapore as well as other parts in SEA where significant members of the 19th century Chinese Disapora have settled; SEA is a fascinating confluence of different cultures and represents a polyglot heterogeneous ethnic mix, something unprecedented in the 19th century.

So pray tell Dr Viceroymenthol, care to share some papers which you gave published? Some fruitful insights in your intriguing discourse which I would so love to indulge myself in.

Illiterate peasants didn't know what CO2 and water vapour were lah, they really thought fire can directly transport the tonnes of cash from this world to the next.

That was decades before the bloody Americans invented the Back to the Future car ok. Chinese peasants sart or not?

No, you would need to go further back ... to the Sumerians - the cradle of human civilization.

- Planets and stars are spheres

- Astronomic 3,600-year recession due to earth's tilt - relative shift of galaxies

- Predicting solstices and equinoxes

- Creation, non-biblical context

- Genetic manipulation (man's original sin), cloning, surrogate (virgin) birth

- Nephilims (Genesis 6:1-4)