Leo72 6th Gear February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! Even if you don't take it, your work load / responsibility will be increase. Like it or not, this is life. So just take it and take your time to slowly look for a better job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! $200....good already bro, count yourself very lucky, can get new underwear every 6 mths! i no....and I repeat NO increment for the past 3 years! No increatment and BONUS too.... So Bro, u r very lucky got $200 increment...on egood dinner with the family.. I can't leave, too old already, so die die, just work.....can't teach an old dog new tricks like me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 Haha...yeah I applied to company X directly and after going for an interview, an agency calls me a week later and says "I've got a role for you...the company's name is X" I heard of similar stories. I wonder what is behind this and do they qualify and funding? Are we creating jobs but does it add value since we are so called shortage of manpower? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! it is quite unfair for $200 for additional 3 hrs a day, they just want to avoid OT pay which should be many time more. Not sure if you want to highlight to MoM or any other source. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! I supposed its the same for factory workers. The supervisor bump the pay scale to the next level so that overtime cannot be claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 I heard of similar stories. I wonder what is behind this and do they qualify and funding? Are we creating jobs but does it add value since we are so called shortage of manpower? This one I know some background. Some "speculation" is there is some "transaction" between the contractor and the company. But as there is no proof unless someone provides hard evidence, its just pure speculation. The other part of the story is, the company reserves the right to hire anyone, so here lie the part where people say, some Headcount already allocated to their own people. I will leave it for you to come to your own conclusion. But as the company still need people, and if its a contract job, the headcount does not fall into the FT and local ratio. So, you have a loophole, a workaround to continue to hire whoever you wish and still get the job done. Plus because its a contract role, the benefits are limited, so annual leave and pay increment is zero. So, in essence, its a modern day snakehead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 (edited) i don't mind responsibility ... i am practically running my dept ... what can there be more ?? but i just got my increment letter ... and its $200 ... however, with it, did not come extra responsibility .... but working hours extended by 3 hours a day or 17 hours week !! (5dx3h + 1dx2h) or 68hrs a month ?? for $200 ?? in all truth, how many of you will accept that ?? way before that i was even thinking of asking my company to cut my pay by $400 instead and give me my Saturdays (4dx4h) off instead ! Head of department so you should be in the managerial level the least executive level. So OT claim definitely out. Added responsibility which translate to longer working hours..you can request for more head count. Get a chiobu and you won't mind to stay longer hour in office. Managerial level...shorten your lunch break...surfing net (mcf)..Coffee break at massage parlour..etc. Come to think of its for a start you might feel annoyed with the longer work hours. After a while you will get use to it and find "things" to inspire you...get a pretty new headcount in lah.. appreciate the 2400 pa income..many here can't even see half of the amount in 5/6 years if increment. FYI..I have not seem increment for past 7/8 years! More responsibility added on me a pathetic old men "office boy..." Edited February 7, 2018 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 Head of department so you should be in the managerial level the least executive level. So OT claim definitely out. Added responsibility which translate to longer working hours..you can request for more head count. Get a chiobu and you won't mind to stay longer hour in office. Managerial level...shorten your lunch break...surfing net (mcf)..Coffee break at massage parlour..etc. Come to think of its for a start you might feel annoyed with the longer work hours. After a while you will get use to it and find "things" to inspire you...get a pretty new headcount in lah.. appreciate the 2400 pa income..many here can't even see half of the amount in 5/6 years if increment. FYI..I have not seem increment for past 7/8 years! More responsibility added on me a pathetic old men "office boy..." Ya lo, office boy 命苦 lo... