Subutai 3rd Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 depends on individual like some bros mention its your presence my own wedding i lost abt 70% overall buts its ok as long my relatives and friends attend to make it merry why not originally it use to be just bring something like fruits, cooking appliance etc etc for the newly wed but that was hundreds years ago My MIL took her side's (8 tables) ang bao into her pocket after the our customary wedding dinner but its okay for us. We still manage to cover costs by ang baos and with a few hundreds extra surplus back. We had it at Tung Lok Paramount and the food was superb. A lot of relatives till date are still remembering our wedding dinner food as one of the best. All my cousins tried to best us but i think only 1 succeed. After our dinner then I told my parents the actual cost per table.... their reaction was priceless.... hahaha Cost per table : SGD499 in 2007. Bought our own wines to serve though. Father topped up hard liquors ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 its not common to attend other race wedding, speaking of which, anyone attend indian wedding before? similar to malay? i've been to a Hindu wedding before. The priest was reciting chants with the bride groom nearby on the stage. All were seated like watching movie and when the rites were finished suddenly all guest made their way to the tables for the makan. Since it was our first time attending a hindu wedding me and my wify were lost to what was happening but luckily there were other indian colleagues who saw us and chope a sit for us. If not have to wait! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 I usually give 30 to 50 for 1A, depending on how friend we are. I usually enjoy attending Malay wedding more than Chinese wedding as the setting is less formal and it allows you to interact more freely with the host and other guests, it is free seating and buffet style, so I can move around, eat only what I need and how long I hang around at the wedding is entirely at my option (if got kaki, can talk for hours, if not, an hour there should wrap things up nicely. It is less about face and more about sharing and celebrating a joyous occasion. I hate having to spend 3 hours at a Chinese wedding, seated at the same table, often with people I barely know and eating mass produced banquet food that is usually crappy for the "price" I am paying (usually I end up over eating). But Chinese wedding can drink with kaki. Hahaha...this is what I like also...have been to quite a few...enjoy more than chinese w dinner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 I have seen a chinese wedding held at the void deck at AMK ave 10 block 500+...not lavish but can tell u it was sumptous as all the guests were enjoying the food and all. They were my neighbours and childhood friends and can see the whole gang was there. The tables were laid from one end of the block to the other end and all the tables were full. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 It is quite suprising to see that many did not attend other races's weddings. I am fortunate to attend all other races including Ang mohs. How come you guys don't have close friends from other races in office? Most of the marriages I attended were colleagues and neibhours. Indian weddings are interesting too. Lot of food and cultural programmes, generally Indian or Malay weddings are lively, you feel very much part of it! On the rare note, I'd been to vegetarian wedding in Buddhist temple, have to see thru monks chanting before the food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nojoke123 1st Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 i heard $5/head ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMfendi Neutral Newbie November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 in malay wedding sharing the joyous moment with friends and relatives is the most important, money talk later. if you want to bao $5/head. . you think ok?(touch your heart). . what can you get for $5 in hawker center? . . this is people's special occasion, everything you see is free flowing. . . i bao $50. . . no prob. . my uncle and aunty is a chinese(with new chinese outfit) they feel happy and respected together with my mom and dad to be the one that welcoming the guest(close to 2000) during my wedding. Joy and laughter all day, noise and music and at the end of the day shack like hell but still can laugh.. those sweet memories. . but who gave how much ??? but i know all my friends were there with me. . Those were the days . . .the late 90's Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 last time i gave $20 nia [sweatdrop] aiyo......if did not attn give $20 ok.....attn cannot lah......at least $100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 (edited) Rem they used to play Isabella during the 90s'.. still playing that? Edited November 9, 2012 by Puteh83 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Still rem they used to play Isabella during the 90s'.. still playing that? they always play this one they always play some nice rock ballets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 my best friend invite my parents n me, i give $70... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanahseng Clutched November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 $18 can already. Lucky number, bring some plastic bag to Dapau for supper too!! LOL Anyway, most of the Malays wedding attended below the flat, is this traditional or? Why not do it in Hotel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 for the red packet, can we use the chinese "red" packet or do we have to use "green" coloured one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akuma9168 Neutral Newbie November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Up to you bro. Just follow your heart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 for the red packet, can we use the chinese "red" packet or do we have to use "green" coloured one? Green, if not available, use an envelope. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 (edited) duplicate post. Edited November 9, 2012 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear November 9, 2012 Author Share November 9, 2012 for the red packet, can we use the chinese "red" packet or do we have to use "green" coloured one? My frens were saying they juz use CNY red packet... Tats wat I intend to do as well on Sunday. Alright to do so? Or deem offensive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic November 9, 2012 Share November 9, 2012 Think its more of being thoughtful to use a green instead of red packet....a gesture that you are aware they use green packets amongst themselves. But its not offensive to use red coloured ones. Whilst your presence is more important to them than e gift, it is a pleasant thing to still give according to your desire. Have attended numerous Malay weddings of colleagues and or that of their children, it is always very warm and friendly atmosphere where everyone is genuinely happy to be invited. I always have a weakness for their mutton rendangs....yummy yum yum. Just to share....enjoy your invitation! Safe ride Cheers ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...