Coltplussport Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Its ok lar ... The academic score does not seal the child's fate for the future ... Of course it doesn't seal the fate of the child, there are so many different factors involved. Those I said are generally, or most likely. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 PV how to be mandatory? ... Some families need dual income to survive ... 8 years? ... Primary School still got ( 7 Extended ) & ( 8 Mono ) ? ... PVs should be genuine, so only after the child has been selected can the Parents volunteer to help out in the school affairs ... Lets see how many parents will volunteer now ... RC has no direct relation to schools so it should not be used as Leverage ... Members should volunteer out of own free will ... No hidden agenda ... Old Boys/Girls should be given priority only if they are living within close proximity ... A child at this age needs rest ... Traveling only adds on to an already congested traffic in Singapore ... If they die die must go to that particular school ... go live beside the school ... You mean PV is a full time thing? Damn. I always thought PV was part-time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Its ok lar ... The academic score does not seal the child's fate for the future ... they believe in choice, good start with good result mean more doors open. But most of the time too many choice really blur the line .... Limited choice makes people strive with the only opportunity they have. You mean PV is a full time thing? Damn. I always thought PV was part-time. Volunteer should only be spare time, not even part time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naimed 5th Gear July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 You mean Ministers is it ... Not all Scholars are Ministers ... The salary of the superscale officers in civil/admin service is also quite scary...the following report was from 2007: http://www.salary.sg/2007/high-earners-in-civil-service/ According to a recent speech by Minister In-Charge of Civil Service Mr Teo Chee Hean, officers at the lowest “superscale” salary grade (SR9) are set to receive a total of $372,000 to $384,000 this year. Some of these officers are only in their early 30s, I reckon. Salaries for those at the MR4 level – these are typically senior Permanent Secretaries – are set at $1.6 million. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 (edited) they believe in choice, good start with good result mean more doors open. But most of the time too many choice really blur the line .... Limited choice makes people strive with the only opportunity they have. ... You are right - that's the problem with our education system as it is nowadays. Those students with good academics are offered too many choices and options until mind boggles. So much so that the younger generation nowadays have this mistaken idea that companies are on the look out for them, and they can be anything they want to be! It cannot be further from the truth. Can just compare the numerous courses offered in poly and univ these days compared to the past. Too many choices produce students who are too specialised and less adaptable to changing job market. It may even limit their willingness to look for jobs beyond their narrowly specialised academic qualification. Edited July 22, 2014 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Volunteer should only be spare time, not even part time. Meaning it's really full time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Meaning it's really full time? not full time, is spare time, mean the time commit shouldn't disrupt your routine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 They should remove this old boy/girl priority, who mostly do not have any link to the school until the day they register their kids for P1. That's what I think too.. accorded same priority as staff teaching in the school? a bit of a logistical headache as parent(one or both) and kid need to start their day at 7am... but you can bet all old boys/ girls who want their child to be in their alma mater would have joined alumni by now... promote one rank loh! higher priority loh! alumni membership cheap cheap nia... most schools charge about the cost of one month's shell v-power only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 not full time, is spare time, mean the time commit shouldn't disrupt your routine. You're saying it shd be spare time or are you saying in reality, it is spare time? I'm confused. Chow Yun Fatt say dual income family cannot spare the time so I assume it's full time? That's what I think too.. accorded same priority as staff teaching in the school? a bit of a logistical headache as parent(one or both) and kid need to start their day at 7am... but you can bet all old boys/ girls who want their child to be in their alma mater would have joined alumni by now... promote one rank loh! higher priority loh! alumni membership cheap cheap nia... most schools charge about the cost of one month's shell v-power only. Removing the old boy/ old girls also means removing alumni mah. You can't join alumni unless you're old boy/ girl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 You're saying it shd be spare time or are you saying in reality, it is spare time? I'm confused. Chow Yun Fatt say dual income family cannot spare the time so I assume it's full time? Removing the old boy/ old girls also means removing alumni mah. You can't join alumni unless you're old boy/ girl. old boy/girl is as long as u study there before. alumni is you pay few hundred dollars to join as member. the latter is higher priority. i nv say remove old boy/girl lah... i just find it a bit strange old boy/girl same priority as staff working in the school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 (edited) Are our Scholars any good? ... CYF, is this a trick question to test our IQ?? N I only join PV after my DD gets in. Been adhoc PV for 5yrs liao, probably stop when she goes onto to secondary (pray she can get in cos affiliation or not still see results ). Edited July 22, 2014 by Qpik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Removing the old boy/ old girls also means removing alumni mah. You can't join alumni unless you're old boy/ girl. Still can separate them. alumni still at least try to maintain some ties to school. Old boys/girls not in alumini usually can't be bother with their school til their kids reach 6 years old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Still can separate them. alumni still at least try to maintain some ties to school. Old boys/girls not in alumini usually can't be bother with their school til their kids reach 6 years old. Yep - the former should get priority, the latter can fark off and piss into the wind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 (edited) new thinking is every school is good school but it's aint happening now bro ... This is very Old School thinking lar ... Edited July 22, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Still can separate them. alumni still at least try to maintain some ties to school. Old boys/girls not in alumini usually can't be bother with their school til their kids reach 6 years old. Agree with that in theory but removing that phase will mean the OB/G shifting to alumni phase and still qualify for a preferential phase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 new thinking is every school is good school but it's aint happening now bro ... Then the government should open mega branded school with take in of 800 pupils. Maciam mega churches. Or open satellite branded school in new hdb estate like nanyang ( sengkang) primary school. Don't even need to think of new names like Palm view, north spring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 Then the government should open mega branded school with take in of 800 pupils. Maciam mega churches. Or open satellite branded school in new hdb estate like nanyang ( sengkang) primary school. Don't even need to think of new names like Palm view, north spring. They shd do that. Current popular schools like Nanyang see balloting at early phases because they have only 210 seats. WTF? Schools like Tao Nan have 360 seats so you don't see balloting at such an early phase. If parents like "branded" schools, then as you say, open more branches. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged July 22, 2014 Share July 22, 2014 They shd do that. Current popular schools like Nanyang see balloting at early phases because they have only 210 seats. WTF? Schools like Tao Nan have 360 seats so you don't see balloting at such an early phase. If parents like "branded" schools, then as you say, open more branches. No used cos no two P r alike. Take for example ACS Primary n ACS Junior. If both same then y the former more HOT?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...