320i engine potential

slickshifters

exotic exhaust note and no drone is mutually exclusive

want vroom vroom sound must endure droning ... lol

exotic exhaust note and no drone is mutually exclusive

want vroom vroom sound must endure droning ... lol

Akrapovic got remote control to close the valve mah....

Actually yeah lor... Nice exhaust sound always comes with drone unless you leave the centre muffler on, in which case the sound not so nice liao.

Even Akra is from 335 onwards. I think ppl still don't understand there is no replacement for displacement.

So far I still haven't found any aftermarket exhaust that can replicate 6.2L V8 AMG cock standing exhaust sound... The rumour is that they programmed the engine to squirt some oil into the exhaust to create the thunderous noise... Hahahaha siao man...

Hey maybe the guys who modify the 320i can recreate the AMG sound, since they are so tekong hahahaha

• Dislike 1

From http://www.bimmerfest.com/news/670647/f30-320i-vs-328i-engines--part-number-comparison/

With the roll out of the new entry level F30 320i BMW has kicked off a wave of discussion. Most interestingly the 320i and 328i both use the award winning N20; TwinPower single turbo, twin scroll, 2.0 liter inline 4 cylinder engine as the 328i. However the 320i is factory rated at 180 hp at 5,000 RPMs and 200 lb-ft of torque from 1,250 RPMs. On the other hand the 328i comes with 240hp at 5000 RPMs and 255 lb-ft of torque from 1250 RPMs. What happened to the missing 60 horses and 50 lf-ft of power if both cars are N20 powered?

The first obvious answer is something in BMW's DME control software that limits the power, most likely by limiting boost pressure, on the 320i. That appears to be true as both the 320 and the 328 use the same DME hardware (PN - 12148604210) and the same engine control system MEVD 17.2.9. With confirmation their is a software tweak to limit power on the 320i we go in search of other changes that might limit the 320is ability to make the same power the 328i N20 puts down.

The next easy target is the intake, exhaust manifold and turbo. Surprisingly they turned out to be the same part number. In fact the 320i and the 328i share almost the exact same part numbers for all the major engine components.

Shared engine components between F30 320i and 328i

• Cylinder head - PN 11127624778
  • Connecting rods - PN 11247624616
  • Crankshaft - PN 11212212762
  • Intake manifold - PN 11617588126
  • Air box - PN 13717597589
  • Air filter - PN 13718507320
  • Intercooler - PN 17517618809
  • Radiator - PN 17117600520
  • Throttle body - PN 13547588625
  • HPFP - PN 13517584461
  • MAF - PN 13627602038
  • DME/ECU - PN 12148604210
  • Exhaust manifold/turbo - PN 11657642469
See what is missing in the above list? The difference in the 320i and the 328i is the pistons. While both have a 10:1 compression ratio the 320i has a different part numbers for the pistons then the 328i. What that exactly means in terms of the ability to boost the turbo pressure and get 328 power from your 320 is not yet known.

Stay tuned as we continue to sift through BMW's technical documents searching for an answer.

Of course this is US spec cars being compared. But my point is alot of parts are pretty similar. Gear ratios might be different though.

I beg to differ. This is a pretty sport car. Driving comes before comfort.

If this is a pretty sport car, what car is Porker's car? Hhhmmmm.....

KNS. This thread also kenna junk by ballless person.

Muayhahahahahaa!

To each his own lah..

My neighbour mod his 320i to 328i and he is very happy with his "work". He can obviously afford the additional $$$ for the 328i but he choose to spend his money differently.

IMHO, to deduce that someone modding a 320i to 328i cannot afford a 328i is shallow.

Whats the price difference by the way?

Lastly, this is a luxury car. Not some tiong car le.

320i Luxury? Sure or not David?

• Dislike 1

camry is super luxury in spore but in australia, it's a cheapo car ... lol

320i owner in spore go to usa and see porky 911 carrera will shout sibei cheap (usd$90k) ... can buy with cash no loan ... hehe

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/driving-ambition

A Toyota Camry 2.5 now costs a whopping $284,000 with certificate of entitlement (COE), a year of road tax and insurance.

In Malaysia, the same car is a quarter of that price, about RM180,900 (S$71,000) and in Australia, it is even less, only about A$34,300 (S$40,200).

Anyone know how much can i push out of the BMW 320i turbo engine? I am guessing it can go much further than the output of 245hp from the 328i...

Sorry, I know nothing about the actual engines but have a few questions.

Are the injectors in the 320 the same as the 328?

What about the fuel pump?

Is the turbo the same size (both on the outside as well as the turbine wheels)?

Are the engine internals the same?

Sorry, I know nothing about the actual engines but have a few questions.

Are the injectors in the 320 the same as the 328?

What about the fuel pump?

Is the turbo the same size (both on the outside as well as the turbine wheels)?

Are the engine internals the same?

Yes, all the same, except for pistons. And it is not because the 328i needs strengthened piston, but because the compression ratio is reduced on the 328i to cater for the higher turbo boost (11:0 vs 10:1). I suspect this is to make sure that 328i has no problem with 95 ron.

Stock 320i is about 0.5 bar, stock 328i is about 1 bar.

Actually, there are 20i that are running the exact same engine (and pistons) as the 28i...you need the low compression option, S858A, IIRC.

