Used Car Dealers Feedback (Part 2)!

unless the car is super rare, i will just walk away. offer them a reasonable price, take it or leave it and of course don't lowball ridiculously. 

no loss for buyer end of the day, its the used car dealers who are waiting like sitting ducks while the car depreciates with each passing day. 

10 hours ago, iceraider said:

I wouldn't even negotiate for a lower price. Jus walk away even if i like e car. Why shld u pay e additional 5k on top of advert price.. this kinda dealer shld be blacklisted

Last time i bgt used car, dealer din even ask for any top up when i paid in full n the insurance quoted was slightly lower than e one i enquired.

but funny thing is even after i pay 5k, the price also only slightly higher than the same car at other dealers. mileage low too...

6 hours ago, Bencjm said:

Normally if i'm cash rich and can pay in full, I will get from AD instead.

haha the car i looking at is a diesel model, not selling anymore and hence had to buy from used car dealer

On 12/15/2019 at 12:02 PM, ZW44 said:

oh i see...the commission thing makes sense haha! they quoted me 60% loan, 2.8% interest, when i told them i wanted to pay in full, immediately ask for 7k more!!! but i thought they would still earn from the car itself since the price was way above the de-registration value of the car... 

so what happened that day was that i left the showroom and told the salesman i was going to decide it over the weekend. asked my friends for advice as they always buy used cars. they told me to negotiate with them. so i went back on Monday and negotiated with him, in the end agreed on additional 5k...at that time i felt something was wrong but i just continued with the deal as the depreciation of the car was lower than other same models in market. mine also came with 5 years servicing for car at AD Workshop which was bought by the 1st owner. so felt like a good deal at that time even though i paid the 5k... now feel like kena cheated HAHA...

thanks for the advice bro!!! will be more wary in the future if i decide to buy used cars again haha!!

Which dealer is that?

On 10/23/2019 at 3:49 PM, silverdoe said:

Can anyone advise if Creative Auto Leasing is reliable? Thanks

Likewise, antone can advise as cant seems to find any review about them yet

Hi guys

I have posted in the Honda owners section and am trying my luck here for some help.

Need some advise from the lao jiaos.

I'm in the process of buying a COE 2009 Honda civic 2.0 (FD2A) from one of the 2nd hand dealers around UBI area which has been renewed for 5 years  until 2024. Under the agreement i signed with the dealer, i am pending for inspection results  from AAS before proceeding with the remainder of the down payment plus loan. Currently have only placed deposit first. However I have called up AAS and they have no slots until the end of the year or possible early next year. I have asked them to call me if there are pple who have cancelled their slot this week or next week so that i can ask the dealer to send the car to AAS for inspection

As i am trading in my soon to be scrapped car ( 2010 Ford focus  with the COE expiring on 3 Jan 2020) to offset some of the purchase price, my options are limited if i cant get a slot at AAS before the end of this year.

I am in a dilemma if i were to forego AAS inspection if i cant get a slot by end of this week or next week and go ahead with the deal.

The dealership has offered 6th months warranty on engine/gearbox and aircon compressor as well as free engine and gearbox servicing before hand over of the car in black and white on the signed agreement.

The interior of the car has been done up by the dealer and mileage seems low ( less than 100K km).  Just wanted AAS inspection for piece of mind.

Any advise?

Thanks in advance.

36 minutes ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi guys

I have posted in the Honda owners section and am trying my luck here for some help.

I'm in the process of buying a COE 2009 Honda civic 2.0 (FD2A) from one of the 2nd hand dealers around UBI area which has been renewed for 5 years  until 2024. Under the agreement i signed with the dealer, i am pending for inspection results  from AAS before proceeding with the remainder of the down payment plus loan. Currently have only placed deposit first. However I have called up AAS and they have no slots until the end of the year or possible early next year. I have asked them to call me if there are pple who have cancelled their slot this week or next week so that i can ask the dealer to send the car to AAS for inspection

As i am trading in my soon to be scrapped car ( 2010 Ford focus  with the COE expiring on 3 Jan 2020) to offset some of the purchase price, my options are limited if i cant get a slot at AAS before the end of this year.

I am in a dilemma if i were to forego AAS inspection if i cant get a slot by end of this week or next week and go ahead with the deal.

The dealership has offered 6th months warranty on engine/gearbox and aircon compressor as well as free engine and gearbox servicing before hand over of the car in black and white on the signed agreement.

The interior of the car has been done up by the dealer and mileage seems low ( less than 100K km).  Just wanted AAS inspection for piece of mind.

