Need some advice...

Swingarm

This is your family issue. I think you have to sort it out before deciding what to do anything further.

Going to the press is not a good idea. It's not that hdb is unwilling to help you, it's your dad who is unwilling to move. I doubt any MP or minister can help especially the policy maker. Breaking his own policy is quite impossible. They will go by the book they wrote.

Someone has got to make the sacrifice, willing or unwilling. I dunno what kinda ppl are your step-siblings but I won't want to comment on them. Best thing to do is to sit down and talk to all of them and sort it out.

Personally, suggest u convince your step dad to move in with you. He is an adult and is more than able to decide. Ultimately, his decision will be accepted by your step siblings if they see that he is determined and you will take good care of both parents.

The rental flat needs to be released back for the long queue waiting for it. It's only fair because the condition for you getting the new flat is the rental flat must be surrendered.

Am certain you do know what is the right step to take. Appealing to KBW etc etc is just giving yourselves time but seriously, I doubt the rules can be bent because the reasons are not beyond the involved parties making the right choice. You can of course try your luck lah.

Hope your step dad will decide to move in with you..... the step siblings may be worried that years later, should your mum pass on first, your step dad is left without a roof and they may not want or do not have the ability to look after him then. Please pardon the directness... no offence meant.

Safe ride

Edited by PSP415

Writing to Minister Khaw won't help much. He might empathise with you but can't possibly grant you an exception. He will have to think about others trying to exploit this loophole once the precedence is set.

HDB resale market is coming down. Latest report suggesting that some transactions were made with no COV. If you are not going for matured estates in demand, might be able to get a good deal. Try to get an unit near your parents, easier for them to take care of your kids and in the future, easier for you to take care of them.

Good luck.

If your appeal is successful, everyone will show start doing the same to get priority. My advice is simple, bring your parents down to hdb and have them explain whats going on and what you have to lose if your stepdad continues to be stubborn.

you need to resolve this asap, you are not only losing extra support but creating more issues.

you wife and kids welfare has to be in 1st priority, i understand how bad a women wanted a HOME for themselves.

As for your step-father, try to convince him or get your step-siblings to come to a solution, either move in with you or move in with the other sibling then consider other alternative.

I'm not sure why he agreed to move in with us during the application but to decline the offer when the time comes. He himself tell me that it is difficult for him to stay with his children. I thought that I'm the ONE that he can stay with. But times have changed. I guess I'm like the rest in his eyes.

Personally, suggest u convince your step dad to move in with you. He is an adult and is more than able to decide. Ultimately, his decision will be accepted by your step siblings if they see that he is determined and you will take good care of both parents.

The rental flat needs to be released back for the long queue waiting for it. It's only fair because the condition for you getting the new flat is the rental flat must be surrendered.

Am certain you do know what is the right step to take. Appealing to KBW etc etc is just giving yourselves time but seriously, I doubt the rules can be bent because the reasons are not beyond the involved parties making the right choice. You can of course try your luck lah.

Hope your step dad will decide to move in with you..... the step siblings may be worried that years later, should your mum pass on first, your step dad is left without a roof and they may not want or do not have the ability to look after him then. Please pardon the directness... no offence meant.

Safe ride

None taken. I just hope and pray that it will go through.

Have a heart to heart talk with him. His children may have told him that once he move in with you, he will be subject to a future of uncertainties.... especially losing his own current roof, even though rented, it's still legally sublet to him per se. Old people have their genuine concerns and worries, and frankly, it boils down to whether he is convinced you are willing too really look after him like family.

If persuasion fails and he insists on staying put, you need to consider resale flat (very short waiting time).... near your parents so perhaps can apply for grants or wait another 2-3 years again to try for another bto. It is dicey because beyond the financial loss, you now risk being very upset with your step dad for a long spell.... Hope it will not come to this stage.

Old people can be difficult to live with, so tons of patience and understanding is required. Do be prepared should things turn for the better.

