Angcheek Hypersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 aiya. end of the day, every career move has its special circumstances that only you will know. take or dun take every role got pro and con. sometimes i think i just go tua pek gong temple take a qian and let him decide sua. lol there is a Master in Yishun that can tell you alot ........very zhun . Ya..... when the Kra Canal build, keppel maybe got no more bonus .... why ? u work for keppel or PSA ? hahah ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 How old is the guy in mackinsey? 34. My sec sch classmate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 wah ... 34 made $250k per annum no wonder coe no $70k no talk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadistmeal 1st Gear May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 (edited) yeah. Moving for 10% is low. But need to look at other factors too. Benefits . Long term progression . Bonus. Coy prospects . I also facing same dilemma I have been job hunting for close to 5 months. Most recruiters will tell you that 10 to 15% is the normal. Anything above that they will think you are crazy. There are pros and cons of jumping ship. You have to prove yourself from scratch, first year increment and bonus are pro-rated, etc. But for me, my current role has limited prospects...so no choice but to jump ship although the company is good. First world problem. Edited May 29, 2015 by Sadistmeal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 don't bother with keppel lah bonus good. but basic low and shitty job. go bank or consultancy better. i know a guy in mackinsey. my age, engagement manager about 250k per annum. think few more yr he make partner then bee tang liao. lol McKinsey is one of the best strategy consulting firms around so $250k pa salaries for engagement managers isn't surprising at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 I have been job hunting for close to 5 months. Most recruiters will tell you that 10 to 15% is the normal. Anything above that they will think you are crazy. There are pros and cons of jumping ship. You have to prove yourself from scratch, first year increment and bonus are pro-rated, etc. But for me, my current role has limited prospects...so no choice but to jump ship although the company is good. First world problem. You still hunting for job now after 5 months? Job seekers always want at least 10% or more when they jump ship to another company. But for employer, they don't offer you salary based on 10% or more on your last drawn salary. They just simply pay you $100-$300 more according to your last drawn salary! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadistmeal 1st Gear May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 You still hunting for job now after 5 months? Job seekers always want at least 10% or more when they jump ship to another company. But for employer, they don't offer you salary based on 10% or more on your last drawn salary. They just simply pay you $100-$300 more according to your last drawn salary! Haha...yeah but finally jumped ship recently...after interviewing with 10 or 11 companies I think. Yes, a lot of companies will ask for your current salary but so far I've not encountered the '$100-$300 more' kind. Or rather, I've not even reached the offer stage so I wouldn't know haha. But from my interaction with recruitment companies, they do share the clients' budgets and they are usually 10 to 15%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 I have been job hunting for close to 5 months. Most recruiters will tell you that 10 to 15% is the normal. Anything above that they will think you are crazy. There are pros and cons of jumping ship. You have to prove yourself from scratch, first year increment and bonus are pro-rated, etc. But for me, my current role has limited prospects...so no choice but to jump ship although the company is good. First world problem. thats bulls**t. the recruiter is just trying to close a fast deal. just like that property agent that tells to you sell below market rate when selling and bid above market rate when buying. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 You still hunting for job now after 5 months? Job seekers always want at least 10% or more when they jump ship to another company. But for employer, they don't offer you salary based on 10% or more on your last drawn salary. They just simply pay you $100-$300 more according to your last drawn salary! not so bad lah. 1-300? even fresh grads also won't bite lor McKinsey is one of the best strategy consulting firms around so $250k pa salaries for engagement managers isn't surprising at all. yeah. but given that they take in the best and brightest. and every year up or out. most of the partners are in their 30s. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 (edited) No wonder I see so many positions get recycled in the available pool. You can easily recognise them. Only one opening, but the real employer advertise, few agencies advertise, every week refresh, every month refresh, next quarter still looking for that "superman" or "wonderwoman". I have reverse experience of not getting that job due to putting too low the expected salary. I have been job hunting for close to 5 months. Most recruiters will tell you that 10 to 15% is the normal. Anything above that they will think you are crazy. There are pros and cons of jumping ship. You have to prove yourself from scratch, first year increment and bonus are pro-rated, etc. But for me, my current role has limited prospects...so no choice but to jump ship although the company is good. First world problem. Edited May 29, 2015 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 yeah. that's true. alot of repeat post of the same role by different agencies. quite stupid. No wonder I see so many positions get recycled in the available pool. You can easily recognise them. Only one opening, but the real employer advertise, few agencies advertise, every week refresh, every month refresh, next quarter still looking for that "superman" or "wonderwoman". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadistmeal 1st Gear May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 (edited) No wonder I see so many positions get recycled in the available pool. You can easily recognise them. Only one opening, but the real employer advertise, few agencies advertise, every week refresh, every month refresh, next quarter still looking for that "superman" or "wonderwoman". I have reverse experience of not getting that job due to putting too low the expected salary. Haha...yeah I applied to company X directly and after going for an interview, an agency calls me a week later and says "I've got a role for you...the company's name is X" Edited May 29, 2015 by Sadistmeal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadistmeal 1st Gear May 29, 2015 Share May 29, 2015 No wonder I see so many positions get recycled in the available pool. You can easily recognise them. Only one opening, but the real employer advertise, few agencies advertise, every week refresh, every month refresh, next quarter still looking for that "superman" or "wonderwoman". I have reverse experience of not getting that job due to putting too low the expected salary. Haha...yeah I applied to company X directly and after going for an interview, an agency calls me a week and says "I've got a role for you...the company's name is X" thats bulls**t. the recruiter is just trying to close a fast deal. just like that property agent that tells to you sell below market rate when selling and bid above market rate when buying. I agree. Better they close the deal with the client at lower asking salary and they earn less commission than risk asking for too high for me and can't close the deal = no commission Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 6, 2018 Share February 6, 2018 (edited) anyone ever rejected a salary increment ? can we do that ? tell the boss don't ? Edited February 6, 2018 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 6, 2018 Share February 6, 2018 anyone ever rejected a salary increment ? can we do that ? tell the boss don't ?But if boss give you more responsibilities but you don't want the increment, worth it? Somemore now the company has the budget to increase your salary, why say no? If next time you want increment, you may not get what you want because budget constraints or company not doing well. Then regret is already too late. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 6, 2018 Share February 6, 2018 anyone ever rejected a salary increment ? can we do that ? tell the boss don't ? Uh.... Why don't you want the free $? BTW, seems like you always have interesting situations with your company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 6, 2018 Share February 6, 2018 (edited) Uh.... Why don't you want the free $? BTW, seems like you always have interesting situations with your company. nothing is for free ... i think you also know that .... it used to be a good place to work ... about 20 years ago when there was about 10 staffs only ... when the boss would bring all the staff to batam for a weekend getaway and have regular get-together makan sessions .... now that we have expanded to almost 100+ staff and a few depts, things have become regimental. things that were "promised" are always changing ... and frankly, i am not happy with what it has become. but i am stuck with it coz i can't change another job without losing half my pay. Edited February 6, 2018 by Ysc3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 6, 2018 Share February 6, 2018 But if boss give you more responsibilities but you don't want the increment, worth it? Somemore now the company has the budget to increase your salary, why say no? If next time you want increment, you may not get what you want because budget constraints or company not doing well. Then regret is already too late. i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...