AlanZ Neutral Newbie February 8, 2013 Author Share February 8, 2013 I am quite sure if the laser cut numbers are sized 10mm thick and spacing according to the LTA guideline, it will pass. However, I believe LTA state white numbering or black numbering only. Other colors or silver may not pass. So in theory there can and will never be a legal lazer cut plate, simply because of the silver color! Quote from LTA "Vehicle licence plates normally have white letters and figures on black background for both front and rear of a vehicle. However, if the vehicle licence plate is made of reflex reflecting material, the front licence plate will consist of black letters and figures on a white background, and the rear licence plate will consist of black letters and figures on a yellow background." Hmmm.. That's what I wondered too. But the word they used is "normally" instead of "must be, need to be" etc.... Haha.. Thanks anyway, guess will just change to the normal plate for a new year. Huat ah! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Bro i feel your sentiments...I was booked by TP once on the roads for side sticker number plate. Was intending to remove it for the week inspection but got summon the day before! Best is to change back to legal number plate and follow what you learn in NS - whatever you dont get caught! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I intend to change it but wanted to confirm changing to the type I want is compliant... Its no doubt my own fault but I just thought tat waiting for a clear reply before deciding which type to change to. actually.. i dont understand where u are coming from by waiting for the reply. What is there to wait? Just change to what everyone is using lah! sure comply what.... I am sure u go to any carplate fabrication shop, u ask for the generic SURE COMPLY plate.. they will know which type. Dont go bang walls lah.. why get yourself into all these hassles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Thanks for the extraction. I have read them and know about the fonts and size as mentioned now... They do provide samples, but the samples are the different type of colour of plates used in Singapore. Not on material used. I can't find that info. My shade in transclucent and can still see through. I do not have dark tints. Thats a very good point to highlight. My friend, I think that you are just being anal. To re-do number plate, ask any regular WS or sign shop they will tell you which is legal, which is not. You can try to ask the chemical/atoms made for plastic/metal so that it became rocket science and verify from LTA whether its approve or not. 1million vehicle on the road no problem with material used and one 1 will go into details for material to be used. :wacko: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 (edited) I feel for you, it takes time to replace a number plate and getting caught 2x for the same offense is double jeopardy. Plus you've already made the effort to change your license plate too! Also this is a minor issue unlike speeding or drink driving. Edited February 8, 2013 by Pureness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I would keep the exterior stock. If the letters on the sign is hard to see, it's probably unapproved. I would suggest changing to stock ones. Just curious, are there other things on the car that may attract lta attention? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 You think the LTA officers stupid enough to believe that the workshops don't know what a compliant license plate is? You don't need to know. Just go to wherever you want to make the license plate and get them to make one that will pass inspection. They sure know how to do it. Unless you mean you are fabricating your own license plate that is why you have to get a reply from LTA on what is allowed first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 if i were u, i will hoot to the MOT leow. sometimes these buggers no see coffin no tears one. if the law is vague, fight all the way. dun accept template replies, make sure that even if u have to pay the fine, u drag it into a big public issue. Please lah, who will give two hoots about a bladdy number plate issue? There are much bigger issues to debate about than someone's customized number plate and the trouble he's having with the authorities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 TS damn funny, keep using head to bang wall and complain pain after Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Disco 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Can you show us your number plate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linlaopei February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 You are damn stupid. I dunno Wat you are trying to prove by not changing your number plate after being caught for the first time. I say you deserve it. Move on and Dun kpkb here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I have changed the title to 3 months. nicer ring to it advice is. if u don't want TP/LTA attention, don't give them any. Else, prepare to pay. They lax, it's your luck, they catch, you can only LL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Maybe the TS can share with us his reasons for changing his number plates. After all, the car is delivered with a perfectly compliant set of plates if bought from AD as he seems to suggest his sunshades were also dealer-fitted? I can guess a few reasons: - enhance airflow to radiator/intercooler (some cars are approved for this, like the Evo and Copen) - look different - stylish - luxury appearance - reduce legibility by other motorists So you end up seeing funny Euro plate fonts, smaller than standard characters, very tight spacing between characters, reflective characters (shiny chrome or prismatic material), sticker number plates and even LED bulbs preventing easy discerning of numbers from afar. Regardless of the details of laser cut, material or whatever, they will probably fine you on any technicality they can find so long as your number plate is less legible than a standard fully compliant number plate. To me, driving around with custom plates is akin to a Counterstrike freefrag. Just asking for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 You are just plain bloody stupid. You were stopped THREE TIMES for the SAME illegal number plate. The first time you try to be a snake and claim that since material of number plate is not specified, therefore you have done nothing wrong. But the second time that you are booked FOR THE SAME PLATE is because the font size is too small. Therefore, basically, your plate is illegal; does not matter what s--t material it is made of. Now you want to claim no offence was committed because: 1. There is no specified time for which to charge you with the offence, or 2. That if they want to charge you, they must tell you on the spot and not warn you and then later charge you. People who have fancy, illegal number plates do it to be different, for the attention, for the recognition. Now that you have all the attention you can get, what's your problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Can you show us your number plate? Show us the first two or last two characters would do.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Maybe the TS can share with us his reasons for changing his number plates. After all, the car is delivered with a perfectly compliant set of plates if bought from AD as he seems to suggest his sunshades were also dealer-fitted? I can guess a few reasons: - enhance airflow to radiator/intercooler (some cars are approved for this, like the Evo and Copen) - look different - stylish - luxury appearance - reduce legibility by other motorists So you end up seeing funny Euro plate fonts, smaller than standard characters, very tight spacing between characters, reflective characters (shiny chrome or prismatic material), sticker number plates and even LED bulbs preventing easy discerning of numbers from afar. Regardless of the details of laser cut, material or whatever, they will probably fine you on any technicality they can find so long as your number plate is less legible than a standard fully compliant number plate. To me, driving around with custom plates is akin to a Counterstrike freefrag. Just asking for it. The above post is highly informative. I like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 It is perfectly possible to be fined a few times within a short period for the same infringement. It is up to TS to show that he had insufficient notice/time to settle the earlier offence. I would guess a minimum of 2 weeks between offences. After that, I would consider it a new offence. However, it would depend on LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Is it that difficult to have a perfectly legal number plate? I'm sure the car when bought new from agent came with a LTA appove plate, no? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...