Happily1986 5th Gear April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 (edited) if everything i say must be backed up by effective supporting statements, very soon a very simple statement like despite high inflation in singapore, its effects are not felt as the rate of inflation is still lower than the gdp then i'll have to quote statistics on inflation in singapore, how inflation is calculated, past inflation levels, inflation vs other countries statistics on gdp, how gdp is calculated, past gdp levels, gdp vs other countries happiness index, happiness vs gdp vs inflation, how happiness is calculated to simply justify that ONE line, you'll have to read a 50 page essay. THEN to justify EVERY OTHER LINE in my 50 page essay, i'll need a 5k page book THEN to justify EVERY LINE in my 5k page book, i'll need to write 500 books THEN TO JUSTIFY EVERY LINE IN MY 500 BOOKS..... i hope that my reasoning has justified that your viewpoint is nothing but a hollow opinion that rankles and is actually a sweeping statement if you realize what are you, dense? what's with your exchange rate of having to read a 50 page essay in order to justify one line? thats simply stupid rhetoric trying to exaggerate. i am not going to dignify your dumb stance with a proper response on this one. And wow, very conveniently sidestepping the fact that the bone of my original contention is a sweeping statement. is that an oversight on your part or are you simply oblivious? do i have to spell it out plain to you that sweeping statements are inherently indefensible positions? So in actuality, the erstwhile lack of supporting statements was disappointing but this is already a moot point because the premise of the argument centred around a sweeping statement. pointless venture anyway. lastly, i like to point out something very laughable on your part. That is, you claimed that henceforth, you will have no choice but to quote statistics on whatever issue that was going to be debated. look at my original post. did i say anything remotely congruous to the notion that one had to supply empirical evidence in order to backup a statement? (statistics themselves count as empirical evidence if you are not aware) Let me put it this way to you. Without effective supporting statements, your viewpoint remain as a hollow opinion. Except that it rankles. It is does not help that it is actually a sweeping statement if you realise. You have an interesting way of comprehending words. For the record. supporting statements refer to argumentative statements that attempt to reason and cajole one into accepting one's standpoint. Elementary stuff here, an argument consists of 3 components 1. Point: The point which you wish to bring across and hopefully convince your audience to buy into it 2. Reasoning: The part of the argument which you actually do the persuasion to convince the other party 3. Evidence: Empirical/hard/cold facts So in a nutshell when i refer to effective supporting statements, i was referring to #2. I have no idea why you assumed that i wanted the fella to come up with #3. Edited April 26, 2013 by Happily1986 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 (edited) 1 minute you say that you need effective supporting statements, then another minute you say that the statements that i can produce to back up what i say is an exaggeration? i don't understand you. please make up your mind! anyway a person's opinion is always true based on context. no amount of effective supporting statements can change the truth in an opinion. if every opinion can be measured into right and wrong, then everybody will effectively be wrong or we will all be controlled by a single mind. thus there is no need for any point, reasoning or evidence. if i say sugar tastes better than salt, what reasoning would you need? what reasoning can i produce? you want to go for an operation to transfer taste buds? that is why its called an opinion. it can be right or wrong to you but it is always right to me. to tell somebody else that his opinion is nothing but a hollow opinion that rankles and is actually a sweeping statement if you realize really shows what type of a person you are to simply sweep aside another person without even bothering to understand the direction he is coming from and the fact that his opinion is true to him. Edited April 26, 2013 by Pureness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 (edited) so if i say, what you've said here offended me and you should apologize will you apologize? because if you do apologize to appease me, it means that you accepted that you did wrong but if you don't then a 3rd party will simply say that you were given a chance but you did not. damned if you do, damned if you don't? ridiculous isn't it? when in the very first place you did no wrong? of course i will apologize if what i said hurt you. I am not so selfish as to let you continue feeling down because i said something that offended you what is the problem of been wrong? or are you too thick head to think that you cannot be wrong?? BTW, you dare to say that his comic on malay is not trying to incite them to hated the government or man in white? and what he wrote is right? Edited April 26, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 1 minute you say that you need effective supporting statements, then another minute you say that the statements that i can produce to back up what i say is an exaggeration? i don't understand you. please make up your mind! anyway a person's opinion is always true based on context. no amount of effective supporting statements can change the truth in an opinion. if every opinion can be measured into right and wrong, then everybody will effectively be wrong or we will all be controlled by a single mind. thus there is no need for any point, reasoning or evidence. if i say sugar tastes better than salt, what reasoning would you need? what reasoning can i produce? you want to go for an operation to transfer taste buds? that is why its called an opinion. it can be right or wrong to you but it is always right to me. to tell somebody else that his opinion is nothing but a hollow opinion that rankles and is actually a sweeping statement if you realize really shows what type of a person you are to simply sweep aside another person without even bothering to understand the direction he is coming from and the fact that his opinion is true to him. Obviously you did not understand my previous post in its entirety. Haha, unbelievable. The extent of which you can go to pervert my argument for your own inscrutable ends. BTW, go read up what is meant by a sweeping statement. Apparently you are too swept up with the notion that anything and everything is subjective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 WTF man... Guys chill.. Let's just agree to disagree. It's only a forum, let's not get too carried away here shall we? