Skymax 5th Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 The ultimate sports sedan for me that is value for money is the EVO X SST. Why not the legacy GT? Among these two, I'll take Lexus. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 lexus for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 If $ not an issue and you want a BMW, then might as well get an M3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 (edited) The current BMW 320i is definitely not underpowered. It does not have a very high power output but there is a lot of torque from the turbo engine. The IS250 on the other hand feels quite sluggish because the V6 engine has very little torque at low revs. Additionally, the BMW automatic gearbox is far more efficient and responsive than the Lexus one. Edited November 15, 2013 by Paddie 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 The Leg Room for the Rear Passengers for both cars can be very tight … Unless you seldom have rear passengers, I suggest you look for another option ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
slickshifters 2nd Gear November 15, 2013 Author Share November 15, 2013 The current BMW 320i is definitely not underpowered. It does not have a very high power output but there is a lot of torque from the turbo engine. The IS250 on the other hand feels quite sluggish because the V6 engine has very little torque at low revs. Additionally, the BMW automatic gearbox is far more efficient and responsive than the Lexus one. That is what i felt too when i tested both cars. Am actually surprised to see many others thinking that the lexus is the faster car. If you rev the lexus all the way it is pretty good too but day to day driving, the NA V6 is less punchy to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 That is what i felt too when i tested both cars. Am actually surprised to see many others thinking that the lexus is the faster car. If you rev the lexus all the way it is pretty good too but day to day driving, the NA V6 is less punchy to me. I suspect a lot of the opinions here are made based on hearsay. And also maybe the memories of the old, non turbo 320i (which WAS underpowered). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 (edited) Lexus for me as well. Looks nicer plus 320i getting too common on the road already. Everywhere you go sure can see many of them. yes, i agree. few of my frens the moment they can stretch and afford a 3-series, they quickly get one..... this model is getting too atas-bengish..... just one small step above bengish. want to go atas, get the 5- or 6-series, else dont waste time pretending coz people know the upgraders just barely make it no offence to 3--series bros there hor... IS250 is reliable and yet pretty close to 3-series in many areas. the front grille's aethetics is a very personal preference, i have no issue with it The Leg Room for the Rear Passengers for both cars can be very tight … Unless you seldom have rear passengers, I suggest you look for another option ... how tight is tight at the rear? if a lady sits there, will she have to open her legs else her knee caps poke the passenger/driver's back in front thru the front seat back cushion? Go 3GT bro or else go for lexus you already made up your mind for next change? can i be your passenger when it comes? we go phutek using 2nd link then NSHW to the north border!! ............. i mean phuket Edited November 15, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtfsl Neutral Newbie November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 definitely 320i..... buying a car at this category is the feel of the drive that you are looking for .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 For RWD car, rear leg room is usually tight. Lexus is definitely even tighter as it tries to make drive shaft relatively straight. For both cars, it is not consider sports saloon unless it is equipped with either M sports or F sports. if 1 is into drive or mod, F30 M sports is the choice. Otherwise, juz take IS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 (edited) Ppl say 320i underpowered but underpowered car still faster to 100km/h. With room to boost up too. eg: Hartge power tune (ecu/chip): +34HP / +50Nm (320Nm is pretty good imo) on paper 320i ($231,800)Power 184 bhpTorque 270 NmAcceleration 7.6s (0-100 km/h)Top speed 233 km/his250 ($240,000)Power 208 bhpTorque 252 NmAcceleration 8.1s (0-100 km/h)Top speed 225 km/h Go drive both. Both have different feel.I tried both. BMW is the more sporty drive, Lexus is the more comfortable cruiser. It's up to your own preference. Edited November 15, 2013 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 yes, i agree. few of my frens the moment they can stretch and afford a 3-series, they quickly get one..... this model is getting too atas-bengish..... just one small step above bengish. want to go atas, get the 5- or 6-series, else dont waste time pretending coz people know the upgraders just barely make it no offence to 3--series bros there hor... IS250 is reliable and yet pretty close to 3-series in many areas. the front grille's aethetics is a very personal preference, i have no issue with it how tight is tight at the rear? if a lady sits there, will she have to open her legs else her knee caps poke the passenger/driver's back in front thru the front seat back cushion? you already made up your mind for next change? can i be your passenger when it comes? we go phutek using 2nd link then NSHW to the north border!! ............. i mean phuket Yes but that will be like end of next year, probably will go for 2nd hand if any as coe price really too high already. Phuket? Haha no need i just take plane better so tiring drive so many hours lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 Ppl say 320i underpowered but underpowered car still faster to 100km/h. Exactly. I cannot understand how anyone can think that a car which accelerates from 0-100 in under 8 seconds can be considered underpowered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 Alamak, this has been discussed umpteen times....next! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 (edited) Yes but that will be like end of next year, probably will go for 2nd hand if any as coe price really too high already. Phuket? Haha no need i just take plane better so tiring drive so many hours lol good news for you, when you land at Phuket airport, I will use your newly acquired beemer to fetch you from airport to beach hotel!!! I will pay for petrol+tolls driving the car all the way from sg to Phuket, just for you!! interior buay pai!!! Exactly. I cannot understand how anyone can think that a car which accelerates from 0-100 in under 8 seconds can be considered underpowered. its relative, if the car is tested against faster cars ts is considering buying, why not? Edited November 15, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imaginary 1st Gear November 16, 2013 Share November 16, 2013 Also depends whether you prefer a smooth v6 or a turbo 4-cyclinder. Over at bmwsg, some people dislike the taxi-like "tiak tiak" sound from the engine as well as the poor wind noise insulation. Aesthetically, the 3 series looks better though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TMR11 Clutched November 16, 2013 Share November 16, 2013 Get a bimmer . You'll never look back . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...