Malay wedding

Ronleo

dun play play, saw one at Yishun last month. Held at the basketball court. Full COVERED tentage with Aircon. Very nice table/chair setting as well

I think $20 cannot cover  [sweatdrop]

That one is big scale.

Think at least $50 will be reasonable. 

Yishun. Did Mustank went there?  [laugh]

Some of the food, maybe they cooked themselves rather than catering.

i think u underestimate how difficult it is to cook something for few hundred people. It's on an industrial scale.

Can u cook 25kg of rice at one go?

Say just a simple thing to give the chinese traditional red egg one for every 400 pax person,  that's 14 trays of eggs.

These people cook food using paddles that are the size of your canoe oars. U think one kitchen spatula can cook ar?

your normal home cooking, that's few hundred times your cooking capacity with not much increase in cooking time.

But honestly... been to a few mly weddings recently.. food not best n shiok like b4. Decorations very posh n nice but food cannot make it.

its the preparation that is very hard work...otherwise cooking is normal..400 or 1000 paxs same same..amount bigger only

I got many malay kakis. Most of them wed of their sons/daughters and usually will sent out a minimum of 500 invitations. But most of them 1000 invites they sent. And each card is for each own family. So if 1 family has Father/Mother/Son/Daughter, that is 4 liao. That is why malay wedding every time very crowded.

Plus what my buddies said is that, they won't be hopeful to break even by all the angpows given. Can cover less then half of the total cost they very happy liao. Coz they say celebrating a joyous occasion why want to be kira² with what they get. Give people makan and enjoy themselves is best liao..

True, ur wedding then u shudnt expect ur guests to pay for it. nowadays the package comes in 1000pax by default, tink its like 20k and above now. ang pows probably be like 8k if ur lucky  [laugh]

Very insightful. If i saw this 2 mth ago, i would have told my wife to give more than the $20 her colleagues advised them to...

Then that actually raises another question, how come her colleagues, who were also Malay, had said $20 was the market rate leh? Looking at this, it's obviously below.

Other than the 10k dowry, your 20 dollars covers his expense already.

True, ur wedding then u shudnt expect ur guests to pay for it. nowadays the package comes in 1000pax by default, tink its like 20k and above now. ang pows probably be like 8k if ur lucky [laugh]

That makes a wedding banquet less stressful, don't expect the guests to pay for it.

yeah, malay weddings we don't have the thoughts of recovering back at all. Its about sharing ur joy and give makan to people.

In many cases (not most), the parents will foot the wedding reception bill then will give the ang bow collected to the newly wed for new house expense.

reviving this thread in 2025

my Malay neighbour invited my family to their son's wedding

I am quite friend friend with them, including the son (bridegroom)

haven't got the invitation card yet

but I believe the venue is Tiara Waterfront, behind Singapore Indoor Stadium

what is the market rate now? 😅

On 11/8/2025 at 2:57 AM, Gnahp said:

For me, If I'm invited and I can be bothered to go, then i guess minimum is $80-100/pax? 
After all it's a blessing. Chinese also naturally feel obliged to at least cover cost haha. 

After all minimum cost is like the thread above said, what's a buffet catering meal cost nowadays plus cover location rental.

How many going.?If just You & your Wife,at least $200.00,don't be Stingy,since you drove a Mercedes Benz.

Give $100 more its a once in a lifetime opportunity. 

They have to buy flat and not cheap these days.

And not everyone like me but maybe baby coming and hospital fees not cheap.

And most important they suddenly will be like see you so happy. 

People don't forget the guy that gave the big ang pow.

If you give below market rate they will also never forget you.

Edited by Jamesc

On 11/8/2025 at 8:48 AM, Lala81 said:

For me, If I'm invited and I can be bothered to go, then i guess minimum is $80-100/pax? 
After all it's a blessing. Chinese also naturally feel obliged to at least cover cost haha. 

After all minimum cost is like the thread above said, what's a buffet catering meal cost nowadays plus cover location rental.

thanks

at least now I have a ballpark figure

don't want to tikam too far away from the norms

tikam too low I paiseh

tikam too high they paiseh 😅

On 11/8/2025 at 10:11 AM, ER-3682 said:

How many going.?If just You & your Wife,at least $200.00,don't be Stingy,since you drove a Mercedes Benz.

I told my neighbour the car is a company car leh 😅

On 11/8/2025 at 11:29 AM, ER-3682 said:

@Gnahpif you put little Money in the Red Packet(Or Green Packet),please don't write your Name on it.

yeah, you just reminded me

got to go shopee to buy some green packets 😁

On 11/8/2025 at 11:20 AM, Jamesc said:

Give $100 more its a once in a lifetime opportunity. 

They have to buy flat and not cheap these days.

And not everyone like me but maybe baby coming and hospital fees not cheap.

And most important they suddenly will be like see you so happy. 

People don't forget the guy that gave the big ang pow.

If you give below market rate they will also never forget you.

yes i still remember the 1-2 who gave way below market rate for my wedding.

Etched in memory.

On 11/8/2025 at 1:23 PM, Gnahp said:

yeah, you just reminded me

got to go shopee to buy some green packets 😁

they accept red also lah. haha