Yattokame 4th Gear June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 Huh... People are still raving about the Daytona? Thought people are now raving about RM and Moser and whatnot... Used to like RM but slowly have learnt to realize what Rolex is about. The timeless design, a classic even after all these years, and definitely the brand recognition. Like a mercedes benz. A pity I only learnt how to appreciate them only now. Also liked the white face w gold sub dial rings daytona. That did it for me. Didnt like baton markers so went for diamonds. Was afraid gold is too overwhelming so went for TT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 So get one! Hey you like high quality straps? Check this guy out: http://hughes-handcrafted.tumblr.com/ This guy is GOOD. It is not just the high quality of his leather, but his perfectionist craft. Be prepared to pay. Yes, but i need to justify the purchase, dont want to be frivolous or it will never end, just buy and buy. Its not overly expensive just as what Yattokame says but i already iterally have one for every day of the week.... I think it will come, i just need to justify it....more so since last two weeks alone wiped off some value from my small portfolio. I'll continue to poison Yattokame though, heeeheeee.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 Yes, but i need to justify the purchase, dont want to be frivolous or it will never end, just buy and buy. Its not overly expensive just as what Yattokame says but i already iterally have one for every day of the week.... I think it will come, i just need to justify it....more so since last two weeks alone wiped off some value from my small portfolio. I'll continue to poison Yattokame though, heeeheeee.... U know how to poison me more? Lend it to me for a month. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 OT a bit.. for those working around Lau pa sat clearing dishes and wiping tables for a living and need to have a MAS RNF to hold the job, don't drink and drive nowadays. Got a ex colleague RNF revoked by the company bec kanna penalised for drink driving by the court. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 OT a bit.. for those working around Lau pa sat clearing dishes and wiping tables for a living and need to have a MAS RNF to hold the job, don't drink and drive nowadays. Got a ex colleague RNF revoked by the company bec kanna penalised for drink driving by the court. Sounds like company wants to boot him so use drink driving as excuse , either that or he is the company driver... Anyway, it can't be revoked by company. Even if it could, not for such reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 Its possible, if he was jailed for drink driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 (edited) Its possible, if he was jailed for drink driving Yes, perhaps but then drink driving wouldn't be the true reason anymore, the jail sentence would be. And it would be a case of being discharged from his duties altogether. Not quite a revocation of licence. Am not certain, however, i do believe that only MAS can revoke the licence, the company cannot. Right? Alamak, watches leh !! Edited June 16, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 Okok sorry OT.. By the way Explorer2 really quite a sturdy watch. I wore it to sleep, bathe, swim.. And occasionally it got hit against some hard corners, but no scratches on the glass yet. Quite a study watch. Daytona can take this kind of abuse? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 (edited) Okok sorry OT.. By the way Explorer2 really quite a sturdy watch. I wore it to sleep, bathe, swim.. And occasionally it got hit against some hard corners, but no scratches on the glass yet. Quite a study watch. Daytona can take this kind of abuse? the exp2 is my travel watch, i thrash it totally just like my Submariner. the daytona, i dont thrash it as hard becos it has polished case and bezel. i believe that it is very tough but not as tough compared to the standard plain movement as it is a chrono this does not mean that you cantntake it swimming, tennis or golf as i have done them all. however i did chip the sapphire crystal by slamming it against a granite stone wall accidentally... replaced at RSC for $100++ Edited June 16, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 16, 2013 Share June 16, 2013 the exp2 is my travel watch, i thrash it totally just like my Submariner. the daytona, i dont thrash it as hard becos it has polished case and bezel. i believe that it is very tough but not as tough compared to the standard plain movement as it is a chrono this does not mean that you cantntake it swimming, tennis or golf as i have done them all. however i did chip the sapphire crystal by slamming it against a granite stone wall accidentally... replaced at RSC for $100++ When sapphire crystal replaced, water proving ability will be compromised? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 When sapphire crystal replaced, water proving ability will be compromised? No lah. Water proofness, checked and guaranteed by Rolex Center. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 When sapphire crystal replaced, water proving ability will be compromised? Hahaha how do you think the sapphire crystal got in there in the first place? It grew out from the steel case? Thus providing a water-tight seal? Hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 I was offered a Rolex without papers but with box. Can I get the papers replaced if I send it for verification by RSC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 I was offered a Rolex without papers but with box. Can I get the papers replaced if I send it for verification by RSC? Not quite replaced but you will get a receipt showing "service charge" and the reference serial number of your watch and model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 (edited) Throttle Bro, you said in previous post you "believe that it is very tough but not as tough compared to the standard plain movement as it is a chrono"..so if I buy those plain non chronograph type watches will be more hard wearing as compared to a chronograph? Secondly, if let you choose..will you buy a raymond weil? Edited June 17, 2013 by Kyrios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Throttle Bro, you said in previous post you "believe that it is very tough but not as tough compared to the standard plain movement as it is a chrono"..so if I buy those plain non chronograph type watches will be more hard wearing as compared to a chronograph? Secondly, if let you choose..will you buy a raymond weil? When u compare two sports rolexes, one with so many more moving parts than the other, it is clear which is more resilient to rough treatment. This is not to say that the chrono is not tough. Just that the non chrono would likely be tougher. No i will not buy a raymond weil. I dont like their designs at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Throttle Bro, you said in previous post you "believe that it is very tough but not as tough compared to the standard plain movement as it is a chrono"..so if I buy those plain non chronograph type watches will be more hard wearing as compared to a chronograph? Secondly, if let you choose..will you buy a raymond weil? Casio the hardest lah bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 I was offered a Rolex without papers but with box. Can I get the papers replaced if I send it for verification by RSC? nope ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...