Dechachng Neutral Newbie January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 So what if there will be a bigger supply of COEs? COE prices are also decided by demand. It is Economics 101. If there are more people in 2015 willing to pay big money for the COE, you will still be too poor to afford a new car. Sorry. The government may set the annual vehicle grow rate as negative in 2015 (From Feb 13 is 0.5%). If that happens, you will not have exactly 100 new COEs for every 100 expired COEs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 (edited) 3.0 liter COE but pay 2 liter roadtax. All same except Coe. Then again, 2 liter and 3 liter pay same coe Well, you can fantasise as much as you want, but this gahmen likes to get paid. Fat hope thinking they won't levy a higher road tax on FI cars if they start treating them as effective "higher capacity cars". Just curious: what about rotary engines like the RX8? Edited January 1, 2013 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 Well, you can fantasise as much as you want, but this gahmen likes to get paid. Fat hope thinking they won't levy a higher road tax on FI cars if they start treating them as effective "higher capacity cars". Just curious: what about rotary engines like the RX8? That I forgot. But it's not counted as 1.3 also. Lol Check te SMSA website Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 That I forgot. But it's not counted as 1.3 also. Lol Check te SMSA website In Singapore RX8 is classified as 1.3, Cat A COE and road tax $572/yr from what I've seen on SGCarMart. In HK the government multiplies the figure for rotary engines by 2, so RX7 and RX8 are classified as 2.6l and the road tax is very high. That's probably why RX8 seems relatively unpopular in HK. Not sure what other places consider rotaries to be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 New measures "...those eyeing a new car can stand to benefit from the new Carbon Emissions-Based Vehicle Scheme. Owners of cars which are more fuel-efficient and emit less carbon will enjoy rebates of up to S$20,000. This will be given as an offset against the vehicle's Additional Registration Fee..." I thought higher & higher COE is to discourage car purchase. How cum this news macam want to make it easier to buy? tok kok again? Don't everything also criticize Government leh. For a start, the government did not set the COE price. They set the COE to restricted the car quantity. But the same amount of cars new, its still better to have more cars with less CO2 emissions. If you do not think for yourself, at least for others & your children leh. Effective or not, its better than nothing. We can be critical of the Government, but at least do not criticize blindly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 Unregulated lending is one cause of the problem (10 year, 100% loans) but ultimately, it doesn't matter. COE is a billion dollar revenue. Proven successful. Govt won't change it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Refresher76 Clutched January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 Agreed. Got money then buy, no money then don't buy. Do not blame on ruling party. You can try to kick them out in 3 years time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 3.0 liter COE but pay 2 liter roadtax. All same except Coe. Then again, 2 liter and 3 liter pay same coe Size of car body matters also, short cars eg hatchbacks or Copen type take up less road space, long cars eg 7-series, A8, S class takes up more space, maybe roadtax can take car length into consideration Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 Good analysis ! if only everyone can think as profoundly as you and not come up with skin deep solutions. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 CEVS is deducted from the ARF value ....... its not a good thing for the buyers ....... dont be conned Of course it is deducted from the ARF value. Where else to deduct from? The bottom line is we pay less. Case study: my friend just bought the new Golf VII ($15k rebate) over the weekend. His final price was slightly above $137k. OMV is $22k. Given this OMV the tax & ARF (before there was CEVS rebate) would be about $26k making the pre-COE total $48k. With COE at $82k that would be $130k. Meaning VW only make $7k (once we count in the $15k rebate, their actual profit is $22k since the ARF they paid is in fact $11k unless COE shoots up). Obviously this price of $137k would not be possible without the CEVS rebate. The price would have been $150k++. So how are we conned? And why is it not a good thing for the buyers? Is it because it affects their scrap (paper) value? If yes, i am sure it is not by $15k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 Size of car body matters also, short cars eg hatchbacks or Copen type take up less road space, long cars eg 7-series, A8, S class takes up more space, maybe roadtax can take car length into consideration Finally, someone says this. However, I am sure many people here don't like this idea. Many still prefer to have a big body car with puny engine versus small body car with bigger engine. The typical 1.6L sedan car length is about 4.5M long (take the evergreen Corolla Altis as an example). If more people switch to more practical