University degree not VITAL for success!

A degree is basically a level of education which is completed by the person who holds it.

Yes having a degree, or a cert of any kind does mean that the holder has attained a level of education at that level.

But does it show unquestionable Intelligence? Courage? Decisiveness? Vision?

Hardly.

let's face it. what we learn in uni probably only 5% is applicable to our working life. most of the useful day to day work knowledge will probably be from on job training

i feel that a degree just demonstrates the " trainability" of a person.

well.

look at it from another point of view.

if everyone has a degree then what's the differentiator?

they'll just end up with a generation of degree holders who cant find suitable jobs.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-21...eremployed.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2012/feb/2...-school-leavers

Of course not all oppotunities from higher education will lead to success. If you want to aim you would naturally want to aim high. Got anyone out there say "I will stop at primary tree, no more dan that"?

Then government should take lead... To be MP or Minister, minimum diploma can liao. Knn minimum also need degree to do civil service job, MP also need to be minimal degree. What crap they talking.

if the government can employ those without degree, then what Mr Khaw said is valid. Other than that, he's just talking nonsense.......walk the talk Mr Khaw!!!

Oh, yes Civil service does.

But cant go far, NoMatterwhat.

Restricted growth.

yeah correct. because it is the S-papers, deans' list, PHD and employment as ministers that are vital

i don't see ANY of the ministers or senior civil servants holding just a diploma. , Neither do i know of ANY of the minister's children forgoing University studies for Polytechnic education.

Your appetite stops at F10 5er nia har? :D

he oso got u nia. no wonder so contented...... :D

What is more important is that they get good jobs after leaving school, Mr Khaw told some 160 students and young adults in an Our Singapore Conversation dialogue.

What is the chance of getting a good job if don't have a degree?

By good job would means generally a job with good prospect, leadership position, well paid and has good work life balance.

Edited by Icedbs

look at all the job postings for executive positions in the civil service ,

" A good degree from a reputable university "

with crieterias like that how to substantiate your logic? another gas from the mouth minister

no degree = no good jobs = no good pay = no good demand for HDB = problem solved!

let's face it. what we learn in uni probably only 5% is applicable to our working life. most of the useful day to day work knowledge will probably be from on job training

i feel that a degree just demonstrates the " trainability" of a person.

but the degree builds your foundation... without the degree... you think you be able to understand your work?

degree does not show your job capability but it prepares you to be capable in your job..

What is more important is that they get good jobs after leaving school, Mr Khaw told some 160 students and young adults in an Our Singapore Conversation dialogue.

What is the chance of getting a good job if don't have a degree?

By good job would means generally a job with good prospect, leadership position, well paid and has good work life balance.

this will makes 1 think they wan a job in future or wan to work themselves in future...

thats the reason why contractors usually no qualification..coz they learn the trade and skills from their jobs and later work themselves..

maybe i related to this industries, thats why quite sometimes dont link to the work call 'job' ,the 'job' i used is the work and business for contractors..

of coz there's successful and not successful one..applies to degree too

Edited by Freestylers09

But the question wasn't is a degree important. Question was, shoudn't the Gahmen set aside more places for SGreans in Unis?

Is like i ask you, can you set aside more cake for me?

Then you tell me, Oh, cake is not important to make you full.

he telling them no.. in a nice way.

he is a politicain of course.

by the way, they also ask wrong person. go ask Minister of Education lah.

he telling them no.. in a nice way.

he is a politicain of course.

by the way, they also ask wrong person. go ask Minister of Education lah.

exactly. i dunno what's the big hoohah about ... :huh:

he's not going to do that malaysian woman did "shuddup, shuddup" :mellow:

no degree = no good jobs = no good pay = no good demand for HDB = problem solved!

then no good $$ = not enu f$$ = no demand for COE = problem solved

good dah [laugh] [laugh]