3G has be squeezed by population

Jtb

The point i am making is not to compare the bandwidth offered by 3G with that of LTE. That is totally unnecessary because paper specs would already tell you half the story.

The point i am putting across is to compare how close the two data modulation standards come to achieving their promised throughputs

E.g. for a promised bandwidth of 6Mbps, how much is 3G able to deliver now?

I define therefore a performance index = real world bandwidth/promised bandwidth. this index value can then be used to compare various data modulation standards without bias.

Obviously, vast differences in the 3G vs 4G subscriber base will skew the results unfairly.

And btw, research efforts ongoing are focused in improving the pre-existing data modulating algorithms rather than coming up with new ones. you think telcos worldwide will be happy to keep installing new base stations with new networking equipment in the backend just so to support a new data modulation standard? All these no need money ah?

The main reason that a user incur bad bandwidth is because much of the "bandwidth" is taken up by the transmission of dropped packets. Between the base station and the cellphone, dropped packets means that checksums for data integrity cannot be fulfilled and you have to keep blasting the dropped packets which the other party did not receive.

So now, if you can come up with a new algorithm that can allow the receiving party to work out the missing/dropped data packet without having to wait for the sending party, your usable bandwidth will be freed up.

The point I am trying to stress is when one band is max out, provider will move to the next band. They will not be bother to expand current band.

ie:

3G WCDMA - 2100 MHz max out, move to

LTE band 3 - 1800 MHz (used to be GSM 1800), band 7 - 2600 MHz

Next generation LTE - some other band

i thought the issue of slow performance is more on capacity planning of current base station backend infra.

Not sure whether in the upgrade to LTE in some locations, the 3G service is compromised.

3G devices will still be the mass now, maybe until june or sept 2013, with more LTE smartphones offerings.

It is like demographics, baby boomers currently is still 3G.

Dependency ratio, bring it on..... :)

The point I am trying to stress is when one band is max out, provider will move to the next band. They will not be bother to expand current band.

ie:

3G WCDMA - 2100 MHz max out, move to

LTE band 3 - 1800 MHz (used to be GSM 1800), band 7 - 2600 MHz

Next generation LTE - some other band

1. the fact that they had to cannibalize a frequency band which was previously earmarked is evident that we are running out of frequency bands for civilian use.

2. like another forummer pointed out, network congestion is more to do with insufficient back end capacity (in our case) rather than the fact that the frequency band's transmission bandwidth has been maxed out.

Edited by Happily1986

just now was at changi terminal 3 for dinner.. download speed was a mere 300kbps. on M1.

was in Bangkok airport last month..also around dinner time. download speed was around 5mbps. on aes.

SG first impression already jialat leow.

just now was at changi terminal 3 for dinner.. download speed was a mere 300kbps. on M1.

was in Bangkok airport last month..also around dinner time. download speed was around 5mbps. on aes.

Go Hk better. Don't even need data plan. Wanted to get a prepaid card at first. But when I reached their airport realized got free wifi. Then after that on the way to hotel stopped at one of those markets to eat also got free wifi. End up never get the prepaid card. Almost everywhere can get free wifi. Speed also faster than Sg's 3G.

Edited by Nzy

wait you try taiwan telco

on bullet train 300kmph from taipei to taichung, 3G signal is uninterrupted and fast with zero lag

1. the fact that they had to cannibalize a frequency band which was previously earmarked is evident that we are running out of frequency bands for civilian use.

2. like another forummer pointed out, network congestion is more to do with insufficient back end capacity (in our case) rather than the fact that the frequency band's transmission bandwidth has been maxed out.

Back end has no problem otherwise Fiber Optic users will complain already. Eventually, the collection of all gateway to the outside world are the same regardless of you are 3G, LTE, ADSL, Fiber optic.

what does IDA do with 241 complaints (increased 4x)?

btw, it says here ... NO SECRET

all business. they will start segregating plans and bandwidth maybe? pay more for uncongested band!

wah ... fined $10,000 ... SIBEI JIALAT leh ... [laugh]

Improve QoS cost $1million.

Bo chap only cost $10k.....

Govt should fine the Telco... to Rebate 50% to all subscribers for the month of not meeting QoS.

at this rate, can bo chap for the next 100 years? lolz

Improve QoS cost $1million.

Bo chap only cost $10k.....

Govt should fine the Telco... to Rebate 50% to all subscribers for the month of not meeting QoS.

Up this thread with today's news (23th Apr 2013)

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singt...oved-4g-network

SingTel 4G mobile customers to benefit from increased speeds of up to 150mbps from today

By Peter Yeo -

SINGAPORE - SingTel today announced it has expanded its high speed 4G mobile network to offer nationwide coverage with speeds up to 150mbps.

The improved SingTel 4G network will offer street level coverage for 95 per cent of the island and will be extended to mrt tunnels, reservoirs and national parks soon.

More than 550 buildings, including malls and hotels stand to benefit from the new 4G network as well, said SingTel.

As part of an accelerated network upgrade programme, SingTel has also enhanced its 3G network to offer customers with compatible devices download speeds of up to 42mbps, double the previous speeds of 21mbps.

don't talk about 4G or even 3G...

Singtel can't even get it's voice call right.. On average, i kept having 50% of my calls dropped every single day... :angry: :angry: