Throttle2 Supersonic June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 I saw a couple of datejust on croc.....looks quite nice and much more affordable. HJwatch Datejust on croc not as nice as Daydate on croc. Reason is becos the previous daydate case is different from all Rolex cases, it has a special curvature which allows straps to wear beautifully on it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Datejust on croc not as nice as Daydate on croc. Reason is becos the previous daydate case is different from all Rolex cases, it has a special curvature which allows straps to wear beautifully on it. icic..... ok shall look around.... but I really don't like leather straps as I sweat easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keen 1st Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 What do you guys think of omega? Is it on the same class as tudor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 What do you guys think of omega? Is it on the same class as tudor? To me Omega sits above Tudor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Datejust on croc not as nice as Daydate on croc. Reason is becos the previous daydate case is different from all Rolex cases, it has a special curvature which allows straps to wear beautifully on it. And if I may add, it is also advisable to get curved springbars with curved end link on the leather strap... Brings out the beauty of it. Avoid the straight end link leather strap... It will leave a lot of space between the watch case and the strap... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 (edited) icic..... ok shall look around.... but I really don't like leather straps as I sweat easily. No worries there bro... Leather is made to be seasoned with water and sweat, as long as you dry it off in air con afterwards. I go swimming with the leather straps on my IWCs, panerais and APs.. Calf leather and crocodile leather... Not joking.. They hold up pretty well! Play tennis, hang out in hot humid weather, the leather straps are still fresh looking as long as you give them a quick wipe with wet tissue wipes when you get home. Forgot to add: if you have just gone swimming with your leather strapped watch, remember to rinse off the salt or chlorine with tap water first and absorb the excess water with a towel before leaving it to dry off in an air-con environment. Edited June 8, 2013 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 (edited) And if I may add, it is also advisable to get curved springbars with curved end link on the leather strap... Brings out the beauty of it. Avoid the straight end link leather strap... It will leave a lot of space between the watch case and the strap... Thats the beauty of the previous gen Daydate, you dont need curve spring bars curve straps. The case is different from all other rolex cases. Daydate case is made to accomodate straps. The other thing to note for Rolex is that while you do not want a big gap, you do want a small gap. Otherwise the leather may rub off the serial numbers over time. I hv seen some unfortunate examples before. When that happens , some intrinsic value is lost. For those who want to put straps on their Rolexes , plse take note, or ask the Rolex strap expert (me loh) heh Edited June 8, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Thats the beauty of the previous gen Daydate, you dont need curve spring bars curve straps. The case is different from all other rolex cases. Daydate case is made to accomodate straps. The other thing to note for Rolex is that while you do not want a big gap, you do want a small gap. Otherwise the leather may rub off the serial numbers over time. I hv seen some unfortunate examples before. When that happens , some intrinsic value is lost. For those who want to put straps on their Rolexes , plse take note, or ask the Rolex strap expert (me loh) heh Oh. Then better get those solid end link like the leather strapped Daytona. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 No worries there bro... Leather is made to be seasoned with water and sweat, as long as you dry it off in air con afterwards. I go swimming with the leather straps on my IWCs, panerais and APs.. Calf leather and crocodile leather... Not joking.. They hold up pretty well! Play tennis, hang out in hot humid weather, the leather straps are still fresh looking as long as you give them a quick wipe with wet tissue wipes when you get home. Forgot to add: if you have just gone swimming with your leather strapped watch, remember to rinse off the salt or chlorine with tap water first and absorb the excess water with a towel before leaving it to dry off in an air-con environment. my wife's santos leather quite bad. kena sweat leow the stain on the leather very visible. anyway to remove? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Oh. Then better get those solid end link like the leather strapped Daytona. That one is the best of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 (edited) Thats the beauty of the previous gen Daydate, you dont need curve spring bars curve straps. The case is different from all other rolex cases. Daydate case is made to accomodate straps. The other thing to note for Rolex is that while you do not want a big gap, you do want a small gap. Otherwise the leather may rub off the serial numbers over time. I hv seen some unfortunate examples before. When that happens , some intrinsic value is lost. For those who want to put straps on their Rolexes , plse take note, or ask the Rolex strap expert (me loh) heh Correcting myself, the old gold Datejust case was also made to accomodate straps just like the daydate case. Straps on gold datejust and daydates were an option in the past and the cases had an additional curve so that the gap is not big when paired with straps. Edited June 8, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 No worries there bro... Leather is made to be seasoned with water and sweat, as long as you dry it off in air con afterwards. I go swimming with the leather straps on my IWCs, panerais and APs.. Calf leather and crocodile leather... Not joking.. They hold up pretty well! Play tennis, hang out in hot humid weather, the leather straps are still fresh looking as long as you give them a quick wipe with wet tissue wipes when you get home. Forgot to add: if you have just gone swimming with your leather strapped watch, remember to rinse off the salt or chlorine with tap water first and absorb the excess water with a towel before leaving it to dry off in an air-con environment. har.... I find that troublesome leh. thats why my two-tone daytona is becoming three-tone (gold, steel, and dirt) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 9, 2013 Share June 9, 2013 har.... I find that troublesome leh. thats why my two-tone daytona is becoming three-tone (gold, steel, and dirt) Wah lau, sibei lazy leh you...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 9, 2013 Share June 9, 2013 To me Omega sits above Tudor. How about Ball? Are they any good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 9, 2013 Share June 9, 2013 How about Ball? Are they any good? Good as in? They are fine as everyday knock around watches. Reliable and durable lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 9, 2013 Share June 9, 2013 my wife's santos leather quite bad. kena sweat leow the stain on the leather very visible. anyway to remove? Santos stripe is black color.. Stain where? Any picture? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 9, 2013 Share June 9, 2013 Santos stripe is black color.. Stain where? Any picture? for lady's pink Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 for lady's pink Stain on the underside or on the top? Good straps dont stain easily, they are in fact water resistant . But being light color , its understandable ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...