Wage increment

Tianake

When I join my current company 7 year ago, my team has 4 people. 2 local 2 expat. Then one expat after 2 years left and job distributed the 2 locals. Then the next expat left 3 years later and only left 2 locals to cover the work. Last mth the A.M towkay say wanna contain cost and the other local has to go.....now I do 4 person job...... Still need job to feeds my kids..so bite bullet and work on ...but no worries ...still got time to surf MCF [:p]

If you do 4 person job but got pay 4 person salary then still ok la.  [rolleyes]

that ship has left long time ago ...

my company also can "lun" me ... last time need me, they entertain me ... now no need liow ... then come up with all weird ideas to make me throw in the towel. Last time younger still got chance ... now kan-koh liow ...

I am going to pay it by ear and see how things go ...

I really don't have paper ... even my o levels only pass language ...

last time young and single, I work like cow and horse ... can 3 days don't go home ... now everyday eat medicine also enough already ...

I believe nobody would look at your o levels liao since it was donkey years ago. Employers should be looking at your experience, skills and knowledge instead. Getting how many passes in o levels should not affect much for you, unless you are now fresh out from school.

Are you sure your industry needs paper?

Have you looked around or just imagine only?

the last job I applied for a year ago was just to sit at a table and copy and print cds ... but that job was given to a young lady.

before that I applied to assemble computer servers, that one also went to a younger guy.

i also applied to take care of a golf equipment shop-cum-showroom through an agency ... also no news.

so really, age is against me ... and I also have my min salary expectations (as mentioned above)

I believe nobody would look at your o levels liao since it was donkey years ago. Employers should be looking at your experience, skills and knowledge instead. Getting how many passes in o levels should not affect much for you, unless you are now fresh out from school.

exactly ... and I only have that worthless piece of paper ... so really nothing to fall back on liow ...

so I stay also do manual labour, I go else where, I will also have to do manual labour ... but start all over again with manual labour pay ... which is unrealistic.

so I can only hope to make the best out of my current situation, or try to make it to my advantage a bit.

the last job I applied for a year ago was just to sit at a table and copy and print cds ... but that job was given to a young lady.

before that I applied to assemble computer servers, that one also went to a younger guy.

i also applied to take care of a golf equipment shop-cum-showroom through an agency ... also no news.

so really, age is against me ... and I also have my min salary expectations (as mentioned above)

exactly ... and I only have that worthless piece of paper ... so really nothing to fall back on liow ...

so I stay also do manual labour, I go else where, I will also have to do manual labour ... but start all over again with manual labour pay ... which is unrealistic.

so I can only hope to make the best out of my current situation, or try to make it to my advantage a bit.

You mean other companies don't need someone to perform your current role?

the last job I applied for a year ago was just to sit at a table and copy and print cds ... but that job was given to a young lady.

so really, age is against me ... and I also have my min salary expectations (as mentioned above)

so I stay also do manual labour, I go else where, I will also have to do manual labour ... but start all over again with manual labour pay ... which is unrealistic.

True.. once over 40, very hard to compete with younger peeps who ask lower salary than u for the same job unless ur experience is very specific to that job.

That's why a lot of us in the 40s/50s always think the good times will last when in managerial/director position cos too senior to tio pork but truth to be told, many a managers/directors are driving grab/uber/taxi nowadays after getting the chop cos can't get back the same job or anything near it.

All the best to u bro and stay positive  [thumbsup] .

You mean other companies don't need someone to perform your current role?

many companies will take in people like me ... but like I said ... same role but half the pay or lesser ...

hard to find similar job with simlar pay or less by 10% -15% only ...

I really don't mind staying stagnant as I am satisfied with my present lifestyle and pay vs working hours ... really don't like the sudden extra 68 hours !!

True.. once over 40, very hard to compete with younger peeps who ask lower salary than u for the same job unless ur experience is very specific to that job.

That's why a lot of us in the 40s/50s always think the good times will last when in managerial/director position cos too senior to tio pork but truth to be told, many a managers/directors are driving grab/uber/taxi nowadays after getting the chop cos can't get back the same job or anything near it.

All the best to u bro and stay positive  [thumbsup] .

I also tell my staff ... high pay is not always good also ... at least for them they can still switch anytime they are not happy want as their pay is quite standard across the sector ... and age is on their side also.

got a friend who quit 2 years ago ... 9 years younger than me ... found his dream job instead. when I tried to apply also, cannot fight with the younger applicants.

many companies will take in people like me ... but like I said ... same role but half the pay or lesser ...