Any advise?

Thanks in advance.

1. Since you are owning a car now, you should be able to roughly tell the condition of the civic with a test drive. Are you comfortable with the condition ? 

2. Are you willing to accept alternative like getting your own regular workshop to do an assessment . I dont think AAS would assess gearbox anyway.

3. Since AAS is unable to give you an early slot, would that be a valid reason for you to back out from the deal without affecting your deposit?

4. Last question is how much is the deposit ? Are you willing to forgo it or is it ore worth to take some risk after your workshop's assessment ?

Dont trust the mileage unless you sight the last 2 servos records .  It could genuine but no one could tell until you see at least 2 service records.

Edited by Ct3833

14 hours ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

Which dealer is that?

BW Automobiles. They are i think sister company of Venture Cars. But tbh, had a great experience dealing with them even though I paid a 'penalty' for full upfront payment. 

1 hour ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi guys

Any advise?

Thanks in advance.

Do an STA/Vicom inspection. If no slots also, then get your workshop to check. Also call up Honda for the servicing records. These kind of old cars often more than 100k kms and mileage may be tampered. 

8 hours ago, ZW44 said:

Do an STA/Vicom inspection. If no slots also, then get your workshop to check. Also call up Honda for the servicing records. These kind of old cars often more than 100k kms and mileage may be tampered. 

10 year old civic is less likely to be serviced by KM, last 2 service records from any outside workshop should be good enough to trust the mileage. 

10 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi guys

Any advise?

Thanks in advance.

is the mileage the magic 120k km? then likely tampered la. i would say 80% of the 10year old car for renewal are with fake mileages. 

Check it out yourself, any weird noises etc? any oil leaks.

10 hours ago, Confusedboi said:

Hi guys

Any advise?

Thanks in advance.

Best for you to just go your own regular ws for inspection. Civic below 100k mileage very "strange". Check the timing chain wear and tear.

More importantly the car has to be regularly serviced and maintained. My  COE altis is at 240k km now and  it is still running. I took over from a friend when it was 8 years old, I repaired nothing except when I  decided to renew COE, I went to replace the front shocks because of noise, subsequently , an alternator  plus a piece of coil as well. Till now, the car has been running happily without problem. Will the auto trans go one day ? Yes I think so, I will not hesitate to spend like 3k or so to recon it.

Edited by Ct3833

13 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

is the mileage the magic 120k km? then likely tampered la. i would say 80% of the 10year old car for renewal are with fake mileages. 

Check it out yourself, any weird noises etc? any oil leaks.

Its confirmed tampered 

Just now, RogerNg_185295 said:

Its confirmed tampered 

Not necessary though a lot of time is, must give it the benefit of doubt but has to be verified.  My e200 was 113k km when I bought over, the mileage was genuine from C&C service.

15 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

More importantly the car has to be regularly serviced and maintained. My  COE altis is at 240k km now and  it is still running. I took over from a friend when it was 8 years old, I repaired nothing except when I  decided to renew COE, I went to replace the front shocks because of noise, subsequently , an alternator  plus a piece of coil as well. Till now, the car has been running happily without problem. Will the auto trans go one day ? Yes I think so, I will not hesitate to spend like 3k or so to recon it.

wow...good job, must be very well maintained!! my 2010 Camry gave up at around 180k, gearbox failure and exhaust kept leaking. but it was my fault haha, poor maintenance.

Want to share my experience when i try to unlock the coe rebate for my Impreza.

Used the motorist app feature to touch base with the agent to sell the car. Was quoted 16k

1) First tell me view of my car at any time and location then subsequently prata and tell me go kaki bukit which i did.

2) Tested my car and went for a ride. All okie. The dealer (CAR QUOTES) happy with the car. BUT they wanted to do consignment type of buy and sell. I.e. pair me up with a potential buyer to buy my car at 16K. This means they want it to be a "c" to "c" model and not "c" to "b" model. This is silly to me as the motorist app did not tell me its a consignment based type of selling. The Dealer also can buy back directly but they choose not to do so.

3) End up dont think is viable as i live in the west and if say got 10 potential buyers I ahve to drive down, let them nitpick and nego below 16K which when I wanted to sell, the people actually gave me the illusion that the NETT price is 16K.

TOTAL WASTE of TIME and FUEL and BREATH to talk to those ppl who are not upfront sia.
SO HARD to TELL its CONSIGNMENT BASED TYPE of sales meh?

Lesson Learnt!

Edited by Ka_kia
typo