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 If they want to increase your job responsibility, should give you promotion and give you more than $200 increment lo. I believe many people cannot accept that company increase your job responsibility and scope but doesnt equal to the amount given. This is human nature. But from the management point of view, they always want to increase your job responsibility and scope and pay the minimum amount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 wah...for me peasant storeman/caretaker, $200 is alot already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 wah...for me peasant storeman/caretaker, $200 is alot already $200 for additional 68 hours is $3/hr, worse than working in McD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 $200 for additional 68 hours is $3/hr, worse than working in McD I like you man ... you feel for me ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 Head of department so you should be in the managerial level the least executive level. So OT claim definitely out. Added responsibility which translate to longer working hours..you can request for more head count. Get a chiobu and you won't mind to stay longer hour in office. Managerial level...shorten your lunch break...surfing net (mcf)..Coffee break at massage parlour..etc. Come to think of its for a start you might feel annoyed with the longer work hours. After a while you will get use to it and find "things" to inspire you...get a pretty new headcount in lah.. appreciate the 2400 pa income..many here can't even see half of the amount in 5/6 years if increment. FYI..I have not seem increment for past 7/8 years! More responsibility added on me a pathetic old men "office boy..." title is manager lah ... but is sort of cum-benchwarmer ... staff MIA, I will cover ... no matter what job. you ever see manager unloading a container load of cartons before ?? I practically don't take lunch breaks or coffee breaks .... as the bloody canteen too far away ... so once in a blue moon I will ask someone to tapau for me and I just swallow everything down in about 15mins. else I just nibble away at my snacks which I get from ABC every weekend. can forget about additional headcount ... I AM that headcount(s). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 title is manager lah ... but is sort of cum-benchwarmer ... staff MIA, I will cover ... no matter what job. you ever see manager unloading a container load of cartons before ?? I practically don't take lunch breaks or coffee breaks .... as the bloody canteen too far away ... so once in a blue moon I will ask someone to tapau for me and I just swallow everything down in about 15mins. else I just nibble away at my snacks which I get from ABC every weekend. can forget about additional headcount ... I AM that headcount(s). Time to move on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 $200....good already bro, count yourself very lucky, can get new underwear every 6 mths! i no....and I repeat NO increment for the past 3 years! No increatment and BONUS too.... So Bro, u r very lucky got $200 increment...on egood dinner with the family.. I can't leave, too old already, so die die, just work.....can't teach an old dog new tricks like me... I am even willing to take a pay cut to spend more time with my toddler ... unlike most of you, your kids maybe step into the working world already .. but I am a "late bloomer". I am almost half a centurion but my boy is only 3 ... at this stage, I am really surprised that my employer of almost 20 years still wants to keep me away from my family ... most companies now reducing to 5 day week ... but here, my hours get bumped up instead. I think 3k a month should be enough to get me through daily expenses if I spend wisely... but without paper, I really don't think I can start again anywhere else and get that ... and I believe you will understand when I say experience means sh!t to most employers, unless you have lots of paper to buffer that. I supposed its the same for factory workers. The supervisor bump the pay scale to the next level so that overtime cannot be claim. I would put myself more in a supervisory position ... mgr name is just to bump up my pay ... no decisive power one ... unless its to work more for free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 I am even willing to take a pay cut to spend more time with my toddler ... unlike most of you, your kids maybe step into the working world already .. but I am a "late bloomer". I am almost half a centurion but my boy is only 3 ... at this stage, I am really surprised that my employer of almost 20 years still wants to keep me away from my family ... most companies now reducing to 5 day week ... but here, my hours get bumped up instead. I think 3k a month should be enough to get me through daily expenses if I spend wisely... but without paper, I really don't think I can start again anywhere else and get that ... and I believe you will understand when I say experience means sh!t to most employers, unless you have lots of paper to buffer that. It depends on employers de. Some dont look really at papers but experience, but some look at paper and experience. Also some look at where you get your papers, doesnt mean they recognise every papers you get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 Time to move on. that ship has left long time ago ... my company also can "lun" me ... last time need me, they entertain me ... now no need liow ... then come up with all weird ideas to make me throw in the towel. Last time younger still got chance ... now kan-koh liow ... I am going to pay it by ear and see how things go ... It depends on employers de. Some dont look really at papers but experience, but some look at paper and experience. Also some look at where you get your papers, doesnt mean they recognise every papers you get. I really don't have paper ... even my o levels only pass language ... last time young and single, I work like cow and horse ... can 3 days don't go home ... now everyday eat medicine also enough already ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 7, 2018 Share February 7, 2018 Are you sure your industry needs paper? Have you looked around or just imagine only? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...