Tray Return

Tonyng

so you are one of those who will make the public toilets dirty and disgusting so locals might keep their jobs?

i disagree..returning trays shows that one's society is mature and civic minded and the table wipers can concentrate on their foremost tasks..which is to clean the tables..i have one peeve though..that is the table cleaners are not using proper tools to clean the tables..minimum have to use micro-fiber cloth and spraying disinfectant on the tables to kill the germs and bacteria..which is sorely lacking :angry:

I think toileting and tray return are separate issues.

Who do you see with much much more disapproval - someone who smear toilet bowl with feces or someone who did not return the tray?

But your point on mature society is interesting. Which mature society has an army of old aunties/uncles doing this type of work? Must answer this first.

actually our requests are very simple:

- we need FWs in construction, shipyard, F&B sectors

- we need FWs doesn't mean they, any Tom, Dick and Harry, can get PRship or citizenship easily

- we do not need so many foreign PMETs, especially those with dubious foreign degrees or no capabilities

- we need to crack down FTs here who hire people from their own countries and discriminate Singaporeans (this is very sad... Singaporeans tio discrimination in own country)

- we are not against subsidizing the foreign students, but places in local universities should be first reserved for local students who are able to make it

- we are not against meritocracy but Singaporeans should come first

i not pap leh :huh: you tell me also no use [:p] play piano for the cow [grin]

In many other countries these type of menial jobs are usually done by youngsters (part-time), as a means to earn pocket money. It also teaches them about hard work from young.

We as a society need to reflect upon ourselves if our only source of hard labour is from elderly retirees and cheap foreigners.

which part of the article say they can get higher FW quota? (it is not FT, FT not meed quota, just S pass or employment pass).

they never see the company workforce or books, how can they claim these companies get higher FW quota?

I think eyeballing.

Good enough for this purpose.

You feel otherwise we can go kopi together and we count. :D

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130

I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers.

Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table.

Otherwise I am not for tray return for now.

Anyone disagree?

The problem here is that there is inadequate supply of many old aunties and uncles around or should I say those businesses are not putting up attractive salaries to entice more old aunties and uncles to be re-employed. As a result, these businesses are resorted to using FT.

I think it is a good move as one of the many ways to reduce reliance on FT. Afterall, such works are not really productive as they do not add real value to our economy directly.

What saddens me is that this "tray return movement" has been long overdue.

I think eyeballing.

Good enough for this purpose.

You feel otherwise we can go kopi together and we count. :D

count doesn't mean they go around the system to get more quota, end of the day they cannot find local so they have to pay higher levy to get the FW (the cost total up probably higher than hiring the local). You think all the local uncles aunties queue up for the job meh? for all you know they are in high demand that was offered 3-4 jobs. :D

If you want to feel for them, ask what their children had done for them?

The problem here is that there is inadequate supply of many old aunties and uncles around or should I say those businesses are not putting up attractive salaries to entice more old aunties and uncles to be re-employed. As a result, these businesses are resorted to using FT.

I think it is a good move as one of the many ways to reduce reliance on FT. Afterall, such works are not really productive as they do not add real value to our economy directly.

What saddens me is that this "tray return movement" has been long overdue.

i have done my part to stop reliance on FW by sending my maid home [sunny]

to help me in my housework, i got irobot and a high pressue jet in to automate some house work [:p]

start from the fast food centre, i will ask the kids to return their own tray and clean up.

A bit hard for hawker centre if they dun have a centralise collection place, but at least we can clean up the mess on the table.

The value is there for you to impart sense of responsibility to your young children. I applaud.

And as they grow older, I think they can consider wider issues - making an action and taking a stand may not nicely coincide. [laugh]

count doesn't mean they go around the system to get more quota, end of the day they cannot find local so they have to pay higher levy to get the FW (the cost total up probably higher than hiring the local). You think all the local uncles aunties queue up for the job meh? for all you know they are in high demand that was offered 3-4 jobs. :D

i get my parents to stay with me

they rent out their flat and they keep the rental money

they get to see the grandsons grow up

i pay my parents some token marnie monthly

i think my parents are happy with the retirement plan i did for them [grouphug]

Yes. LKY say one. [rolleyes]

so sad, then how come mascot SINGA can resign? hmmmm.. i wonder if he will end up in hawker collecting tray since he is out of job now

Yes. Probably. Maybe. What jobs? for all I know, you also guessing.

