Will you return the phone?

Generator

Will you return the phone?  

66 members have voted

1. 1. Will you return the phone?

• Yes
    • No

why dont you just reject when he first pass to you?

tried but they kept pushing it to me...haha... [:p]

coz they say they dun have cash with them so issued cheque of $50

btw the wife quite chio too... :wub:

OOPs!! [laugh]

i won't want to profit fr the phone....i might pick it up n call the contact list in the phone (look for family members) to arrange a return....

haven't done tat for a while but so far i've returned 4 phones in my lifetime [cool]

[thumbsup] me too......very simple [;)]

do onto others what you want others to do onto you

and

dun do to others what you dun want others to do to you

[cool]

btw just saw this...jialat Singa also quit liao... [shakehead]

Singa the Courtesy Lion: I quit

20130515.104955_may1513_singaquits.jpg

AsiaOne

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

SINGAPORE - Just days after announcing his venture into raising courtesy standards on social media, Singa the Courtesy Lion has tendered his resignation.

In an open letter on the Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM) website, Singa said: "I need a long break, and you could probably use a break from me too."

He said he has been on the job for over thirty years, first, as the Courtesy Lion, and more recently, as the mascot for kindness.

Singa concluded: "A final word before I go. Let's be responsible for our actions. ... We are responsible for the sort of society we encourage and create. It is our choices that determine who we are."

Read the full letter here:

Subject: Open Letter to Singapore - I Quit

Dear Singapore,

I quit.

I need a long break, and you could probably use a break from me too. I get it. No one likes being nagged at, even if it's about being kind and gracious.

I suppose it's about time. After all, I've been doing this for over 30 years - first, as the Courtesy Lion, and more recently, as your mascot for kindness. I'm just too tired to continue facing an increasingly angry and disagreeable society.

It's been said that kindness shouldn't be a campaign. That kindness should be a part of values education. That people in authority - at work, in school, at home and in government - should lead by example.

Fair enough. I suppose it's time for real people to step up, and for the mascot to step aside.

It's not that we aren't a gracious society, or that kindness is not innate in all of us. But some days it feels like not very many of us believe in or care about expressing kindness. We say, "We have so many problems. How can we be kind?". Or "Fix my problems first, then we can talk about being kind."

Should we let kindness and graciousness disappear while we fix these "bigger" problems? Is kindness only for the good times? Does graciousness come with terms and conditions? If we can only be nice if other people are nice to us first, who will start the ball rolling? Or can we rise above our differences and be gracious even in challenging times?

A final word before I go. Let's be responsible for our actions. We can refuse to give up our seats on the train if we don't want to, but let's not blame it on the crowd. We can go online and be rude to others, but let's not think it "doesn't count" because it's anonymous. We can let our anger and disagreement dictate the kind of people and society we want to be, or we can decide to be gracious, even when frustrated.

We are responsible for the sort of society we encourage and create. It is our choices that determine who we are.

All the best, Singapore.

Your friend,

Singa

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews...515-422664.html

OOPs!! [laugh]

actually, next time. you take the check.. then put it back into their mail box and tell them nicely.

This is just a friendly gesture from a singaporean. [:)]

It happened to me once.

I picked a iphone in a toilet.

I waited for the someone to call the phone. Waiting for 15 min and he finally called.

1st thing he said:" return my phone to me, you bloody thief." i waited for him and gave the phone back.

He ended the meeting with me with the exact sentence..

"Next time dun anyhow take other ppl things."

If it happen again, i will still do the same thing.

On the side note, i found a car key stuck in a toyota vios's boot. I search his car and found his address and went to his house to return his key. He just said thank you and shut the door.

i am not a goodie good shoe. Just that i believe in karma.

same like me i found a wallet on the car boot 2 yrs ago n went up to the house to return the owner's wallet... without sayin thank you... he jus say "oh i left it ther ah".. then shut the door also... haiz... speechless...

I did physically searched the car. The reason is because it in a public car park and it is around 8am in the morning. Lot of ppl pass by. He just parked beside me. If i recalled correctly, there is a medical document that stated his address. I just tried my luck and went to his HDB unit and pass the key back to him.

What i did was stupid. plain stupid. I should have call the Police.

If you ever find another key near the car, just put it back into their glove box. My SIL is just like you but better, in Malaysia, she saw the door not lock, she press door bell to alert, no one came so she climb in and knock glass... They could have called the police and lock her up for trespassing. If you wanna help to the max, lock the door from inside and close back the car door, no need to go find them.

same like me i found a wallet on the car boot 2 yrs ago n went up to the house to return the owner's wallet... without sayin thank you... he jus say "oh i left it ther ah".. then shut the door also... haiz... speechless...

Welcome to Singapore

Another incident that happen at JP, a young couple left their new purchase at the restaurant, the waiter chase after them and return, when the waiter caught up with them, they are like looking at each other as if that thing is not theirs....... Anyway their face is really take for granted that the waiter bring it back to them.

maybe insurance cert is in the car? or car warranty documents? some ppl e.g. my colleague doesnt clear his car often, so u can find bank statements, his kids' sch letters etc in his car [;)]

I've one box X100 copies of name cards in my car [cool]

From this thread I have only one conclusion.

We need a section for people with post count less than 300.

And a very large search button.

after reading two pages of messages...what is the moral of the story?? Dont be good samaritan in singapore since they will not appreciate what you have done

if breakable you won't return right? then cannot tell you [:p]

aiya, i also know can.. but thinking the poor chap lost his newly purchased phone..

and his info and contact..

so we return loh.. merit leh :D

Most androids have recovery menus to reset the phones.

iPhone just plug to com's itunes to flash firmware again.

Basically pins are to protect privacy, not prevent theft.

ok, thanks for the info.

next time if i found Jman888 phone, i don't return. [laugh]

it takes both parties to make Singapore a better place

the one who picks up the lost item shouldn't be greedy and keep it... should return it to the rightful owner

the one who gets his lost item back should be grateful and appreciative...

like that, both will go on and enjoy the rest of the day with a happy mood

the one who recovers his lost item will believe in the kindness of the society, so next time he picks up a lost item, he will probably return it too

OOPs!! [laugh]

您有一颗好心 [thumbsup]但是染了一点黄色 [sly]

哈哈哈哈 [laugh]

i have a relative who is driving a cab

he bragged that he picked up a lost iphone in his cab and kept it, or pocketed a $100 note that an ang moh mistakenly gave him, thinking it was a $10 note

wonder what kind of moral standards is he teaching to his children

it takes both parties to make Singapore a better place

the one who picks up the lost item shouldn't be greedy and keep it... should return it to the rightful owner

the one who gets his lost item back should be grateful and appreciative...

like that, both will go on and enjoy the rest of the day with a happy mood

the one who recovers his lost item will believe in the kindness of the society, so next time he picks up a lost item, he will probably return it too

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

after reading two pages of messages...what is the moral of the story?? Dont be good samaritan in singapore since they will not appreciate what you have done

Two side, be appreciative as well as be a good samaritan.

一种米养百种人

We cannot expect ppl to think the same. If this happen, the world will be a boring place.

Edited by Huntz