Wt_know Hypersonic May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 (edited) yes, coe is govt revenue ... but you miss my point if buyer is only willing to bid coe at $25k means 0% to secure the coe if current level is $60k-$70k then pml is wasting its time and resources to serve such customer ... time and resource is money .. like i said every deal must be able to close ... not tikam tikam ... every opportunity lost is lose money due to operating cost do you think pml want to serve such customer? pml straight away say no stock or this model is fully booked for next 2 month ... lol that's why if coe want to tikam tikam (try my luck) ... then coe must only be bidded by customer hahah but be it 25k or 70k coe stil gahmen money mah...pml no share wat...they shd care only how much they price the basic car n how much profit they want. act its jus like all other car distributors worldwide rite. unless u say incl coe they have chance to make more profit plus more realistic chance to secure the coe then ok la this method sure pitcha their lobang hehe but seriously...my point is if coe is determined by buyers, then only the towkays wil say i wan sure get, bid for me 100k while most of the rest wil cont to conservative usu starting w smaller bids (cos benefit own pocket mah), tis is the sure fire way to bring coe price down. but then again its agst "pro business" so u know la hehe Edited May 19, 2014 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 Yes, looking at the crowd and assuming 70% of them eventually sign on the dotted line, I think COE will stabilize at this level +-. in every drop it create a backlog the worries is the backlog getting longer and longer and eventually drive up the price to a new high again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Yes, looking at the crowd and assuming 70% of them eventually sign on the dotted line, I think COE will stabilize at this level +-. Where you get the numbers of 70% signed on dotted line?... I know many are just like me, there to do ground work only... And I also can claim 80% are there see see look look drink free coffee only.... Hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 I dont understand why people think that bidding own COE instead of through dealer will bring COE level down. Isn't it the same? The reason bro pisces state is definitely true, but it will not have a big impact on COE prices. If there is no impact on COE prices, then what is the harm in doing a 3-month trial of disallowing dealers to bid for COE? yes, coe is govt revenue ... but you miss my point if buyer is only willing to bid coe at $25k means 0% to secure the coe if current level is $60k-$70k then pml is wasting its time and resources to serve such customer ... time and resource is money .. like i said every deal must be able to close ... not tikam tikam ... every opportunity lost is lose money due to operating cost do you think pml want to serve such customer? pml straight away say no stock or this model is fully booked for next 2 month ... lol that's why if coe want to tikam tikam (try my luck) ... then coe must only be bidded by customer Banning dealers from bidding for COE is a way better idea than re categorizing Cat A COE based on engine power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Where you get the numbers of 70% signed on dotted line?... I know many are just like me, there to do ground work only... And I also can claim 80% are there see see look look drink free coffee only.... Hehe Haha same here. Doing groundwork, look-see look-see... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Where you get the numbers of 70% signed on dotted line?... I know many are just like me, there to do ground work only... And I also can claim 80% are there see see look look drink free coffee only.... Hehe Agreed, I'm 1 of them too during last sun... Hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 COEs should be like Number Plate Bidding ... Owners bid themselves Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 (edited) if paying coe full cash is an issue then follow current rule that min $10k deposit to bid after bid coe, walk into showroom and package the whole car to get loan incl coe. nothing change. if loan is disapproved because no big hat (overstretch) or decided not to buy a car forfeited $2500 ... this to ensure buyer don't anyhow bid coe and serious then the coe must be recycled back to the pool and cannot be resell ho say bo? Edited May 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 COEs should be like Number Plate Bidding ... Owners bid themselves Seriously, it will yield similar results. 800 of bidder die die want to buy car, with quota at 500. How is the price going to be any different? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 wt_know: yes concur with you. End of the day, it will be a waste of time for PML to entertain someone who tries to bid for a unrealistic COE. The only agents that will welcome that would be: 1) To show the principal that we have X no. of potential order 2) To keep the deposits/down payments as extra cash flow So if they wants to do that then, everyone will bid their own COE with CASH. and that will cause a problem with the loan of the car as car value without COE will not be a good collateral as the scrape value is low like nothing and will make it more risky for bank to do car loan. That will increase the car loan rates (which may not be a bad thing for the cash rich). Such drastic changes in COE system will cause repercussion to other sectors and I believe LTA will try not to rock the boat. yes, coe is govt revenue ... but you miss my point if buyer is only willing to bid coe at $25k means 0% to secure the coe if current level is $60k-$70k then pml is wasting its time and resources to serve such customer ... time and resource is money .. like i said every deal must be able to close ... not tikam tikam ... every opportunity lost is lose money due to operating cost do you think pml want to serve such customer? pml straight away say no stock or this model is fully booked for next 2 month ... lol that's why if coe want to tikam tikam (try my luck) ... then coe must only be bidded by customer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Think one of the more effective way to bring down COE is to paste stickers of money (dollar notes with wings) fly away on top of every cars bonnet. As big as the bonnet, as in like cigarette box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 my guess is next few rds close to or equal to 70K, then downtrend resumes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Seriously, it will yield similar results. 800 of bidder die die want to buy car, with quota at 500. How is the price going to be any different? For a start, the prices may be more erratic with spikes and dips. The 800 bidders will become 1600 bidders with 900 of them trying their luck with $1000 bids. But as time pass, it should stabilize and go up similarly to the HDB "COV" concept. Where whoever wants to buy a COE will go +- same as the previous month prices. However for the car industry, things will change quite a bit. Currently, it is the car with better profit margin that can absorb higher COE prices in order to sell more cars. (BMW/AUDI/MERC). With the COE on hand system, profit margin may go down as cost gets more transparent and ready buyers with COE may have better bargaining power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 my guess is next few rds close to or equal to 70K, then downtrend resumes A lot of the current booking have rebate of around 50k only, not possible for COE to reach $70k. But they will create a lot of backlog for at least another half a year or more. But not sure how BMW/MERC will bid, but if the COE really hit 70K, then it must be the doing of this luxury brand. With zero or close to zero car population growth, and the incoming of more new citizens, high COE is here to stay. Just how high? For a start, the prices may be more erratic with spikes and dips. The 800 bidders will become 1600 bidders with 900 of them trying their luck with $1000 bids. But as time pass, it should stabilize and go up similarly to the HDB "COV" concept. Where whoever wants to buy a COE will go +- same as the previous month prices. However for the car industry, things will change quite a bit. Currently, it is the car with better profit margin that can absorb higher COE prices in order to sell more cars. (BMW/AUDI/MERC). With the COE on hand system, profit margin may go down as cost gets more transparent and ready buyers with COE may have better bargaining power. Cost is already very transparent, how more transparent do you want it to be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Seriously, it will yield similar results. 800 of bidder die die want to buy car, with quota at 500. How is the price going to be any different? You cannot please everyone ... But at least, this will be more transparent ... & after every bid, they must publish the results to show ... Everyone also want to live in a nice big house ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 the best method is buyer walk into the showroom already with coe .... like i said buyer bid coe and pay cash ... period. Logical but a lot of dealers refuse to give you a good deal when you already have a COE on hand, I wonder why? I think this COE bidding game is good for them in some ways, head you lose (rebate is often lower), tail you also lose (please top up) and they can, at their discretion, decide whether to sacrifice margin for market share. Control...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Logical but a lot of dealers refuse to give you a good deal when you already have a COE on hand, I wonder why? I think this COE bidding game is good for them in some ways, head you lose (rebate is often lower), tail you also lose (please top up) and they can, at their discretion, decide whether to sacrifice margin for market share. Control...... With profit margin much higher than OMV of cars sold here, with or without COE on hand, you won't get a good deal. How come our parallel import cannot do better and bring us reasonable priced cars? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yenyenpark 1st Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 i believe not letting individual bidding also has its intention.. most ppl assume that individual will bid "rationally" when they bid for themselves.. but this can be a wrong assumption.. there may be more individual punters out there just wanna speculate.. COE may end up like a stock market. (although some already say it is, but it can be worse).. with smaller pool of ppl (traders) allow to bid, the price already so steep.. it may be worse if it's open to all... just my thinking.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...