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 of course i will apologize if what i said hurt you. I am not so selfish as to let you continue feeling down because i said something that offended you what is the problem of been wrong? or are you too thick head to think that you cannot be wrong?? BTW, you dare to say that his comic on malay is not trying to incite them to hated the government or man in white? and what he wrote is right? are you too thick head to think that you are right and he is wrong? going by the comments he's been receiving on facebook, its about a few hundred vs a few he has his own opinion, you have yours. if you don't agree with him then just don't view his comics. i don't agree with some of the things he's posted thus i didn't like his comics to receive updates. but what i'm not doing, is to simply bash him up for being anti-govt. he does have quite a few useful points in his comics, like them or not, PAP is not 100% correct and he's a critic. if he can point out just 1% of whatever PAP is doing wrong, i'm all ears and my standpoint is that to ignore what might be potentially be true will be more disastrous than to simply accept what is false. don't forget, from WP's actions they have saved singapore millions of tax payer dollars. had WP adopted a PAP is right 100% mindset, we would be paying another ten million or so more $$ to yet another bogus PAP linked company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 Obviously you did not understand my previous post in its entirety. Haha, unbelievable. The extent of which you can go to pervert my argument for your own inscrutable ends. BTW, go read up what is meant by a sweeping statement. Apparently you are too swept up with the notion that anything and everything is subjective. yes and everything you say is correct and others are wrong i understand now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 Wah this thread reminded me of the recent vandalism case. Could they be related? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 26, 2013 Share April 26, 2013 (edited) you know what? going by the mindset of some people in this thread, i can understand why singaporean girls prefer caucasian men. as i've pointed out, my caucasian friend did find it odd that singaporeans gladly accept what the govt hands to them without questions. it is common in other countries to question the norm and seek improvement while we chinese simply prefer to point fingers and judge. the same attitude is evident when it comes to sg men and sg girls, when the girls prefer caucasian men, our sgporean men simply point fingers and say the girls are wrong. you guys can go ahead and say what you want, i'm an ITE grad but i think better than most of you Edited April 26, 2013 by Pureness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 WTF man... Guys chill.. Let's just agree to disagree. It's only a forum, let's not get too carried away here shall we? I think we all know that our pinions are just that, which can differ between one and others. This is common and normal unless our minds are programmed to think the same Agree that in a discussions there will be people who accept the fact that other persons are entitled to different opinions and live with the differing opinions after sharing their own opinions and don't expect or insist that others should agree with such opinions. On the other hand there will also be people who expect or insist others to agree with theirs. Maybe problems or frictions also start when people start using abusive language, or let their ego take over. Some always want to win, others are losers outside cyber space therefore find their refuge or glories in winning or belittling others here to gain a false sense of self worth? Important thing:- we can still live with all the above, or even find amusement reading the "discussions" for what they are worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) WTF man... Guys chill.. Let's just agree to disagree. It's only a forum, let's not get too carried away here shall we? Repeat Edited April 27, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 are you too thick head to think that you are right and he is wrong? going by the comments he's been receiving on facebook, its about a few hundred vs a few he has his own opinion, you have yours. if you don't agree with him then just don't view his comics. i don't agree with some of the things he's posted thus i didn't like his comics to receive updates. but what i'm not doing, is to simply bash him up for being anti-govt. he does have quite a few useful points in his comics, like them or not, PAP is not 100% correct and he's a critic. if he can point out just 1% of whatever PAP is doing wrong, i'm all ears and my standpoint is that to ignore what might be potentially be true will be more disastrous than to simply accept what is false. don't forget, from WP's actions they have saved singapore millions of tax payer dollars. had WP adopted a PAP is right 100% mindset, we would be paying another ten million or so more $$ to yet another bogus PAP linked company. are you so stupid that what he post on the malay thread can potentially become a inter-country issue as we are surrounded by country with malays community? or are u just living in your own hole that there is only singapore in SEA and no other country like Indonesia and malaysia?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) are you so stupid that what he post on the malay thread can potentially become a inter-country issue as we are surrounded by country with malays community? or are u just living in your own hole that there is only singapore in SEA and no other country like Indonesia and malaysia?? as i've pointed out before, the malays in our country are DIFFERENT from the malays in indonesia or malaysia the singaporean malays grew up here, they are used to going to shopping centers, seeing 0 malays other than themselves and then going home without feeling weird. the malays that we have here don't bother about what skin color you, i or any indian or caucasian person has. i don't know what country you come from where the malays there are so super sensitive till the extend where a random sweeping statement like malays are ******** will cause racial riots and anarchy. if the malays here don't even bother about such statements, why would malaysia or indonesia step in and meddle with non existent affairs? why not you do your research? go to the facebook page, enter the link and see how many malays have voiced out that they want to start racial riots because of that picture? then count how many malays have voiced out in agreement with the author? you must really look down on our malay community in general, thinking them to be stupid enough to riot over such a silly matter. Edited April 27, 2013 by Pureness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) Hang Lima Jebat