When to change battery

Dumb

Ya thicker copper wire better. Easier to start cos current flows better.

One time i see guy try but cannot jumpstart wh his cables. I bring mine n try one crank it start.

I chk his cable copper wire quite thin type. [blush]

Now I see china made cheap alum cable with copper plating at autobacs. :D

U better chk yr battery. See if got printed on bottom "IMMORTAL ". [laugh]

My ex-car's battery from day 1 till I sold the car after 3+ years, no problems at all.

Ya thicker copper wire better. Easier to start cos current flows better.

One time i see guy try but cannot jumpstart wh his cables. I bring mine n try one crank it start.

I chk his cable copper wire quite thin type. [blush]

No wonder mine cable bought at petrol station cost $40+... While ntuc cost $10..

Whenever i buy battery..... I look fr one wh e highest CCA possible.

High cca is good, up to a certain point.

High cca is obtained by making lead plates as large as possible, not necessary thicker, and in many case thinner.

However, the larger plate reduce available space at the bottom to collect debris, sludge and fall-outs.

If enough conductive material is collected at the bottom, that plate is shorted out.

So instead of having 12V, now you have a 10V battery which can't start the engine.

No wonder mine cable bought at petrol station cost $40+... While ntuc cost $10..

I saw some good cable at autobacs, brand is staffman or something similar.

It is very heavy, and costly. The labelled 200A for SUV or something cost around $70+

So, there is no such thing as cheap and good.

The cheapo MIC type can label as 600A and cost $20. Don't believe this kind of labelling.

The original non MF Yuasa use 3 year no problem.. went buy tyre kanna cross sell say batt weak then change to a Hankook MF batt..1 year 4 month batt up lorry already despite being a bigger batt. Will not go back for MF batt anymore. Buy non MF Yuasa from now on

Now i waiting fr maintenance-free petrol tank. Only need to top-up once every few years. So far anybody got this lobang yet? [:p]

Nuclear reactor. [laugh]

The original non MF Yuasa use 3 year no problem.. went buy tyre kanna cross sell say batt weak then change to a Hankook MF batt..1 year 4 month batt up lorry already despite being a bigger batt. Will not go back for MF batt anymore. Buy non MF Yuasa from now on

This one smelly smelly can last 5 years if MIJ.

It's not about the brand, it's whether it's MIJ or not.

Yuasa or FB when MIJ has high quality and usually long lasting.

Once, it's made elsewhere, cost-cutting takes precedent, battery life is shortened.

Well, the maufacturers like it anyway, you have to buy more batteries. :D

Cheap lead acid batteries are made from recycle battery lead and therefore may have much high qualities of impurities and that will shorten the battery nature life span.

With a much weaken yen exchange vis a vis US $ , I foresee make in Japan products returning to overseas markets to meet the demand of those looking for quality and reliabiltiy products.

It's not about the brand, it's whether it's MIJ or not.

Yuasa or FB when MIJ has high quality and usually long lasting.

Once, it's made elsewhere, cost-cutting takes precedent, battery life is shortened.

Well, the maufacturers like it anyway, you have to buy more batteries. :D

Yup, I have used MIJ Yuasa and MIC Yuasa. MIJ Yuasa can last me 5 years even for MF batt, but MIC Yuasa only last 2 years.

Ok get yr car serviced n checked. Dun forget a good battery cos we going Kenyir Lake very soon. Also chk yr spare tire hor.

Yes Sir!!!

My car battery was changed last Dec, so shouldn't be a problem. Servicing will do these 2 months. Spare tyre just pumped last Sat (found out only left 1/2 pressure, last pump up was last Oct)....

[My car battery was changed last Dec, so shouldn't be a problem. Servicing will do these 2 months. Spare tyre just pumped last Sat (found out only left 1/2 pressure, last pump up was last Oct)....

Haha..I never pump my spare tyre from the very 1st day i took my car..Haha..It have been 6yrs..Wonder the rubber still can use...

Edited by Alan39

Haha..I never pump my spare tyre from the very 1st day i took my car..Haha..It have been 6yrs..Wonder the rubber still can use...

Your spare tyre is probably airless now.... that is what happen when I checked mine last Oct.

Actually when you do tyre rotation or alignment time, you can ask the WS to check/pump the spare....usually they will do it for you FOC.

MF some r better than others.

I bought Koba brand mik fm uncle frankie but only last <1year 6months.

I prefer Global brand mik fm vincent of Eng Wah. Lasted almost 3 yrs. Both abt same price same am/h.

Amaron also a good brand to buy. Similar price as e other 2.

Edited by Pisces69

Battery voltage is not the only criteria. You need adequate amp-hour (AH) to start a vehicle. The battery shop uses this to check car batteries. I'm sure you can buy an AH meter but probably not worth paying for it.

haha, so every month you drive to battery shop to measure your Ah?