Dinosaka 1st Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Another thing to add....doesn't mean u hv a camera on board u can just drive n run over an illegal pedestrian or cyclist or that motorcycle guy that turn into your lane... They died... U will be in the wrong even u hv right of way... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 the ultimate fault still lies with the bike no doubt. just ask urself if both go straight will the accident happen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaka 1st Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 the ultimate fault still lies with the bike no doubt. just ask urself if both go straight will the accident happen? Yes fault lies with the biker... If he survives then u hv a case to fight.... If he dies...case closed...u r guilty! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ratppl Neutral Newbie February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 no no..the driver is not fault..cause in here..the R** Mod said that as long you slow..even if you are in the speed limit..u is hogging and is an offence..so the driver no choice but to speed up..just suay that the biker suddenly do a stunt by left turn.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 I don't think anyone will anticipate that the biker will chut such stunt la.. regardless of the speed of the car, no way the car can anticipate that movement.. this is perfect example of Darwin's theory.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Driver sleeping + rider stupid. he may probably paid with his life.... why still label people with word like stupid?? have some respect for others , please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 when you hand over a machine which is somewhat capable of a decent century sprint, there are bound to be people who thinks that they will always be fast enough to get out of all kinds of situations. you see bikes doing a right turn in the face of oncoming traffic when the light flash green to go. you see taxis doing kerbside u turns in your face. Just because the sonata has a turbocharged engine block, it doesn't mean that it will always be fast enough all the time. i don't think it is about speed limits or enforcement here. it is about the mindset, or rather the possession of a very flawed and skewed one. Just yesterday when i was about 10 car lengths from a major junction, the lights turned green in my favour. Due to the prevalence of redlight beaters nowadays, i proceeded with caution and eased off the throttle and position my foot above the brake pedal, on the ready. There was this one KL chap on a powerful bike in lane 2. He proceeded to move off and he was the first in line. I don't really understand why he had to purposely drift into my lane (lane 1) so i highbeam him and honked. Obviously i had to brake very hard. He wasn't happy and revved the nuts out of his bike. When we stopped at the next junction, i asked him why he didn't see me coming from behind and he had the gall to reply, " well you didn't bang me right" So to this biker, since there was no collision, he didn't see what the hell was wrong. No telling of being able to tell whats right and whats wrong from this guy at all. Really wonder how such riders think of defensive riding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Obviously is the biker's fault. Knn suddenly turn left without checking or signalling, from the outer lane somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Yes fault lies with the biker... If he survives then u hv a case to fight.... If he dies...case closed...u r guilty! okay why not this way, u driving along the road and some sucidial fellow on the divider suddenly jumps into your path and u killed him. ur fault? to be frank even the taxi drives at 50 he might not have avoid it. dun be too quick to bash him for speeding. we all do drive above speed limit. touch ur heart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 when you hand over a machine which is somewhat capable of a decent century sprint, there are bound to be people who thinks that they will always be fast enough to get out of all kinds of situations. you see bikes doing a right turn in the face of oncoming traffic when the light flash green to go. you see taxis doing kerbside u turns in your face. Just because the sonata has a turbocharged engine block, it doesn't mean that it will always be fast enough all the time. i don't think it is about speed limits or enforcement here. it is about the mindset, or rather the possession of a very flawed and skewed one. Just yesterday when i was about 10 car lengths from a major junction, the lights turned green in my favour. Due to the prevalence of redlight beaters nowadays, i proceeded with caution and eased off the throttle and position my foot above the brake pedal, on the ready. There was this one KL chap on a powerful bike in lane 2. He proceeded to move off and he was the first in line. I don't really understand why he had to purposely drift into my lane (lane 1) so i highbeam him and honked. Obviously i had to brake very hard. He wasn't happy and revved the nuts out of his bike. When we stopped at the next junction, i asked him why he didn't see me coming from behind and he had the gall to reply, " well you didn't bang me right" So to this biker, since there was no collision, he didn't see what the hell was wrong. No telling of being able to tell whats right and whats wrong from this guy at all. Really wonder how such riders think of defensive riding. such pple's life expectancy wont be too high, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Isn't this similar to this case? Whose fault is it? http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=408790435846208 Who here can anticipate this kind of thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 I'm sure some gangster punk ass in bolehland would be more than willing to run that biker down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaka 1st Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 okay why not this way, u driving along the road and some sucidial fellow on the divider suddenly jumps into your path and u killed him. ur fault? to be frank even the taxi drives at 50 he might not have avoid it. dun be too quick to bash him for speeding. we all do drive above speed limit. touch ur heart. U don't get my point...I'm not defending the biker ... Based on the video...if presented in court the driver will be guilty of negligence... So do drive with due care n be aware of your surrounding... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 I think even the car e brake also can't siam the bike, but did the driver warn the biker via highbeam and horn? Anyway both also will kena claim as got video showing it's bikers fault for turning at wrong lane with zero signal, driver for not being alert... 99.99% bike in the wrong, but the reaction of the driver is very very questionable leh. Not saying can totally avoid the bike but at least the impact could have been softer. This kind of reaction is like almost every day or week will kanna accident judging on how a lot of motorcyclists and drivers behave nowadays. I see motorcyclists I will lock on target liao, not to hit them but any time siam, just in case. The driver is, seems to be very slow in reacting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 car is speeding at ~`\76 to 79km/hr as shown on video....such road only 50km or max 70km/hr.. In Singapore context, would not totally pin it as speeding but driver reaction is cui and not knowing when to slow down or at least hover the right foot on the brake. Impact could have been softer. Anyway a lot of people know how to speed but dunno how to slow down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 For those who say driver at fault for speeding, blah blah... The cause of the accident is not he's speeding. It's the abrupt lane change of the motorcyclist that resulted in the accident. I still don't think that at 50km/h, it's possible to stop in time to avoid hitting the bike. There's a 1 to 2 sec lag between reading the traffic situation and reacting. 2 sec is way too slow. 1 sec or sub 1 sec better. Not saying its driver's fault though but he partly contributed to the impact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 Another thing to add....doesn't mean u hv a camera on board u can just drive n run over an illegal pedestrian or cyclist or that motorcycle guy that turn into your lane... They died... U will be in the wrong even u hv right of way... Its more for apportioning the blame and claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 19, 2013 Share February 19, 2013 And what was the car/taxi doing undertaking a biker who is in Lane 2 with the car/taxi in Lane 3. Especially at that speed. Stupid stupid stupid. how u deduce the driver undertook the bike? But you raised a valid scenario. Need "before" video clip. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...