Air purifiers

So_nice

I'm using Novita Air Purifier NAP 501 and its working fine so far.. Effective in eliminating the haze in my room. Do note that there is a difference between hepa filter and true hepa filters. Happy Shopping bros!!

Most importantly is that there is not claim to be HEPA-like.

Most true HEPA are H13 and above.

But actually even the E10 ones are ok, just that they take more passes to clear the air.

HEPA filters, as defined by the DOE standard adopted by most American industries, remove at least 99.97% of airborne particles 0.3 micrometers (µm) in diameter. The filter's minimal resistance to airflow, or pressure drop, is usually specified around 300 pascals (0.044 psi) at its nominal flow rate.

The specification usually used in the European Union is the European Norm EN 1822:2009. It defines several classes of HEPA filters by their retention at the given most penetrating particle size (MPPS):

HEPA class retention (total) retention (local) E10 > 85% --- E11 > 95% --- E12 > 99.5% --- H13 > 99.95% > 99.75% H14 > 99.995% > 99.975% U15 > 99.9995% > 99.9975% U16 > 99.99995% > 99.99975% U17 > 99.999995% > 99.9999%

Today, a HEPA filter rating is applicable to any highly efficient air filter that can attain the same filter efficiency performance standards as a minimum and is equivalent to the more recent NIOSH N100 rating for respirator filters. The United States Department of Energy (DOE) has specific requirements for HEPA filters in DOE regulated applications. In addition, companies have begun using a marketing term known as "True HEPA" to give consumers assurance that their air filters are indeed certified to meet the HEPA standard.[4]

Products that claim to be "HEPA-type", "HEPA-like", "HEPA-style" or "99% HEPA" do not satisfy these requirements and may not have been tested in independent laboratories. Some of these sub-par quality filters may come reasonably close to HEPA filtration, while others will fall significantly short, making them truly inferior.[5]

U so worried about haze one hor.....it's a good idea to get one

Even if no air con, still need to close windows and on fan, u can on air cleaner at the same time too

Maybe will get one. But still find a bit wasted if closed windows and on fan, make the room so stuffy. If later open the window again, the room become dirty. Lol.

So expensive?

Must be the big one.

Anyway all these can be sort of DIY. Buy a cheaper filter then just cut it or duct tape it properly, not much difference.

Sadly, Dyson product are never cheap... Yes, the unit I got is the full size standing fan, and is using H13 grade HEPA (or some would call it true HEPA).

For those interested, more details can be found on Dyson website. http://www.dyson.com.sg/fans-and-purifiers/purifiers.aspx

Sadly, Dyson product are never cheap... Yes, the unit I got is the full size standing fan, and is using H13 grade HEPA (or some would call it true HEPA).

For those interested, more details can be found on Dyson website. http://www.dyson.com.sg/fans-and-purifiers/purifiers.aspx

I have a dyson small bladeless fan as well. Ha just that need to vaccum or clean the small openings at the base. Dust/dirt tends to clog up these openings

Most filter replacement for th air purifier are quite expensive at around $70. Do they have hepa filter in big pieces where we can cut them to shape and size and diy mount them back to the plastic frame?

those hepa filter almost don't have to change one

if you have prefitler before the hepa

hepa one just vacuum it can already

unless your one electrostatic type then have to change 2 months 3 months like that

I supposed most of us have not heard of this particular brand of Air purifier - "Germitrol" ... in fact, they called it Air Sterilizer as it kill germs on top of just filtering the air. Is a local product which I understood to be used in many clinics & hospitals, so can be considered clinical/hospital grade type.

http://germitrol.com/roomSolution.php

My sis-in-law managed to get one for her family & another 1 for my in-law during the last major haze outbreak in 2013... Pretty bulky & need to mount on trolley if you don't intend to leave it on a specific location. Not the quite type but is only reasonable that higher performance equate higher noise bah... just like performance tyres right [laugh]

You can order from TB. Maybe ask wussredxli nicely in EDMW, he should have the TB link.

But i think depth/thickness is the most important. length and width are the easiest to gaotim yourself.

Bought a Blueair 403 on Tuesday. Turned it on and let it run for 48hrs non-stop. Haze is gone today.

Singapore thanks you...

@ender I believe this is the link.

http://world.taobao.com/item/16533394255.htm?fromSite=main&spm=a1z0k.7385961.1997985097.d4918997.1ZJGRK&_u=h1veg8sl9079

But i never tried it before. He said u do need a few DIY tools.

Interesting, Thanks for digging out the link

Most importantly is that there is not claim to be HEPA-like.

Most true HEPA are H13 and above.

But actually even the E10 ones are ok, just that they take more passes to clear the air.

I am using the Novita Air Purifier NAP 501 as well, got it free from the milk powder promo some time back. It claims to be using the true HEPA filter and it does have pre filter. However is it effective, i dont know as once i close the windows there is no more hazy smell liao although its auto sensor still show red LED which means air is not clean.

Novita PuriClean Air Purifier NAP 501 comes in a classic timeless design to solve all air quality woes. With a built-in sensor, this delightful unit will diagnose and indicate the current air quality through the display of different colours while providing superior 5-step air purification. The washable mesh filter traps large particles in the air, while airborne germs and harmful volatile organic compounds (VOCs) are eliminated by reactive oxidants produced by the cool catalyst filter. Unpleasant odour is also absorbed by the granular activated carbon filter, and the True HEPA filter removes up to 99.97% of airborne allergens and germs. Finally, the advanced semi-permanent built-in ionizer diffuses over 20 million negative ions to eradicate airborne germs and allergens. NAP 501 is definitely a trusted choice for clean and fresh air!

I am using the Novita Air Purifier NAP 501 as well, got it free from the milk powder promo some time back. It claims to be using the true HEPA filter and it does have pre filter. However is it effective, i dont know as once i close the windows there is no more hazy smell liao although its auto sensor still show red LED which means air is not clean.

Haha how to test it, is to fart in front of the intake area LOL.

if it turns red, it's working hehe [laugh]

The novita works. CASE showed that right.

But the CASE study is quite lousy compared to the china studies. China due to their smog are actually a huge consumer market for air purifiers. Hence their consumer data is not bad if u can find it.

I believe a Philips air purifier did the best there for budget air purifiers (like sub xxx RMB. i think it was roughly around $200 SGD category)

Haha how to test it, is to fart in front of the intake area LOL.

if it turns red, it's working hehe [laugh]

The novita works. CASE showed that right.

But the CASE study is quite lousy compared to the china studies. China due to their smog are actually a huge consumer market for air purifiers. Hence their consumer data is not bad if u can find it.

I believe a Philips air purifier did the best there for budget air purifiers (like sub xxx RMB. i think it was roughly around $200 SGD category)

my fart very toxic, dont want to kill the filter :grin:

The study not done by not SPRING or PSB meh.