Hamster surgery

En0203

yes i heard rabbits can toilet train. they r just like dogs and cats but not noisy and more gentle.

my fren let his rabbits roam in the house de.

Ur fren no scared furniture damaged or parquet floor damage??? I initially let them run ard one of the room freely for 4yrs. They scratch the doors, parquet flooring, side wood along the walls, chew on wires, pee on the parquet floor, soaked into the wood, etc...

Now they live in the shower room, once in a while let them run free ard the house supervised.

Talking about hamsters...........i got penty of them at home. [laugh]

This female & male keep producing & producing. Now 4th preg term in 6 months!!!

The first batch of 7 baby hamsters when they reach adult age......one fine day duno why they suddenly decided to kill each other until one pair of male/female is left. And then they make babies. :blink:

They look so cute....but so damn cruel sia! [dizzy]

2nd batch onwards i scare liao.......keep trading them in to pet shop for 1 bag of pet food.

Wow, u operating a hamster breeding farm!!! [laugh]

be vegetarian on 1st and 15th for ur loving pet, hopefully u can reap good karma for it to reincarnate into your Son or Daughter in Law

hahaha

I'm already doing 1st and 15th. :D

Nice story.

My two rabbits refuse to lick me. They would lick my wife's toe thou whenever my wife refill their food bowl. They are more afraid of me. I dont let them wonder ard the house unless supervised. They tend to chew up my wires and furniture legs. [laugh]

They are always in their own world and never liked to be near us. Also they dont like to be carried. More than 1min and they start struggling thus scratching my arms n body with their toe nails.

The male is 6yrs old and female is 5yrs old.

Previously had a hamster too, not much happening, one day it just died of natural causes. Given by my wife's fren.

From my understanding, if it is a lone rabbit in the house especially if you had it since young it is easier to build the bond.

My first rabbit would throw a big tantrum whenever we caged her up for the night. Finally we relented and allowed her free roaming even at night.

Somehow, she recognized the cage as her home because during the final few days of her life, she refused to step out of her cage even the door was never closed.

She did chewed and broke a few wires at home (I was amazed that she didn't get electrocuted) and even burrow through the leather sofa so that she could hide to have a good afternoon nap! :D

The rabbits that I have now are just too comfortable with one another that they bo hieu me... how I miss my first rabbit Pochi! [:(]

The first batch of 7 baby hamsters when they reach adult age......one fine day duno why they suddenly decided to kill each other until one pair of male/female is left. And then they make babies. :blink:

What? isn't that like incest?

Actually are hamsters having cancers common? Could be gene problem with in-breeding?

I tell a true story:

Last time I got a few hamsters, winter white type, they fark a lot and end up I had about nearly 20 hamsters :wacko: , I see scared, decided one mouse one cage. When I go and sayang them, sometimes they will bite me :huh:

Then one day, got one mouse leg Kena caught in between the metal cage, leg broken, I brought him to the vet, leg Kena chop off, so I call him three leg mouse. After he released from clinic, whenever I feed him or sayang him, he will use his tongue to lick my finger!!!!! :wub: None of my hamster do that!!! Three leg mouse later whole day run around in his wheel [:)]

After a year or two, all the mouse died

Then I bury them in the flower pot outside my home [wave]

hamster suddenly become mouse?? [confused]

I kept hamsters, Genuine pigs long hair, short hair, dogs, now cats. :D

and one ah pui, hairless one [laugh] [laugh]

What? isn't that like incest?

Actually are hamsters having cancers common? Could be gene problem with in-breeding?

yes usually because of in-breeding

Just curious how you guys handle the rabbits poo poo when they are allow to roaming around the house freely? They don't any how poo poo meh?

no, they dun anyhow poo poo one, they will have poo poo in their designated "toilet"

I sent my hamster to Mount Pleasant Animal Clinic many years ago to have the tumor removed, cost me $107 with GST.

Edited by Gobbler

Dear all,

Thanks for all the recommendations. We finally decided to engage a vet in Jurong West near our house after making several calls. The surgery rate was the cheapest. Unfortunately, the vet advised against surgery after examination as the tumour has grown too big and taking it away may result in skin infection after surgery and/or the hamster loosing appetite which may even be worse.

We are currently feeding him the medicine given by the vet and hopefully it will suppress the tumour growth. The only problem now is that our hamster did not like the medicine very much. We'll have to fight to force the medicine to his mouth twice a day, poor thing.

Nevertheless, our hamster looks perfectly alright, no pain no nothing, just a big lump at the stomach. If the lump eventually cause him to suffer we will probably have to put him to sleep. It'll be a hard decision but it's probably be better for him than to suffer a big wound at the stomach with possible skin infection.

Last but not least, thanks for sharing the heart warming stories of your pets. I do agree with some brothers saying that it is better to just let it go and getting another hamster is much cheaper. Unfortunately, when the heart takes over this is not going to happen. The least we can do is is probably not keep any hamster anymore after this.