Children get separate conversations. Today focus on tray return.

If everytime, I want to teach them value lesson and they ask me what have I done myself? They get a tight slap. You understand right? That you deserve a tight slap. [laugh]

Yes. Probably. Maybe. What jobs? for all I know, you also guessing.

Children get separate conversations. Today focus on tray return.

If everytime, I want to teach them value lesson and they ask me what have I done myself? They get a tight slap. You understand right? That you deserve a tight slap. [laugh]

dun slap me!

i only talk about the industry needs and labour issue, i let the other to talk about why the tray returning is a good campaign, no need to worry about these old uncles and aunties will lose their job, cos it will take 20 years before the campaign is successful :D

I think toileting and tray return are separate issues.

Who do you see with much much more disapproval - someone who smear toilet bowl with feces or someone who did not return the tray?

But your point on mature society is interesting. Which mature society has an army of old aunties/uncles doing this type of work? Must answer this first.

i beg to differ..they're the same issue..both are dirtying a particular place and makes no different whatsoever its a toilet or a food centre..and it reflects on the society as large

by the way..I've always said that SG is still a 3rd world country(and not yet a mature society)..and while sinkies are slowly progressing..the majority at large are still stuck in their 3rd world mentality and behavior and thus not a mature society as yet

korea return tray system very good. singapore should copy from them.

When you reach the return tray area.

a) Throw away the leftover into the dustbin

b) Box 1 - for cultery

c) Box 2 - for plates/bowl

d) Box 3 - cups

d) empty tray leave it on the moving conveyor belt and someone (inside the kitchen) will retrieve and clean it.

korea return tray system very good. singapore should copy from them.

When you reach the return tray area.

a) Throw away the leftover into the dustbin

b) Box 1 - for cultery

c) Box 2 - for plates/bowl

d) Box 3 - cups

d) empty tray leave it on the moving conveyor belt and someone (inside the kitchen) will retrieve and clean it.

yeah, this is already very common in other countries like Taiwan where the green awareness are much stronger in Singapore. In some European countries, the garbage collector will refuse to collect your trash in future if you fail to segregate your trash correctly. This is how people takes environment so seriously.

Reading overseas case studies portray Singapore like a developing country as far as the green movement is concerned - it is only at infancy stage.

This is also partially because our policies are tuned to pursue economic growth relentlessly for the past few years that they neglected other aspects of the society.

They only realize when basic mechanisms that have been supporting this country started to fall apart.

Even Sinya the lion has given up hope. <_<

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130

I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers.

Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table.

Otherwise I am not for tray return for now.

Anyone disagree?

Few things the customers could do, but obviously not compulsory:-

A. Say a genuine thank you, with a genuine smile, to the uncle or aunts who clean the table for them

B. Or buy him/her some tidbits, or a cup of coffee, can of drink, etc to show their appreciations

C. Or help tidying the mess on the table a bit

D. Some other gestures of appreciation

In our society, the table clearers' job is hardly treated with dignity despite it being an honest and essential service. Maybe the above appreciations help one way or another [:)]

yeah, this is already very common in other countries like Taiwan where the green awareness are much stronger in Singapore. In some European countries, the garbage collector will refuse to collect your trash in future if you fail to segregate your trash correctly. This is how people takes environment so seriously.

Reading overseas case studies portray Singapore like a developing country as far as the green movement is concerned - it is only at infancy stage.

This is also partially because our policies are tuned to pursue economic growth relentlessly for the past few years that they neglected other aspects of the society.

They only realize when basic mechanisms that have been supporting this country started to fall apart.

Even Sinya the lion has given up hope. <_<

Jap, Kor, Taiwan are homogenous societies.

Here, influx of immigrants rampant leh.

Teach one today, 2 more will arrive tomorrow to defecate in the streets.

But there is only thing I consider worse than these jokers - our politicians and journalists who blame Singaporeans for this and that, perpetuating a low morale state that feeds on itself. :D