VellfireS 4th Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Haha I don't drive these range of cars.... ok noted. thanks. hahah.. Me also.. lols.. just noticed them.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Which Kumho would you recommend ? My orginals were Kumho KH31 but size 16 and after I change to 17, I used GR90. The Kumho was okay to me too. Which current Kumho is similar to the GR90 ? I only tried KU31 and now on KH17. I will go back to KU31 for my next tyre change. For the price to performance ratio, KU31 ranks pretty high in my books. But noise level is very subjective, I dare not comment too much on that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Author Share February 1, 2013 (edited) How many kilometres have your GR90 clocked? Me too looking around to change and have short listed GR90 and XM2. I did not keep track but its 2.7 years old. I estimate 30k. 1 pair of it outer treads almost gone while centre threads are still very good. Thought it was insufficient inflation pressure (even though I closely follow manual which says 220 lb/in) but worksop technician say its due to the design and says he stops selling GR90 and many other brands because of design quality or mfg quality (he only have Michelin and Yoko). Suggest I change to Michelin. Edited February 1, 2013 by Mikelcy1963 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Track 2nd Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 I just changed from GR90 to CSC5 (205/55/16). Had it for less than 1 week. Quite quiet but thought new GR90 is quieter. Good for cruising and rolling along. Thought the grip is smoother as I need to brake a longer distance. Maybe I am a bit gentler with thsi new tire. Cheaper than GR90. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Author Share February 1, 2013 I just changed from GR90 to CSC5 (205/55/16). Had it for less than 1 week. Quite quiet but thought new GR90 is quieter. Good for cruising and rolling along. Thought the grip is smoother as I need to brake a longer distance. Maybe I am a bit gentler with thsi new tire. Cheaper than GR90. Thanks for the input. Hmm...I still prefer GR90 in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 i would suggest . toyo proxes c1s. yoko db 551 goodyear efficentgrip dunlop ve302 michelin primacy 3 all the design with bs gr90 is for comfort/ quiet with assymetric design either from japan or europe. but price on the high side also when compare to brands like kumho, nexen etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 I had the chance to change from a set of new GY Excellence to a set of new BS GR90s. Size 225/50 R17. The BS is quieter than the GY by about 2db at 100kmh. But the ride is harder, less absorbent, yet at the same time the steering feel is woolly. Given that the GY is ALOT cheaper than the BS, i would be switching back to the GYs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Track 2nd Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 The steering is also lighter ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 I had the chance to change from a set of new GY Excellence to a set of new BS GR90s. Size 225/50 R17. The BS is quieter than the GY by about 2db at 100kmh. But the ride is harder, less absorbent, yet at the same time the steering feel is woolly. Given that the GY is ALOT cheaper than the BS, i would be switching back to the GYs. I just changed to BS GR90 from Hankook Ventus V12 Evos that had run for abt 44K Km, and the difference is like night n day... The Hankooks (perhaps used too long liao) were very hard on my bums (jarring ride) n noisy everywhere i went... But after the change to the GR90s the ride was much softer n more comfortable and also more quiet... perhaps the GR90 still new and I'll reassess them after like 20K km... More like one cent money 1 cent worth lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guan87 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 i would recommend toyo C1S.. furthermore theres still promotion on toyo tyres recently.. if im not wrong.. C1S is better than CSC3 and much cheaper than GR90 and yet is quiet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweakmax2 Neutral Newbie February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 toyo C1S is ex leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Time to change tires. Am using BS GR90 215/50/17 on a saloon. Happy with it so far but wanted to hear opinions Prefer comfort and quietness. Safety is also important (of course) but I don't need performance tires on a sedate saloon. Anything out there now better than the GR90 based on the above requirements ? Or should I stick with GR90 ? Thanks Nexen nblue HD closest to the GR90's. Currently have it on my moms punto (previously K415s), also have KU31's on my GF's Mz2, Had Federal FD2's on my old Demio, and GR90's on my current car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 i'm looking to change sometime this year too. 35k on my GR90 already. What i really like about this tyre is the stopping distance in the wet under normal driving circumstances. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobile1 1st Gear February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 GR90 is the most overpriced tyres i feel... But i heard BS giving $40 petrol vouchers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 last time I enquired, GR90 and RE002 price diff not much ... but price diff between BS and Conti was around $35 a piece ... wonder if now the gap is lesser since Yen is weakening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 I did not keep track but its 2.7 years old. I estimate 30k. 1 pair of it outer treads almost gone while centre threads are still very good. Thought it was insufficient inflation pressure (even though I closely follow manual which says 220 lb/in) but worksop technician say its due to the design and says he stops selling GR90 and many other brands because of design quality or mfg quality (he only have Michelin and Yoko). Suggest I change to Michelin. 30K is pretty low. My stock michelin has 45k now. The outer thread is also worn down to indicator. Manual says if indicator on 2 threads are worn, that's the limit. So I'm gonna change pretty soon. But with GR90 seems to wear out fast, guess I will get Michelin next again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 I did not keep track but its 2.7 years old. I estimate 30k. 1 pair of it outer treads almost gone while centre threads are still very good. Thought it was insufficient inflation pressure (even though I closely follow manual which says 220 lb/in) but worksop technician say its due to the design and says he stops selling GR90 and many other brands because of design quality or mfg quality (he only have Michelin and Yoko). Suggest I change to Michelin. You think he will suggest you to change to something that he doesn't carry? Sometimes cannot fully trust them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 2, 2013 Share February 2, 2013 Nexen nblue HD closest to the GR90's. Currently have it on my moms punto (previously K415s), also have KU31's on my GF's Mz2, Had Federal FD2's on my old Demio, and GR90's on my current car. Hi bro, I am thinking of changing to Nexen Nblue HD. So you will recommend this tyre to people? It's much cheaper than the Japanese brands. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...