The govt defines talent as someone who can contribute to Singapore economically through financial means... But ask any intelligent person, they will say that talent is defined based on the capability and creativity of a person... Just look at Singapore idol, all 3 seasons Malays won... Are they not talented Malays? Oh wait...they dont contribute $$$$ to the govt or make their paycheck fatter so No...they are not... Gahmen, they will survive the zombie holocaust because the zombies will only eat people with brains... Adnan Othman This isn't something new... I'm extremely glad I have friends from different races. Muhammad Noor Just remember Baby Bonus are not mean for the Malays or Indians they are mean for the ...... you should know lah Faizah Zainal This is pathetic. Last time wondering abt my kids' future as a citizen here, now I have to wonder abt them being malays in the future. Khalif Skankwox Former singaporean....now happily residing in Malaysia...still loves my singaporean buddies..regardless of race.... be happy everyone...life is short... to all the rascists out there..hey we need you b------ds so we can feel better about ourselves.... AizadAizea Munirah No point debatinglah juz vote PAP out 2016 not ONE malay posted anything related to racial riots i like this reply the best: Sayse Dar Don't think this is racist! Anyway, there are lots of Malays in Singapore who are rich. The fact is govt may not know that cause govt looks at people who are in high public places. Those rich Malays can be in in private sector or doing their own business. The govt don't see that. In every race there are poor, middle and rich people. All races are contributing to Singapore's society and economy. Some of these people who may be very rich prefer privacy rather than to be in the public eye. Too bad the govt looks at those who are high in public profile. i remember when PSP launched the PSP white and they had a caucasian man posing beside a black man to represent the PSP black, there was a huge outcry over racism. then people started coming in and saying that there is no racism involved at all. the conclusion is, only a racist will see something and derive it to be racist. if a random sample size of malays don't see the comic as racist but you do, then i can very safely say that you are more racist than the malays that posted in reply to that comic. Edited April 27, 2013 by Pureness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 I think we all know that our pinions are just that, which can differ between one and others. This is common and normal unless our minds are programmed to think the same Agree that in a discussions there will be people who accept the fact that other persons are entitled to different opinions and live with the differing opinions after sharing their own opinions and don't expect or insist that others should agree with such opinions. On the other hand there will also be people who expect or insist others to agree with theirs. Maybe problems or frictions also start when people start using abusive language, or let their ego take over. Some always want to win, others are losers outside cyber space therefore find their refuge or glories in winning or belittling others here to gain a false sense of self worth? Important thing:- we can still live with all the above, or even find amusement reading the "discussions" for what they are worth. Actually the arguments here not too bad liao. Edmw is much worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 Hang Lima Jebat The govt defines talent as someone who can contribute to Singapore economically through financial means... But ask any intelligent person, they will say that talent is defined based on the capability and creativity of a person... Just look at Singapore idol, all 3 seasons Malays won... Are they not talented Malays? Oh wait...they dont contribute $$$$ to the govt or make their paycheck fatter so No...they are not... Gahmen, they will survive the zombie holocaust because the zombies will only eat people with brains... Adnan Othman This isn't something new... I'm extremely glad I have friends from different races. Muhammad Noor Just remember Baby Bonus are not mean for the Malays or Indians they are mean for the ...... you should know lah Faizah Zainal This is pathetic. Last time wondering abt my kids' future as a citizen here, now I have to wonder abt them being malays in the future. Khalif Skankwox Former singaporean....now happily residing in Malaysia...still loves my singaporean buddies..regardless of race.... be happy everyone...life is short... to all the rascists out there..hey we need you b------ds so we can feel better about ourselves.... AizadAizea Munirah No point debatinglah juz vote PAP out 2016 not ONE malay posted anything related to racial riots i like this reply the best: Sayse Dar Don't think this is racist! Anyway, there are lots of Malays in Singapore who are rich. The fact is govt may not know that cause govt looks at people who are in high public places. Those rich Malays can be in in private sector or doing their own business. The govt don't see that. In every race there are poor, middle and rich people. All races are contributing to Singapore's society and economy. Some of these people who may be very rich prefer privacy rather than to be in the public eye. Too bad the govt looks at those who are high in public profile. i remember when PSP launched the PSP white and they had a caucasian man posing beside a black man to represent the PSP black, there was a huge outcry over racism. then people started coming in and saying that there is no racism involved at all. the conclusion is, only a racist will see something and derive it to be racist. if a random sample size of malays don't see the comic as racist but you do, then i can very safely say that you are more racist than the malays that posted in reply to that comic. Our kids learn alot abt race in primary school. Actually kids see different color as same. We teach them awareness of different colors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pureness Clutched April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 if i'm wrong do point out to me where and why i'm wrong. i'm an ITE grad, most of my classmates are malay. i would believe that i understand how malays think more than most others, considering that i've spent most of my sec sch and ITE days with mostly malay friends. thus i know for sure that the malays here are neither racist, nor stupid. at the very least they know that violence is not the way to solve anything. whatever racist comment you can post, the malays here will not use violence to get the message across. so don't look down on them, they are smarter than you think! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 Seen enough name calling n insults here n enuf is enuf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...