Demon-cratic comic author caught

Mllcg

Singapore police arrested Mr Leslie Chew, 37, the person behind the cartoon strip, Demon-cratic Singapore, on Friday morning, for alleged sedition.

He was held in custody and questioned over the weekend, and was released at 8.45pm on Sunday after posting bail of S$10,000.

The police confiscated his handphone, computer and hard disk. He was also asked to surrender his passport to the police at the Cantonment Police complex.

The charges relate to two of the comic strips on his Demon-cratic Facebook page. Mr Chew has produced more than 600 cartoons thus far, including those on the page. The two in question are this one and this one.

The first cartoon, published on his Facebook page on 14 December last year, and titled

Just like the early Christians in Rome, the more u arrest, persecute, the more ppl will be aware of what's going on.

Personally, on the topic of race, I've never been comfortable with the idea of SAP schools. You never find such schools in western countries.

Edited by Felipe

Leslie chew is oso fictional like Batman, superman or iron man. [laugh]

Cartoonists in other countries mocking politicians were far more worst that Leslie.

Edited by KaKiLang

it's a matter of time lah. Am sure that the Govt has a guy just to scrutinize his comics and spot anything sue-able ..... Initially I liked his comics but after a while it became like a govt-blasting mission on everything and anything.

Leslie chew is oso fictional like Batman, superman or iron man. [laugh]

Cartoonists in other countries mocking politicians were far more worst that Leslie.

other country the cartoonists for political comic approach in a lot of humor and sarcasm, this guy so straight forward sure kena one, but not bad that he only got 2 out of the 600 comic :D

Still, claiming that "Demon-cratic Singapore" is fictional and nothing to do with Singapore is a joke.

Agree. Lying with eyes wide open. Dare to post don't dare to admit.

He just post his ordeal...

LOL...it just gave him more material to write. How is this "fictional"?

I must agree the comic on "Malay Population - Deliberately Suppressed by a Racist Govt" is sedition.

soon we might see many of this posted online..

disclaimer:

i am a fictional character and thus none of my comments here are real

will it work? ^_^

I just came down from the mountain. Didn't know about this guy till today.. Thanks to the media, now got one more entertainment.