Lala81 Hypersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 Ya, Malay weddings are simple and yet generous. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 lol the problem is that when the guests equate the simple with cheap. I don't think the void deck simple wedding is really that cheap. The costs can add up to quite a bit. My wife just attended a colleague's one in Aug. She said checked with her other Malay colleagues, and they told her market rate is $20 for void deck... Years ago, my (Chinese) army buddy said his Malay colleague invited him to his void deck wedding. My friend blur blur, gave hotel rate ang pow... He said after that, the colleague treated him super well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 My wife just attended a colleague's one in Aug. She said checked with her other Malay colleagues, and they told her market rate is $20 for void deck... Years ago, my (Chinese) army buddy said his Malay colleague invited him to his void deck wedding. My friend blur blur, gave hotel rate ang pow... He said after that, the colleague treated him super well u see ar. $20 for 400 pax attendance is only 8k. I'm pretty sure that each of these void deck weddings come out to easily 15-20k. Come on, even your cheapest mass buffet is $12 dollars/head. And the food they serve at these weddings aint cheap right. rendang etc, briyani rice etc. not like u going there to eat nasi lemak with one telur and one selar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 u see ar. $20 for 400 pax attendance is only 8k. I'm pretty sure that each of these void deck weddings come out to easily 15-20k. Come on, even your cheapest mass buffet is $12 dollars/head. And the food they serve at these weddings aint cheap right. rendang etc, briyani rice etc. not like u going there to eat nasi lemak with one telur and one selar I told her $20 was what I heard 20 yr ago too, but she said she just checked with her Malay colleagues, so better dun spoil market later end up sabo others... But one thing, the invite list i heard is quite long one. Batch by batch come and go. I won't be surprised if it's (significantly) more than 400 pax. Same principle as 薄利多销? Plus economy of scale, maybe ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 (edited) I told her $20 was what I heard 20 yr ago too, but she said she just checked with her Malay colleagues, so better dun spoil market later end up sabo others... But one thing, the invite list i heard is quite long one. Batch by batch come and go. I won't be surprised if it's (significantly) more than 400 pax. Same principle as 薄利多销? Plus economy of scale, maybe ... 400 pax leh. even if each family has 5 members, that's 80 families!!! Edited October 25, 2017 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 400 pax leh. even if each family has 5 members, that's 80 families!!! I think many might have bigger families. And then got friends, colleagues, etc. Maybe see if any bros here can shed light based on experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 I got many malay kakis. Most of them wed of their sons/daughters and usually will sent out a minimum of 500 invitations. But most of them 1000 invites they sent. And each card is for each own family. So if 1 family has Father/Mother/Son/Daughter, that is 4 liao. That is why malay wedding every time very crowded. Plus what my buddies said is that, they won't be hopeful to break even by all the angpows given. Can cover less then half of the total cost they very happy liao. Coz they say celebrating a joyous occasion why want to be kira² with what they get. Give people makan and enjoy themselves is best liao.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 lol the problem is that when the guests equate the simple with cheap. I don't think the void deck simple wedding is really that cheap. The costs can add up to quite a bit. Still better than hotel wedding banquet la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 I got many malay kakis. Most of them wed of their sons/daughters and usually will sent out a minimum of 500 invitations. But most of them 1000 invites they sent. And each card is for each own family. So if 1 family has Father/Mother/Son/Daughter, that is 4 liao. That is why malay wedding every time very crowded. Plus what my buddies said is that, they won't be hopeful to break even by all the angpows given. Can cover less then half of the total cost they very happy liao. Coz they say celebrating a joyous occasion why want to be kira² with what they get. Give people makan and enjoy themselves is best liao.. Of course if it's their community practice, then sure. But tough for young couples starting out to be in the red for like say 10k for a 20k wedding. I guess most parents help out if they can or what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 where they get this type of firework from? bro.....this wan not Malay wedding....... lol the problem is that when the guests equate the simple with cheap. I don't think the void deck simple wedding is really that cheap. The costs can add up to quite a bit. 15-20k for makan! The decor up to individual.....if plus dowry.....easy-peasy 30k liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 400 pax leh. even if each family has 5 members, that's 80 families!!! usually we will double the headcount per invitation card....if invitation card is 500 we will cater for 1000 head or slightly more (dont forget the children). Per head is about $10-$15 for food only.....but now many offers high-tea and other food like rojak and mee-rebus! Hand-gift, decor and others also need to be included in the budget. Usually we will see it as a treat to friends and relatives......its a shared joyous occasion. But of course the ang pao will be appreciated. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 Of course if it's their community practice, then sure. But tough for young couples starting out to be in the red for like say 10k for a 20k wedding. I guess most parents help out if they can or what. Frankly, it is easy to blame community practice or parents for this but the couple is really the one at fault. They can easily choose not to overspend. If a couple has no money, spending 20-30k on their wedding is no different from an average income earner choosing to spend 200k. Both are equally foolish. The minimum cost required to get married is the cost of the certificate that you pay to ROM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 Frankly, it is easy to blame community practice or parents for this but the couple is really the one at fault. They can easily choose not to overspend. If a couple has no money, spending 20-30k on their wedding is no different from an average income earner choosing to spend 200k. Both are equally foolish. The minimum cost required to get married is the cost of the certificate that you pay to ROM. Of course financial prudence is still upmost. But the "normal" practice is well what most normal people will do. Compared to the standard local Chinese wedding, the numbers that they invite are much higher. Indian weddings can be very big as well, but i think locally doesn't seem so big affair. There is a social cost to the family in a community if u don't follow the mainstream behavior (whether u value it or not is up to you of course). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 (edited) Frankly, it is easy to blame community practice or parents for this but the couple is really the one at fault. They can easily choose not to overspend. If a couple has no money, spending 20-30k on their wedding is no different from an average income earner choosing to spend 200k. Both are equally foolish. The minimum cost required to get married is the cost of the certificate that you pay to ROM. i put my twin wedding a couple of yrs ago as an example.Food and beverage-$12/head (500 cards so must time 2 and got relative discount)) mine was 1000 cards...hehehe No karaoke as requested by the groom. Wedding dhia and décor -$1000 Hand gift-$2000 Wedding Dowry-$10000 This was a simple affair. Edited October 25, 2017 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 i put my twin wedding a couple of yrs ago as an example. Food and beverage-$12/head (500 cards so must time 2 and got relative discount)) mine was 1000 cards...hehehe No karaoke as requested by the groom. Wedding dhia and décor -$1000 Hand gift-$2000 Wedding Dowry-$10000 This was a simple affair. Very insightful. If i saw this 2 mth ago, i would have told my wife to give more than the $20 her colleagues advised them to... Then that actually raises another question, how come her colleagues, who were also Malay, had said $20 was the market rate leh? Looking at this, it's obviously below. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 lol the problem is that when the guests equate the simple with cheap. I don't think the void deck simple wedding is really that cheap. The costs can add up to quite a bit. dun play play, saw one at Yishun last month. Held at the basketball court. Full COVERED tentage with Aircon. Very nice table/chair setting as well I think $20 cannot cover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 u see ar. $20 for 400 pax attendance is only 8k. I'm pretty sure that each of these void deck weddings come out to easily 15-20k. Come on, even your cheapest mass buffet is $12 dollars/head. And the food they serve at these weddings aint cheap right. rendang etc, briyani rice etc. not like u going there to eat nasi lemak with one telur and one selar Some of the food, maybe they cooked themselves rather than catering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 25, 2017 Share October 25, 2017 Very insightful. If i saw this 2 mth ago, i would have told my wife to give more than the $20 her colleagues advised them to... Then that actually raises another question, how come her colleagues, who were also Malay, had said $20 was the market rate leh? Looking at this, it's obviously below. market rate mar....minimum! Aiyah give what you are comfortable with. Your presence is more important! I myself didnt breakeven for my wedding.......but to see my friends enjoy themselves with satay and the other dishes...laughing, merrymaking (minus the alcohol) and gracing the occasion makes me happy! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...