Heartlander Turbocharged December 15, 2016 Share December 15, 2016 Arrr....where to buy roast goose meat or roast duck meat har. Walk from TSS east to mongkok....go into their sub lanes parallel to nathan toad....walk until leg wana break. Lolll. Cannot find lei....I must be blind. Now sitting outside bossini see pplnwalking by. Wify go inside shopping. Haha. If you still near Jordan area, can try out this 新强记烧腊饭店 at 113 Shanghai Street. Chanced upon it last night when spotted a queue of local people outside the shop, so thought it must be good as the roasted birds looked really tempting. Realy was not disappointed. Ordered just the 200 hkd 1/2 roast goose for 2A2C as recommended by the assistant, really delicious and easy to chew. The layer of fat between the skin and meat is really heavenly. We just quietly enjoyed the meal till nothing left haha. I found out later that this place was featured in openrice, really worth a visit. One thing to note is that the place is not really upto our standard of cleanliness in that even the floor is abit slippery. But bear with it as the food is really something. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 16, 2016 Share December 16, 2016 Oh....thanks. Will check it out tonite. Have notice is very dry and cold here. Have not met with rain since arriving on 09th dec. This morning its 13 deg.... If you still near Jordan area, can try out this 新强记烧腊饭店 at 113 Shanghai Street. Chanced upon it last night when spotted a queue of local people outside the shop, so thought it must be good as the roasted birds looked really tempting. Realy was not disappointed. Ordered just the 200 hkd 1/2 roast goose for 2A2C as recommended by the assistant, really delicious and easy to chew. The layer of fat between the skin and meat is really heavenly. We just quietly enjoyed the meal till nothing left haha. I found out later that this place was featured in openrice, really worth a visit. One thing to note is that the place is not really upto our standard of cleanliness in that even the floor is abit slippery. But bear with it as the food is really something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 16, 2016 Share December 16, 2016 Oh....thanks. Will check it out tonite. Have notice is very dry and cold here. Have not met with rain since arriving on 09th dec. This morning its 13 deg.... I also lucky to be having sunny weather here throughout this trip. Yesterday was at Sai Kung, next 2 days would be in happiest place on earth. Kloop having promotion for 2-day tickets at only slightly higher price than single day ticket in case you not aware, can buy online on the spot. Enjoying the cold very much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lok666 5th Gear December 16, 2016 Share December 16, 2016 Arrr....where to buy roast goose meat or roast duck meat har. Walk from TSS east to mongkok....go into their sub lanes parallel to nathan toad....walk until leg wana break. Lolll. Cannot find lei....I must be blind. Now sitting outside bossini see pplnwalking by. Wify go inside shopping. Haha. Try looking for Guangdong Barbecue Restaurant, their roast goose and meat quite good. Other dishes like claypot mixed beef also not bad. Can find them at TST (Cameron or Ashley Road) and Mongkok (Argyle Street) - http://www.shootfirsteatlater.com/2012/07/23/dinner-at-guangdong-barbecue-restaurant/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 16, 2016 Share December 16, 2016 Hi guys Im back. stayed at Crown Plaza hotel nx to popcorn mall though a little off from the central area, nice room size stayed 36th floor drinking place on top floor not bad too Your crown plaze hotel is the one at Tseung Kwan O MTR? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic December 16, 2016 Share December 16, 2016 Your crown plaze hotel is the one at Tseung Kwan O MTR? ya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 Have booked Shamrock hotel for this trip. Acceptable 4-star hotel but location is definitely 5-star for convenience. Cheapest transfer fr hotel - A21 city bus has a stop directly opposite the hotel at Jordan MTR station. Cost only hkd 33 for adult. First time tried, quite comfortable and minimal walking involved Best location for food - the following are just located behind the hotel: Marks noodle, 新强记 roast meat, 许刘山 dessert, dim dim sum, pizza hut, macdonald, and many mnay other food joints that you hardly need to eat twice. I would think Royal Plaza is of better location for shopping at night streets like 通菜街 but getting there is just 3 or 4 stops if you take local bus with reference to google map. Taking train involve much more walking. Locating just beside Jordan station is good in that minimal transfer to get to most attraction such as Sai Kung and Hkdl. Overall quite satisfied with the service at the hotel despite it lacking a wow factor as it is not a classy one like Penisular. But things quite well run here. Will definitely consider to come back again. Royal Plaza feel much luxurious but the transfer needed to go around make the thought of staying there tiring. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 Have booked Shamrock hotel for this trip. Acceptable 4-star hotel but location is definitely 5-star for convenience. Cheapest transfer fr hotel - A21 city bus has a stop directly opposite the hotel at Jordan MTR station. Cost only hkd 33 for adult. First time tried, quite comfortable and minimal walking involved Best location for food - the following are just located behind the hotel: Marks noodle, 新强记 roast meat, 许刘山 dessert, dim dim sum, pizza hut, macdonald, and many mnay other food joints that you hardly need to eat twice. I would think Royal Plaza is of better location for shopping at night streets like 通菜街 but getting there is just 3 or 4 stops if you take local bus with reference to google map. Taking train involve much more walking. Locating just beside Jordan station is good in that minimal transfer to get to most attraction such as Sai Kung and Hkdl. Overall quite satisfied with the service at the hotel despite it lacking a wow factor as it is not a classy one like Penisular. But things quite well run here. Will definitely consider to come back again. Royal Plaza feel much luxurious but the transfer needed to go around make the thought of staying there tiring. Stayed in Shamrock 3 yrs back and yes, the location is great but I find the rooms are really tiny! More akin to hotel 81 size but cost abt 130 SGD per night... and for those with small kids need prams or elderly need wheelchair, its hard work climbing up n down the stairs to the MTR. Service wise nothing to shout about, and the place looks dark and old fashioned ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 Stayed in Shamrock 3 yrs back and yes, the location is great but I find the rooms are really tiny! More akin to hotel 81 size but cost abt 130 SGD per night... and for those with small kids need prams or elderly need wheelchair, its hard work climbing up n down the stairs to the MTR. Service wise nothing to shout about, and the place looks dark and old fashioned ... I am not sure this hotel has recently undergone extensive renovation, as I am not seeing anything dark and old fashioned leh. What I see is same as the agoda pictures. Size wise I took the Deluxe which at 29sqm is comparable to most other higher-end hotels. Standard rooms at 15sqm is definitely smaller, but you get what you pay for. One thing I definitely agree is the access to subway which take some effort. That is why I explore taking buses which is manageable using google map. Just use the navigation function with bus option. But it really depends on what you willing to compromise as there is no perfect hotels in the world. Those who stayed in Shamrock hotel lately has been giving excellent reviews. Go read the Agoda review pages if you want to know more. And some definitely echoed about the service standard. To be frank I just do not want you to miss out this gem just because of the negative experience you have 3 yrs ago. Any hotel within the vinicity would be great on the location factor. Would be an icing on the top if the Royal Plaza is located there. But life is always full of compromises. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 (edited) Have booked Shamrock hotel for this trip. Acceptable 4-star hotel but location is definitely 5-star for convenience. Cheapest transfer fr hotel - A21 city bus has a stop directly opposite the hotel at Jordan MTR station. Cost only hkd 33 for adult. First time tried, quite comfortable and minimal walking involved Best location for food - the following are just located behind the hotel: Marks noodle, æ°å¼ºè®° roast meat, 许åå±± dessert, dim dim sum, pizza hut, macdonald, and many mnay other food joints that you hardly need to eat twice. I would think Royal Plaza is of better location for shopping at night streets like éèè¡ but getting there is just 3 or 4 stops if you take local bus with reference to google map. Taking train involve much more walking. Locating just beside Jordan station is good in that minimal transfer to get to most attraction such as Sai Kung and Hkdl. Overall quite satisfied with the service at the hotel despite it lacking a wow factor as it is not a classy one like Penisular. But things quite well run here. Will definitely consider to come back again. Royal Plaza feel much luxurious but the transfer needed to go around make the thought of staying there tiring. Stayed at royal plaza. Good location. Choice of mong kok east mtr just behind the hotel or a short 5mins walk to prince edwards mtr. They have fantastic mtr system. But extremely crowded during peak hours. The free shuttle k5 goes to kowloon station for the fast train to the airport. Use optupus card for snr citizen @ 1/2 price. Child under 12 travel for free. Temple street nite