Good luck! May your prayers be answered according to your heart's desire.

Safe ride

Complicated situation you are in.

On the surface, the others may think that you were just using your parents to get ahead in the BTO q. So very difficult for an exception to be made as it will be used as a precedence for others.

Guess, you'll have to try to convince them & siblings.

Yes, there are penalties, my deposit of 5% and stamp fee will be forfeited.

I have tried that trick. But looking at his sad face, I'm dis-heartened..

Bro....as much as you dishearten, I think you also need to be fair to the system.

HDB grants you a quicker path and a new flat because you indicate that you would have your parents staying together. That's the very key criteria in granting the new scheme .Now you could not fulfil your side of the bargain and you want HDB to accomodate your issues? Do you know that if they make exceptions for you, there will be hundreds more that they will have to make exceptions over various family and personal issues.

Your solution is not difficult. Just tell your in-laws that due to the new house, the gov. is taking back their rental flat and they have no choice but to move. The movers will be coming on which date and tell them to get ready. I assume you have already tried other methods like telling them how nice or convenient the new place and so on.

30-40 years ago, it is far more difficult to move the old folks from their Kampung into HDB yet most did it. Today, it should be a far more easier task. You just need to be strong and put your heart into it. If you get sway by your wife, your siblings-in-law, your kids, your neighbours, etc....things will never get done.

Anyway is yours Married Child Priority Scheme or Married Child Parents Scheme? I cant find any information on Parents Scheme.

Extracted from HDB website: MCPS (near parents/married child), your parents or married child have to live in the same estate or within two kilometres from the flat for a period of five years

They have to return the rental flat based on this scheme? Full details which i extracted from HDB.

Married Child Priority Scheme (MCPS)

This scheme encourages married children and parents to reside together, or within the same estate or neighbouring estate to foster care of aged parents.

Courting couples applying for a flat under the Fiancé/Fiancée (FS) Scheme can also eligible for this scheme.

Eligible applicants will be given more chances in the ballot, than those who are not applying to live near parents/married child:

Type of Applicant
Near Parents/Married Child
With Parents/Married Child

Married Child Priority Scheme (First-Timer)

Married Child Priority Scheme (Second-Timer)

For the sale of DBSS flats, developers will have the flexibility in applying the different priority schemes. The priority scheme will be available during the initial project launch.

You may request to be considered for this scheme if at least one of the parents/married child is a Singapore Permanent Resident or Singapore Citizen and

• they are owners or occupiers of an HDB flat located within the same town or within two kilometres of the flat that you are applying for; or
  • they are tenants or occupiers of a flat rented from the HDB located within the same town or within two kilometres of the flat that you are applying for; or
  • they own and occupy a private property located within the same town or within two kilometres of the flat that you are applying for; or
  • they are included in your flat application to live together with you.

5-Year Occupation Period

If you book an apartment under the MCPS (near parents/married child), your parents or married child have to live in the same estate or within two kilometres from the flat for a period of five years. This period of five years starts from the date of your taking possession of the new flat.

If you book an apartment under the MCPS (with parents/married child), your parents or married child have to live in the same flat for a period of five years. This period of five years starts from the date of your taking possession of the new flat.

Edited by Dafansu

Mine is MCPS - Married Child Priority Scheme, I have moved into my BTO and my dad is still staying at his house, never return to HDB. Unless for rental flats it works differently.

I told him about the forfeit. I told him that if he were to move in with us, I can save on the household expenses as I need to only pay 1 house. Oh another factor that i forget to include with regards to his firm decision is his children, which is my step-siblings, do not allow him to move with me.

Thanks for the encouragement. This issue have made my wife goes into depression among other reasons.

Step father? If the step siblings all refuse.. why dont u ask the step siblings to pay for the expenses since you mentioned you are the one paying for the expenses...

