Which car is better?

Kueijie

the HRs are good....

dad had a kingswood for a while....202 inline 6......also had austin avenger as family car....

austin healy or sprite? [grouphug]

the 202 block was the real workhorse, even in the outbacks!! a recond one was about 1300 buck exchange!

Hi all, I need some advice too.

I am looking to buy a new Opc car and it's my first time.

Having to see so many cons of buying from a car dealer I do have concerns.

I am looking at a budget of $15k - 22k car. I kind of like either a old school Perodua car/ aveo/ Getz

Not sure if anyone can advise which car dealer is trustable and which car is recommendable/ a good buy now on the market.

Like that call compare?

What are your expectations? Provided these 2 cars are properly maintained by the previous owner nobody will know what the FC will be like.

One of the things I do know is that cars like Vitz is able to run on 92 RON w/o problems. That already can help you save some petrol money. Ppl will say not a lot but if 10cents is also savings. LoL....

Want low FC? Go for the smaller capacity engine. Between these 2 cars no point talking about horsepower. Better go for $$$ savings.

Currently driving a 2004 Honda Jazz, abt 9yrs 8.5mth?

what car are you currently driving now? and what is its age?

Toyota Vitz: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=368246&DL=2548

I will be converting to normal plate for sure, so that's $23.8K, Parf value ard that time is abt $7K, so that work out to be $7.2K/yr drep

Vs

Mazda 2 SP: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=375766&DL=2675

Price is $18.8K, Parf to be $7.7K, working out to be $6.05K/yr drep

Purchase price of the Vitz?

What is the monthly depreciation of each?

Frankly - I wouldn't make a decision until I'd driven both to get a feel for how they are maintained etc, and then I'd get an inspection on the one that seemed the best value for money.

And one thing for sure - at 1000cc you can forget abt acceleration. Even "good" for a car of this size is going to be bad. So don't even think about it.

u got the vitz correct, but the Mazda 2, refer the link on top (dun wan spam myself, lol)

I'm more concern abt the drep rate, then power(with load). F/C i can accept ard 12km/l which is the worst that my jazz is giving me. on ave, my jazz is giving me 12-14km/l (once in a blue moon 11km/l?). I based on millage divide by the amount i plump each time.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info_photos.php?ID=368246&CUR=1#photo

VS

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=376842&DL=1232

The Mazda 2 will definately have a better driving experience as it's a 1.5l with more power on the roads. The Mazda's power-to-weight ratio is not too bad.

The Vitz, being a 1.0, definately will feel draggy and powerless. Esp in full load. As the bros above mentioned, 1.0 don think about power, FC or drag. Car can move can liao.

FC for Toyota is always know to be better, plus the fact that it's 1.0 makes it even more fuel economical, even if the car is full load.

FC of Mazda 2 is very unflattering. If your 2005 Mazda 2 is the Mazda 2 SP, maybe it's abit better but still bad. Prepare to expect around 11 to 12 km/l of FC.

What is your priority? The Vitz is OPC but newer, but that also means you need to folk up more to convert to normal.

If I'm you and dun mind OPC, I will take the newer Vitz which has more parts available in SG and better FC. Fark the driving experience! If I feel that I need the normal plate I can convert in the future.

But take note, the Mazda 2 is more spacious and more pratical, the Vitz have virtually no boot so if you got family and need to full load with lugguage to boot, Vitz is not for you.

So what are your priorities?

lol, i'm happy to even see ard $6-6.5K drep. now "better" 2nd car are going for 8-9K drep on the average.

BTW bro the Mazda 2 is a little overpriced. Even the Vitz is overpriced. For a normal plate car like these, you shouldn't pay more than 5k+ for the depre.

Well buy what you want then. Willing buyer willing seller.

FYI I got the Mazda 2 when COE was 90K. Depre under $5K. It was 6+ years old then.

By the way have you driven both cars? Handling of Vitz I don't know, but Mazda 2 is really quite good.

on the avg, 9+k drep. the best drep is at least 8k/yr.

This is even worst.$14.8K/yr drep. Even brand new is only $123K for 10yrs (less praf @ 6.8K), drep is only $11.62k/yr.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info_financial.php?ID=374952

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/vios/price.aspx

why not vios?

2005 and better engine power, reliable, below 20k

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?RGD=2005&MOD=vios&RPG=20&VEH=0&TRN=2&AVL=2

Edited by Kueijie

This is even worst.$14.8K/yr drep. Even brand new is only $123K for 10yrs (less praf @ 6.8K), drep is only $11.62k/yr.

err

here

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info_financial.php?ID=376796

only 8k dep.

Hi all, I need some advice too.

I am looking to buy a new Opc car and it's my first time.

Having to see so many cons of buying from a car dealer I do have concerns.

I am looking at a budget of $15k - 22k car. I kind of like either a old school Perodua car/ aveo/ Getz

Not sure if anyone can advise which car dealer is trustable and which car is recommendable/ a good buy now on the market.

Given yr 3 choices I wud take the Aveo 1st, Getz 2nd n Perodua last.

Buying new is easier cos the car has not been abused, misused n thrashed by a previous owner.

Just try to get as many freebies as u can. Ask those who just bought what ty managed to get from the SE n maybe also some recommendations who is a good SE.

Remember to service n maintain the car regularly to keep it running well. Many 1st time owners do not maintain their cars well which leads to many problems later on.

Aveo is a Korean car assembled in Thai.

Getz is a Korean car assembled in Korea and

Perodua is a Msian car assembled in Msia.

I am driving an Optra Estate auto for the past 6 yrs. The car is reliable n solid. Maintenence is cheap if u service n buy parts from places other than the Authorised Dealer as same with all cars.

