Jamesc Hypersonic November 8, 2025 Share November 8, 2025 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic November 8, 2025 Share November 8, 2025 On 11/8/2025 at 10:41 PM, Jamesc said: I really cannot stand people that never see people for a long time and only invite them for wedding. Its like their ang pow they happy to see. Not the person. Like that still alright,some very old Friend never call & meet for long time,just call[real Friend,not Scam] & borrow Money,this one worse.! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 (edited) On 11/8/2025 at 6:08 PM, Voodooman said: Don't think anyone is expecting old auntie or uncle to give a big angbao. A token amount is a blessing. Anyway, wedding celebration has become such a money churner for hotels and high end restaurants, everyone is paying for it, the couple, their family and invited guests. At good hotels, a table cost $3-4k, likely to lose money for host. Goodness…. I have lost touch. $3k is nuts! that’s it…. Not attending….. 🤣 Edited November 9, 2025 by Mkl22 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said: Goodness…. I have lost touch. $3k is nuts! that’s it…. Not attending….. 🤣 I onced sponsored 2/3 of a table...let the other 8 pax to help the wed couple to breakeven...worse still...boh hojiak some more 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 (edited) On 11/9/2025 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said: Goodness…. I have lost touch. $3k is nuts! that’s it…. Not attending….. 🤣 I got married in 2011. Back then was 1488/table at Goodwood Park. No regrets. Really like the hotel/venue. Edited November 9, 2025 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scorpiong 3rd Gear November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 (edited) May I know what is the market rate ang pow to attend wedding banquet dinner at Yishun Orchid Country Club for couple? Edited November 9, 2025 by Scorpiong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said: Goodness…. I have lost touch. $3k is nuts! that’s it…. Not attending….. 🤣 This is why now i default don’t attend any wedding esp i am not close to that person, even relatives/cousins. For colleagues, all not attending. 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said: Goodness…. I have lost touch. $3k is nuts! that’s it…. Not attending….. 🤣 Yup, recently attended one at Raffles Hotel on a weekend. I think each table was circa $3500. The food and vibe were good but not worth anywhere close to what was in the red packet. Happy to be there to celebrate the milestone but still a bit heartache. I have said no to more and more of these invites from long lost and found (they find me suddenly) friends and relatives as prices skyrocketed to stratospheric level. Used to attend every one of them, people invite, must give face but not anymore, it is not my job to pay for these lavish weddings with such insane $3k package. Many here are more generous than me obviously. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/8/2025 at 6:08 PM, Voodooman said: Don't think anyone is expecting old auntie or uncle to give a big angbao. A token amount is a blessing. Anyway, wedding celebration has become such a money churner for hotels and high end restaurants, everyone is paying for it, the couple, their family and invited guests. At good hotels, a table cost $3-4k, likely to lose money for host. If the host not prepare to lose money , then they should not hold a wedding dinner or hold it at an expensive venue. If they expect guest to come and pay what they have paid for the dinner or even more, then i would not want to attend at all. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 9:49 AM, Voodooman said: Yup, recently attended one at Raffles Hotel on a weekend. I think each table was circa $3500. The food and vibe were good but not worth anywhere close to what was in the red packet. Happy to be there to celebrate the milestone but still a bit heartache. I have said no to more and more of these invites from long lost and found (they find me suddenly) friends and relatives as prices skyrocketed to stratospheric level. Used to attend every one of them, people invite, must give face but not anymore, it is not my job to pay for these lavish weddings with such insane $3k package. Many here are more generous than me obviously. Ya, other than wedding dinner, i also won’t attend those house warming, birthday party and baby shower. I am paying to go attend. Example i bao $50 for a house warming, obviously it is more than per pax cost that the host has ordered for the buffet. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/8/2025 at 2:20 PM, Voodooman said: How much? A friend (couple) gave me a decorative piece that probably cost $30-40 and I still remember to this day too. 😂 I would have gladly taken any loss for anyone who took the time/effort to attend. Even token amount I'm happy to take cos yeah I didn't like the traditional banquet concept of covering cost. So But that person was my boss cum business partner since i was a minority shareholder. $200 for him and his wife. I mean it's not super lowball, but it's bit weird right. My mother was appalled. Even my clinic assistant colleagues also gave more per pax or at least matched it. And they earn like a small fraction of what he earns. It's not like this is inviting your immediate superior in Haha that time still youngish and naive, still treat him like mentor. Although I know that business relationships have to be careful but I'm fundamentally quite a simple straightforward person. And I thought that at least he seems honest and that it's a win-win relationship. That was the 1st time I realised that there's something not quite right with him. Haha still took me until this year to break away from this business relationship. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/8/2025 at 2:28 PM, Mkl22 said: My take has always been, if you want a dinner then be prepared to “lose money” but I agree with the Malay community in that the one invites so that others can share in your joy. Otherwise restrict the number to very close. heck, when my kids get married. For me, just sign can liao. Everything else is optional. It’s their life, decision and debts. I don’t need to please relatives and give or save face. 🤣 What if your son falls in love with a prc girl, and they expect prc customs, mega 彩礼 , car , condo. Etc 😅.. you need to sponsor lor.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 (edited) On 11/9/2025 at 10:35 AM, Playtime said: What if your son falls in love with a prc girl, and they expect prc customs, mega 彩礼 , car , condo. Etc 😅.. you need to sponsor lor.. Can always say no. I’m totally against it. Their marriage they plan according to what they can afford. Kids need to learn to stand on their own 2 feet. I will help with the basics, but such frills for me is not needed. They want they pay. Not enough money, then wait till I die to collect inheritance! anyway no son! 🤣 Edited November 9, 2025 by Mkl22 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 10:35 AM, Playtime said: What if your son falls in love with a prc girl, and they expect prc customs, mega 彩礼 , car , condo. Etc 😅.. you need to sponsor lor.. He will say cannot afford, don’t marry🤭 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 You got lend or not? My fren asking? On 11/9/2025 at 5:59 AM, ER-3682 said: Like that still alright,some very old Friend never call & meet for long time,just call[real Friend,not Scam] & borrow Money,this one worse.! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 9:49 AM, Voodooman said: Yup, recently attended one at Raffles Hotel on a weekend. I think each table was circa $3500. The food and vibe were good but not worth anywhere close to what was in the red packet. Happy to be there to celebrate the milestone but still a bit heartache. I have said no to more and more of these invites from long lost and found (they find me suddenly) friends and relatives as prices skyrocketed to stratospheric level. Used to attend every one of them, people invite, must give face but not anymore, it is not my job to pay for these lavish weddings with such insane $3k package. Many here are more generous than me obviously. Raffles hotel was around $1800-$1900 14-15 years ago. Like max tier in my time. Capella was around $2k then. My good friend was at Capella. Anyway I would have thought the trend is towards smaller and more intimate weddings. Our generation less concerned about all these customs/face. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 (edited) Void deck lah and make it Halal and Kosher and vegan option so everyone can attend and no need to give big ang pow. Maybe can have Satey and Brani as well. Its always a favorite. Edited November 9, 2025 by Jamesc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic November 9, 2025 Share November 9, 2025 On 11/9/2025 at 9:37 AM, Scorpiong said: May I know what is the market rate ang pow to attend wedding banquet dinner at Yishun Orchid Country Club for couple? At least $300.00. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...