The one who pay $$, talk loudest.. The rest.. you can go and ask them to f**k off if they dont chip in $$. As for your step father, just tell him. HDB die die want him to move out. If he dont follow u, he can sleep under the void deck or beach or park or under the bridge ..or better still go back to his children loh

That is the real world bro... If u are so soft hearted, I dont think you can get what you want... Sometimes, you have to be mean in order to make pple give way to you..

Step father? If the step siblings all refuse.. why dont u ask the step siblings to pay for the expenses since you mentioned you are the one paying for the expenses...

The one who pay $$, talk loudest.. The rest.. you can go and ask them to f--k off if they dont chip in $$. As for your step father, just tell him. HDB die die want him to move out. If he dont follow u, he can sleep under the void deck or beach or park or under the bridge ..or better still go back to his children loh

That is the real world bro... If u are so soft hearted, I dont think you can get what you want... Sometimes, you have to be mean in order to make pple give way to you..

agree with you to a certain extend, it will cause unhappiness and tension with the wife too [:(]

If at the start they said have to return the rental flat and that is why you got the queue number, then I doubt they will approve your appeal. If not everyone will start doing that and appeal when its time to collect the keys.

pls consider properly before getting a resale flat. If I remember correctly, you only can pay for a certain amt and a certain period with CPF.. In future, you need to pay with cash...

Thats part of the reasons too. But with that, I need to pay for 2 households rather than 1.

Yes, I've tried to convince them. Some of them says its a good idea, while others says its good that they have their own space.

Is your step-father working ?

If he is, let him stay with you for a few years then apply the 2-room flat at Punggol or Sengkang areas (PM said one, salary $1000/- can buy 2 room flat during National Day rally). [sly]

agree with you to a certain extend, it will cause unhappiness and tension with the wife too [:(]

Agree... Better settle with sensitivity.

If I'm your wife, I'll be very TULAN. Cos kena play out by the parents.

So really make sense to really convince them. Cos Hell hath no fury of a woman scorned!! Otherwise your relationship will be strained to some extent.

better offend stepdad then wife.

Man more easy to settle

Hi Forumers,

My wife and I have applied for a BTO flat somewhere in 2010, during that time, the supply was low and the demand was huge. So they came out a scheme called MCPS (married child parents scheme). Before this scheme, I have tried about 10x to get a successful Q no. I decided to bring my parents along as I'm the sole contributor to their expenses. They are staying in a rental flat. During the application I have voiced out that the rental flat will be returned to hdb when the BTO flat is ready to move in and they agree.

3yrs pass and finally I'm going to get my own flat. When I told them that I'm about to collect the key, my step-father said that he is too attached to the current house and wishes to stay there. In respect to his decision, I called hdb and ask if I can remove my parents from the occupier name but was told that if i did not include their name in the first place, I would not get a Q number. So I decided to meet the MP and at the same time try my very best to persuade my step-father to move in with us. The appeal through MP did not go through and my step-father is still firm in his decision of not moving. Please note that me and my parents are in good terms and I have been paying for their expenses and accomodation.

I'm now staying with my in-laws 4-room flat for 6yrs and we are cramp in 1 room as I have a child and expecting another end of this year. So the flat really meant alot to us. I have ask HDB to reconsider my appeal and pray for the best.

MP has proposed that we applied for a new BTO, but that means we have to wait for 2-3yrs more.

Open market is not a good choice as we do not have the luxury of spending large amount of cash.

What are my options? I'm thinking of writing to khaw boon wan or even the press but since its my parents that caused this problem, I holding back.

I think you should be firm with your step-dad and carry on with the purchase if you really want it so badly.

Tell him life is almost always about compromises and you almost always (99.9999999%) do not get what you want. Don't bring in the fact that you're paying for everything - non confrontational. Tell him how much it means to you to have a place of your own and the troubles you will face if you don't. Ask your mum for help if required.

Jesus the audacity of someone to insist on staying when he's not even paying :D