Malaysia Ringgit Exchange Rate

seems like 2.8 in the papers.

but when i go JB ytd. mostly is 2.7 only leh.

money changer still stuck with the old rates so pass down to consumer until its used up.. something like petrol stockade..

Need to used up stock before new prices kicks in and take into account losses on the hedge

wah like that have to wait liao ... but money changer can average down ma by getting new stock

money changer still stuck with the old rates so pass down to consumer until its used up.. something like petrol stockade..

Need to used up stock before new prices kicks in and take into account losses on the hedge

wah like that have to wait liao ... but money changer can average down ma by getting new stock

They can average down and to be fair they do but up to a certain extent.

Can't expect the MC to be as quick as interbank but of course they will be when the price is in their favour [:p]

Money changers in JB alway display same rate, I think most display 2.70 yesterday. But if you ask, normally they will give a higher rate.

The exchange rate as shown in Sutera Mall yesterday afternoon was 2.75.

JB you have to know where to change RM to get the best rate. I nomally change at the one after shell station when we come out from JB custom. Beware, not the big car wash that side. Is the second narrow turn.Their rate are quite close to bank rate. Bank rate 2.8 they will give 2.78-2.79. Don't just look at the display. RM exchange rate keep on moving. They already lazy to change the sign board.

najib ... we support you ... keep up the good work ... everyday you're shuffling ...

post-7984-0-00445300-1438087600_thumb.png

It is indeed sad for those who paid most or full in cash to buy properties in Malaysia, during the last few years. Today, they are losing much of their investments in terms of currency.

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/keeping-calm-malaysia-lets-ringgit-210041634.html

A little better for those who bought mostly using loans. That may give some form of natural hedging/discount to previous purchase, provided not selling to secondary market in few years time.

Can consider using credit card.

I noticed the final rate is close to spot. The bank charges can be offset by the rebates they give.

Not going in anytime soon though.. Horrible traffic..

ahjib kor ... now that simi SPRM, PAC, MACC, IGP, simi simi investigation also cleared liao ...

please continue your hardwork to make 1:3 (sgd) and 1:4 (usd) ... we support you [thumbsup]

post-7984-0-09787400-1439200562_thumb.png

post-7984-0-47162100-1439200566_thumb.png

I believe this is one of those occassions where the credit cards can be better than the debit cards/cash payment.

Yup. A few occasions i noticed the rates seemed to be better than the money changers.

For example on the rebates, uob one was giving 5.33% for overseas spending, more than enough to cover the charges.

One thing to be careful of is to make sure the card is swiped in front of u.

Edited by Solar