As for how to tell if your engine is high or lower compression version, refer to:

http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/bmw-singapore-motoring-life/80952-how-you-can-tell-whether-your-n20-20i-28i-engine-10-1-11-1-compression.html

the price difference between 328i vs 320i not just for the piston only la

328i tend to be equiped with better gadgets and specs

ie: larger idrive screen, reverse camera, soft close, high beem assist, sport steering, etc

one should compare spec-vs-spec and not just 184bhp/270Nm vs 245bhp/350Nm

Camry is luxury ma...more comfortable than e class and 5 series not considered luxury meh?

With enough plasticky interior similar to some items you may find at toys r us, the Camry cannot be consider luxury. Nope. Cannot

At that price, not luxury meh???

:P

At whatever price still cannot.

A 320i is simply not luxurious.....

Sorry, i must disagree here

Edited by Throttle2

camry is super luxury in spore but in australia, it's a cheapo car ... lol

320i owner in spore go to usa and see porky 911 carrera will shout sibei cheap (usd$90k) ... can buy with cash no loan ... hehe

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/driving-ambition

Wow!! We can all be Throttle2 in Australia! Hehe

With enough plasticky interior similar to some items you may find at toys r us, the Camry cannot be consider luxury. Nope. Cannot

Luxury car must have jacuzzi, massage chair, gold plated toilet bowl, otherwise don't deserve to be called luxury car!

Luxury is not when you are surrounded by merino leather with individual wood trim option and the super chio B&O tweeter, only to have fatigue set into the occupants from engine noise and tyre roar, while "feeling the road" and crashing through every expansion joint on the expressway. Luxury is when the seats are comfortable for the driver and the other 3 passengers, and the car let them arrive at a destination comfortable, fresh, and awake, because the journey was simply just like a ride on their home sofa.

IMO, the camry does these much better than many of our mainstream conti way above its league, such as the s80, e-class, 5er, and 7er. Too poor to look at the real atas brands such as the one with the spirit.

Perhaps because I am a shortie, I also appreciate rear seats that allows me to actually see what is happening outside through the rear door windows, either because the windows are big enough or the rear seats are adjustable, or simply because the seat height to window height is the right ratio to begin with.

Yes, all the same, except for pistons. And it is not because the 328i needs strengthened piston, but because the compression ratio is reduced on the 328i to cater for the higher turbo boost (11:0 vs 10:1). I suspect this is to make sure that 328i has no problem with 95 ron.

Stock 320i is about 0.5 bar, stock 328i is about 1 bar.

Actually, there are 20i that are running the exact same engine (and pistons) as the 28i...you need the low compression option, S858A, IIRC.

As for how to tell if your engine is high or lower compression version, refer to:

http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/bmw-singapore-motoring-life/80952-how-you-can-tell-whether-your-n20-20i-28i-engine-10-1-11-1-compression.html

Pistons are fairly important actually. I wouldn't dare crank boost up too much with such a high compression ratio, at least not without a fairly rich tune. However assuming it can make the power gains to match, then to the next weakest links. The transmission and driveline. Are the gearbox, driveshaft, and diff the same too?

Luxury is not when you are surrounded by merino leather with individual wood trim option and the super chio B&O tweeter, only to have fatigue set into the occupants from engine noise and tyre roar, while "feeling the road" and crashing through every expansion joint on the expressway. Luxury is when the seats are comfortable for the driver and the other 3 passengers, and the car let them arrive at a destination comfortable, fresh, and awake, because the journey was simply just like a ride on their home sofa.

IMO, the camry does these much better than many of our mainstream conti way above its league, such as the s80, e-class, 5er, and 7er. Too poor to look at the real atas brands such as the one with the spirit.

Perhaps because I am a shortie, I also appreciate rear seats that allows me to actually see what is happening outside through the rear door windows, either because the windows are big enough or the rear seats are adjustable, or simply because the seat height to window height is the right ratio to begin with.

Engine noise ? Tyre roar? ....??. Are you sure you know what you are talkin about?

What you have described is more simply comfort not luxury. luxury is beyond simple comfort.

It extends to senses of touch, smell, sight above those things you mention.

Otherwise,the daihatsu sirion that i rented Down UnDer will be considered luxury too.

Merino leather may not have a prerequisite but luxury does hve some minimum, or some base standards. Which is whythe 320i as i mention is by no means considered luxury.

Unless you are talking in terms of some real third world country which is out of context here.

The Camry is not a bad car, in fact its a pretty good car, and so it the 320i but you obviously havent really driven or been driven in any of those contenders you mentioned. If simple comfort is all you seek, any proper well built >2l jap sedan will do the job.

I am often chaffuered in a 2.4camry or an E200 when on biz trips. Both nothing to shout about but its very clear which one i prefer and why. Yes proper leather seats is a MUST.

Edited by Throttle2
  • Dislike 1

I think many of you may be mixing up price of car in Singapore and linking it simply to Luxury.

While price and luxury are clearly correlated. There is more to it . Otherwise a truck would also be luxury....muayhahahahahahahaha

• Dislike 2

Whoever junk me for this post anonymously got no balls.

because they not happy u picha their lobang. i guess i should be getting some junks as well [laugh] [laugh]

Wow!! We can all be Throttle2 in Australia! Hehe

Luxury car must have jacuzzi, massage chair, gold plated toilet bowl, otherwise don't deserve to be called luxury car!

must include XMM or not? [sly]