I really don't mind staying stagnant as I am satisfied with my present lifestyle and pay vs working hours ... really don't like the sudden extra 68 hours !!

I also tell my staff ... high pay is not always good also ... at least for them they can still switch anytime they are not happy want as their pay is quite standard across the sector ... and age is on their side also.

got a friend who quit 2 years ago ... 9 years younger than me ... found his dream job instead. when I tried to apply also, cannot fight with the younger applicants.

wah boss...i see you keep saying yourself high pay

must be very high leh..... i very envious

[thumbsup]  [:)]

Sometimes job hunting also must see luck.

yah man ... this friend of mine his luck damn good man ...

he just argued with the HOD a few days back then was having lunch at the canteen when he met his friend  ...

then he was grumbling to his friend and his friend told him they gum gum that time got one guy left due to health and family issues and he immediately used his phone to whatapps to apply ! then straightaway arrange interview and joined them one month later.

and he has been happy ever since ...

wah boss...i see you keep saying yourself high pay

must be very high leh..... i very envious

[thumbsup]  [:)]

I will be content with 3k and 5 day week ... but that won't happen ...

so my next best bet will be to buy TOTO every week.

title is manager lah ... but is sort of cum-benchwarmer ... staff MIA, I will cover ... no matter what job. you ever see manager unloading a container load of cartons before ??

I practically don't take lunch breaks or coffee breaks .... as the bloody canteen too far away ... so once in a blue moon I will ask someone to tapau for me and I just swallow everything down in about 15mins. else I just nibble away at my snacks which I get from ABC every weekend.

can forget about additional headcount ... I AM that headcount(s).

ABC..hmm than you can hop over to ikea for hotdog and ice cream. Still good life than working in tuas like me. See sea. Sea grass.

Actually I'm still a little lost.

The way you say it is that the company is constantly coming up with unreasonable policies to tekan the employees but at the same time, they are also paying you double the market rate?

All the best to u bro and stay positive [thumbsup] .

That was why I asked chyst in her beauty thread how to remove wrinkles. Your should go read up.

ABC..hmm than you can hop over to ikea for hotdog and ice cream. Still good life than working in tuas like me. See sea. Sea grass.

so far I see the job ads .. tuas jobs all pay very well leh ... but I in tampines ... 

That was why I asked chyst in her beauty thread how to remove wrinkles. Your should go read up.

sandpaper ?

Actually I'm still a little lost.

The way you say it is that the company is constantly coming up with unreasonable policies to tekan the employees but at the same time, they are also paying you double the market rate?

double the market rate is after 20 years of accumulation ... you still think its "double " ?

** btw, if your referring to my contented 3k, I am nowhere close to 6k ...

Edited by Ysc3

I am even willing to take a pay cut to spend more time with my toddler ...

unlike most of you, your kids maybe step into the working world already .. but I am a "late bloomer". I am almost half a centurion but my boy is only 3 ... at this stage, I am really surprised that my employer of almost 20 years still wants to keep me away from my family ...

most companies now reducing to 5 day week ... but here, my hours get bumped up instead.

I think 3k a month should be enough to get me through daily expenses if I spend wisely... but without paper, I really don't think I can start again anywhere else and get that ... and I believe you will understand when I say experience means sh!t to most employers, unless you have lots of paper to buffer that.

I would put myself more in a supervisory position ... mgr name is just to bump up my pay ... no decisive power one ... unless its to work more for free.

Actually is true, sometimes money aint everything especially when you reach a certain age(well, not everyone have this mindset)... [:/]

True. Its times like this when you go home, your kids are still proceeding well in their academic pursuit / new career / became a grand dad, wife and in law are in harmony, good health all around. You be pretty blissful.

Just myopic in the view how come my neighbour doing better then me and moving to another place.

But is that neighbour as happy as you are.? 

Some times I feel it like a bit of class reunion.

Same batch graduate. Some becomes CEO. Some board of dir. Some go downhill with tons of debt and change 3 wife liao. So during this CNY, have a great reunion dinner and dont think too much. 

Happy CNY all MCF readers.!

so far I see the job ads .. tuas jobs all pay very well leh ... but I in tampines ... 

sandpaper ?

double the market rate is after 20 years of accumulation ... you still think its "double " ?

** btw, if your referring to my contented 3k, I am nowhere close to 6k ...

all the best bro. keep looking for job in the meantime ba.