I think fuel consumption on the Getz wil b the heaviest followed by Aveo then Perodua. But if u dun drive so much (OPC car), FC sud not bother u too much.

BTW my Optra gives me abt 14km/lit which is not bad, so the Aveo sud b better.

In terms of space n power, I feel the Aveo sud b the best.

Well buy what you want then. Willing buyer willing seller.

FYI I got the Mazda 2 when COE was 90K. Depre under $5K. It was 6+ years old then.

By the way have you driven both cars? Handling of Vitz I don't know, but Mazda 2 is really quite good.

Mazda 2 sud b the sister of the Focus so handling sud b as good.

Yr Maz 2 COE $90K but yr depreciation <$5K/yr. This I dun Ustand how????????

Hi Pisces,

Been asking around, everyone is asking me to get a second hand car from dealer as it's my first car.

I do have a budget of 20 - 23k. not sure if there is any recommended dealer/car to get best at this range. I seen many bad reviews on the after cost buying a car from dealer. Just don'. Wish to get cheater coz I got really little knowledg on cars.

Anyway sorry to ride on this post, new to this forum, got no idea how to create a post.

if he only drives it in town or in HDB estates, the 1000cc should have enough poke to get him reasonably quick from A to B when he belts it a bit harder than a normal driver. But expressway travel is best done avoiding the fast lanes.

Yalor yalor....if only you and one xmm in a car, a 1000cc is good enough to go anywhere....East Coast car park, GL, JB no problem lah ... [:p]

Edited by TVT

Mazda 2 sud b the sister of the Focus so handling sud b as good.

Yr Maz 2 COE $90K but yr depreciation <$5K/yr. This I dun Ustand how????????

My M2 does not have a 90K COE. I said I bought it *during* 90K COE. When COE go up used car prices also go up. Now COE come down already. The dynamics here is a little bit interesting due to the 40/50% downpayment rule. It makes the older cars more "affordable" hence dealers are asking ridiculous prices. Once again, willing seller willing buyer.

Hi Pisces,

Been asking around, everyone is asking me to get a second hand car from dealer as it's my first car.

I do have a budget of 20 - 23k. not sure if there is any recommended dealer/car to get best at this range. I seen many bad reviews on the after cost buying a car from dealer. Just don'. Wish to get cheater coz I got really little knowledg on cars.

Anyway sorry to ride on this post, new to this forum, got no idea how to create a post.

Buying is relatively easier than selling+buying. One tip is to NOT have high expectations of a used car. Understand that some things will need to be repaired. Don't bother asking a dealer to fix minor issues. If it's big time issue (engine, gearbox, accident, etc.), don't buy the car. If it's small time, ask for a discount and repair it yourself or live with it. Don't buy a used car and be a kiam kana then drive until the car explode and go and claim the dealer. Buy liao immediately go and do a full service. Change all the fluids, do alignment, etc.

You guys must be lunatic to buy at that price. Keep on buying and dealers who are hopeful will keep the prices high. Yah... willing buyer willing seller.

Let me give you guys a tip.

There's a Alfa Romeo with <4K/year depre on sale. Ai mai?

Don't look at new car. The COE alone is 7k/year. It's not a fair comparison. Look at a used car. (Edit: Sorry, did not notice you were comparing a used car here... my bad)

Edited by Detach8

U mean these cars hv yearly depreciation of $6K to $15K a YEAR????????

So much for a BnB Vios??????

WOW. Thats a lot. [sweatdrop]

Thanks to bloody coe, last time can get new vios at 50k now 120k, so calculation...

U refering to this car?

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=376652&DL=2286

Sorry for being noob. but i thought AR should be a conti car? how come so low drep? is it a price typo error? or is there something wrong with the car? F/C?

I think the comparision is fair enough leh. used car drep also factor in "COE", yet they drep more than new car(inclusive of COE too)?

My M2 does not have a 90K COE. I said I bought it *during* 90K COE. When COE go up used car prices also go up. Now COE come down already. The dynamics here is a little bit interesting due to the 40/50% downpayment rule. It makes the older cars more "affordable" hence dealers are asking ridiculous prices. Once again, willing seller willing buyer.

Buying is relatively easier than selling+buying. One tip is to NOT have high expectations of a used car. Understand that some things will need to be repaired. Don't bother asking a dealer to fix minor issues. If it's big time issue (engine, gearbox, accident, etc.), don't buy the car. If it's small time, ask for a discount and repair it yourself or live with it. Don't buy a used car and be a kiam kana then drive until the car explode and go and claim the dealer. Buy liao immediately go and do a full service. Change all the fluids, do alignment, etc.

You guys must be lunatic to buy at that price. Keep on buying and dealers who are hopeful will keep the prices high. Yah... willing buyer willing seller.

Let me give you guys a tip.

There's a Alfa Romeo with <4K/year depre on sale. Ai mai?

Don't look at new car. The COE alone is 7k/year. It's not a fair comparison. Look at a used car. (Edit: Sorry, did not notice you were comparing a used car here... my bad)

Hi guys,

I'm looking ard to replace my current ride. 2 options i'm considering now, need some "expert" opinion. lol

1) Apr 2006 Toyota Vitz 1.0A

78,000km due to OPC

$23,800 to convert to normal plate

2) Oct 2005 Mazda 2 1.5A

79,000km

$18,800

I would like to understand, which have better FC and would have better chance to last me till 10th year. Quite interested in the Toyota Vitz, but kind of worry abt the accerlation/horse/drag power if i got full passengers on board.

This is an easy decision - take Mazda 2 !