market and ladies street damn bloody good shopping....enjoyed it thoroughly. But im back in spore liao....miss the weather....lol. Edited December 19, 2016 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 Stayed at royal plaza. Good location. Choice of mong kok east mtr just behind the hotel or a short 5mins walk to prince edwards mtr. They have fantastic mtr system. But extremely crowded during peak hours. The free shuttle k5 goes to kowloon station for the fast train to the airport. Use optupus card for snr citizen @ 1/2 price. Child under 12 travel for free. Temple street nite market and ladies street damn bloody good shopping....enjoyed it thoroughly. But im back in spore liao....miss the weather....lol. free shuttle is by the hotel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 Stayed at royal plaza. Good location. Choice of mong kok east mtr just behind the hotel or a short 5mins walk to prince edwards mtr. They have fantastic mtr system. But extremely crowded during peak hours. The free shuttle k5 goes to kowloon station for the fast train to the airport. Use optupus card for snr citizen @ 1/2 price. Child under 12 travel for free. Temple street nite market and ladies street damn bloody good shopping....enjoyed it thoroughly. But im back in spore liao....miss the weather....lol. Totalpy agree. Royal Plaza has been my number one choice as stayed in their family room for last 2 trips. The attached shopping mall heard is owned by Singaporeans, so good to support. And using the Airport Express train allow users to check in lugguages at Kowloon and Hong Kong station a day before departure so can go Airport with minimal carry-on bags. But this trip wanted somewhere more convenient so chose Shamrock. Infact i am paying abit more now. And with not much lugguages, taking A21 is very cheap and convenient. But would not mind going back Royal Plaza nxt visit haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 (edited) free shuttle is by the hotel? https://www.hongkongairport.com/eng/transport/to-from-airport/airport-express.html The official website will provide much more info. Edited December 19, 2016 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 Totalpy agree. Royal Plaza has been my number one choice as stayed in their family room for last 2 trips. The attached shopping mall heard is owned by Singaporeans, so good to support. And using the Airport Express train allow users to check in lugguages at Kowloon and Hong Kong station a day before departure so can go Airport with minimal carry-on bags. But this trip wanted somewhere more convenient so chose Shamrock. Infact i am paying abit more now. And with not much lugguages, taking A21 is very cheap and convenient. But would not mind going back Royal Plaza nxt visit haha. Hgk is not a bad place to do a annual visit. But must walk like siao.....hahA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 (edited) it does not help when you seek directions, the locals love to direct you to the longest and indirect directions. Eating is also very stressful... order too little (which can already be too much for Singaporeans), kena scoldings, eat too slow/long, also tio scoldings... Hgk is not a bad place to do a annual visit.But must walk like siao.....hahA Edited December 19, 2016 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 (edited) free shuttle is by the hotel?Its a free service for tourist. Bus k5 link about 4 to 5 hotels to kowloon station which is also the express train station to the airport. Different bus number cover different custer of hotels. I would say almost all major hotels have this bus link. Bus freq every 15 mins. Hotel to kowloon abt 15 mins Express train kowloon to airport abt 25 mins. Very fast and convenient. From hotel door step until the airport would take no more than 1hr. Edited December 19, 2016 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 (edited) it does not help when you seek directions, the locals love to direct you to the longest and indirect directions. Eating is also very stressful... order too little (which can already be too much for Singaporeans), kena scoldings, eat too slow/long, also tio scoldings... Ya...I have notice the not my job attitude is pretty strong there. Self centre culture very prevalent and obvious. Their car population in general very high tier. Bb cars like getz, jazz, altis, lancers hardly can see. A lot of high end cars like 7 seater mpv, audi, mers, bmw all over the place. But their taxis still using crown....lollllll. Saw a few white teslar.......damn chio sia!!!! Edited December 19, 2016 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 19, 2016 Share December 19, 2016 I like the food, scenery and weather of Hong Kong but I don't like the attitude of the service staff. So I rather go Japan for holiday. But for a nice hotel I recommend the Mira or Millennium. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...