hatchback with length between 3.6 to 4.0M long, there'll be a substantial savings in road space; more cars can be accommodated in traffic junctions, leading to less clogging up till the traffic junctions before. Moreover, it's more fuel efficient for a 1.5/1.6L engine to lug a 3M+ car body versus a 4.5M body which typically weigh more also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 Finally, someone says this. However, I am sure many people here don't like this idea. Many still prefer to have a big body car with puny engine versus small body car with bigger engine. The typical 1.6L sedan car length is about 4.5M long (take the evergreen Corolla Altis as an example). If more people switch to more practical hatchback with length between 3.6 to 4.0M long, there'll be a substantial savings in road space; more cars can be accommodated in traffic junctions, leading to less clogging up till the traffic junctions before. Moreover, it's more fuel efficient for a 1.5/1.6L engine to lug a 3M+ car body versus a 4.5M body which typically weigh more also. Err...if u see the way ppl drive, there are many idiots keep unnecessarily huge distance from the car in front (i am not encouraging tailgating) causing long tailback of slow traffic behind them. The small difference in length of say, a 5 series vs an altis is much smaller than that. So even if everybody start driving altis, it won't change that much cos those idiots that drive 10 car lengths from the car in front will still be there. If those ppl can close from 10 car lengths to 4 or 5 car lengths, imagine how much better traffic will be. Road tax got nothing to do with fuel efficiency. CEVS already takes car of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 If those ppl can close from 10 car lengths to 4 or 5 car lengths, imagine how much better traffic will be. yeah, then tio chain collision see how much traffic is better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 yeah, then tio chain collision see how much traffic is better... 4 to 5 car lengths (about 50m) won't cause chain collision lah unless u are driving 150kmh and have a 2sec reaction time. In heavy traffic doing about 80kmh u can't stop in 50m?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 Err...if u see the way ppl drive, there are many idiots keep unnecessarily huge distance from the car in front (i am not encouraging tailgating) causing long tailback of slow traffic behind them. The small difference in length of say, a 5 series vs an altis is much smaller than that. So even if everybody start driving altis, it won't change that much cos those idiots that drive 10 car lengths from the car in front will still be there. If those ppl can close from 10 car lengths to 4 or 5 car lengths, imagine how much better traffic will be. Road tax got nothing to do with fuel efficiency. CEVS already takes car of that. Another driving habit which slows down traffic especially moving off from traffic light when it changes from red to green is that some drivers take forever to move off, resulting in a big gap of about seven to eight car lengths between cars as they pass slowly thru the green light! This slows down traffic, makes the queue at the red light junction unnecessarily long, adding to congestions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 Another driving habit which slows down traffic especially moving off from traffic light when it changes from red to green is that some drivers take forever to move off, resulting in a big gap of about seven to eight car lengths between cars as they pass slowly thru the green light! This slows down traffic, makes the queue at the red light junction unnecessarily long, adding to congestions No choice lah after what happens recent months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 you no scare red light beater ar? Another driving habit which slows down traffic especially moving off from traffic light when it changes from red to green is that some drivers take forever to move off, resulting in a big gap of about seven to eight car lengths between cars as they pass slowly thru the green light! This slows down traffic, makes the queue at the red light junction unnecessarily long, adding to congestions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 Another driving habit which slows down traffic especially moving off from traffic light when it changes from red to green is that some drivers take forever to move off, resulting in a big gap of about seven to eight car lengths between cars as they pass slowly thru the green light! This slows down traffic, makes the queue at the red light junction unnecessarily long, adding to congestions Ya this is what i was saying in my post that the car in front already turned and reach the other side of the junction the next car still haven't move off. This happens more at those junctions where ppl and turning. Those going straight usually not so bad. As for what happened recently, if i am the lead car, yes i will make extra effort to check and see if on-coming car has stopped. This is just a 2 sec thing. The way those tortoises move off is like 10secs. And if you're not the lead car, then you got plenty of time to see as the cars in front of you are moving off. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...