Social rules/guidelines for passengers

vroomcar

Want to ask you guys opinions about colleagues reimbursing you for regular lompangs.

Say for many years you often drive your regular gang of colleagues out for lunch or sometimes for outings. They are ok in the car and usually say thanks. But they never offer to pay for anything related to your car like parking, fuel, top up cash card etc. And no special initiatives to treat the driver coffee or meal. To me, I am ok with this. Even though i would feel appreciated and more motivated to continue being their driver if they at least sometimes take initiatives to offer some financial support.

There was an occasion where I drove the gang out for lunch and got a $50 ticket for parking in a lot meant for lorries. It really was a mistake and I accepted the responsibility for the ticket since I am in command. I felt that the gang could have been supportive by offering to pay for the fine to make me feel better and it was an opportunity to show some appreciation for all my past efforts. However they all kept silent as if nothing happened. 1 of the guys later came up to me in private and offered to pay half of the ticket. This guy was an exception and he has a car himself. The others don't drive.

What are you guys opinion on this? I remember reading a similar thread maybe in hwz. Most drivers are ok with passengers not offering any $ for usual expenses, but expect them to offer help for special costs like fines.

My case is I always offer to long pang if the destination is very far and I feel unnecessary to take cab or train since I on the way (if 10-15mins drive away from my own destination).

I also same as you don't expect monetary compensations lah... AT LEAST a thank you should be fine... And oh ya to add.. PLEASE DONT BLOODY CLOSE MY DOOR SO HARD I CAN FEEL THE 'WIND'!

Whenever I meet the situation of illegal parking, I will always get consensus, once all agree to park there, I will disclaimer, all share fine, if all ok then I exit car. If not, continue to round loh... Sometimes concern own wallet cannot shy one...

Lol! So true about closing the door!

i will say, my car got soft closing before they leave......they get the msg

no eating/drinking/smoking..and not talking at all if possible..driving needs concentration..I cannot stand others drivers who keeps conversing with passengers and not concentrate on the roads [drivingcar]

Want to ask you guys opinions about colleagues reimbursing you for regular lompangs.

Say for many years you often drive your regular gang of colleagues out for lunch or sometimes for outings. They are ok in the car and usually say thanks. But they never offer to pay for anything related to your car like parking, fuel, top up cash card etc. And no special initiatives to treat the driver coffee or meal. To me, I am ok with this. Even though i would feel appreciated and more motivated to continue being their driver if they at least sometimes take initiatives to offer some financial support.

There was an occasion where I drove the gang out for lunch and got a $50 ticket for parking in a lot meant for lorries. It really was a mistake and I accepted the responsibility for the ticket since I am in command. I felt that the gang could have been supportive by offering to pay for the fine to make me feel better and it was an opportunity to show some appreciation for all my past efforts. However they all kept silent as if nothing happened. 1 of the guys later came up to me in private and offered to pay half of the ticket. This guy was an exception and he has a car himself. The others don't drive.

What are you guys opinion on this? I remember reading a similar thread maybe in hwz. Most drivers are ok with passengers not offering any $ for usual expenses, but expect them to offer help for special costs like fines.

I noticed you said colleagues not frens but I feel for u when u hv such BZD (buay zi dong) colleagues.

Last time, we'll chip in and pay for regular driver's lunch & drink cos petrol and parking cost more. As for fine, we'll always insist on parking legally cos we don't want to hv his car damaged or chalking up demerit points on top of fines.

During EPL, we'll chip in and pool bets even though we are not soccer fans cos support him.

LOL.... If you pay him enough, he wont be sleepy lah.....

I dont have rule but the moment the passenger comes into my car, i give him/her newspaper or magazines to read out to me and say "Please read it to me coz today i rushing no time to read myself".... for him: car mags or porn mags, for her: newspaper containing big sales advertisement

this will keep him/her busy and not mess up my car

and they really read it?

i would think the average person will give a "wtf" reaction

I really feel you. I used to drive a mini-van during uni days. While it was fun packing friends and having freedom driving all over the place, none of them offered to pay for any vehicle related costs. Which was really fine with me, since most are appreciative and say thanks.

Your that one friend is really nice to offer to pay half of your ticket, which i guess most likely you didn't accept. It would be weird and awkward, I probably wouldn't accept friend's payment for my summons either. It would be as though suddenly, I would owe him/her a lift, or many lifts.

What I can't stand is them taking me for granted. They would start to plan who to sit in my vehicle and who to sit another vehicle, when I never even invite them or say ok to it.

That was uni days, where friends and popularity mattered. Now in the working world, maybe even worse. Got to find peace within my heart to either suck it up and maintain good relations, or burn bridges and flatly refuse.

you already say uni, uni student dun really have income. if you felt been taken for granted, say 'no' or dun drive to school, period.

if want to maintain the relationship, do it willingly.

always hated those who like to fiddle around and then slam the door as if i am driving a taxi.

am used to that as my kids do it more often [laugh][laugh]

last time i drive them out for lunch and some time even pay for their meal [bigcry][bigcry]

This is a interesting thread.

One that all drivers/vehicle owners definitely will experience.

Some friends get used to you fetching them and will automatically expect you to fetch them, send them home after outings. Don't mind fetching, but when it becomes a habit, they show black face when you tell them you can't (maybe you have smtg on, or cos you are at the east, and they are at the north, then you have to travel from the east to the north to fetch them, and then back to the east cos that's where you guys are heading [sweatdrop] )

1. If you have not bath today, you are not welcome in my car.

2. No eating.

3. No farting, only I'm allowed to.

4. No touch this, touch that, but if you are a Chio Bu, I get to touch this, touch that.

5. No complaining about my selection of music, John Denver was the in thing during my time, so screw your Chris Brown.

6. Don't give me directions unless your name is "GARMIN" or "TomTom".

7. If you slam my door, I will slam you too … from behind!

etc…etc…etc...

sit down, shut up, and i tellu get off, u get off...period!

I want to praise you but system says I recently praised you before.

Can change the system? I want to praise you. Haha. [grin]

As i dont believe in parking illegally, I will advise the driver to put parking coupon, or park in an authorised lot

Therefore, i will not pay if he chooses to do so despite my well-meaning advice.

LOL.... If you pay him enough, he wont be sleepy lah.....

I dont have rule but the moment the passenger comes into my car, i give him/her newspaper or magazines to read out to me and say "Please read it to me coz today i rushing no time to read myself".... for him: car mags or porn mags, for her: newspaper containing big sales advertisement

this will keep him/her busy and not mess up my car

I would like to sit in your car...soonest possible. Btw, the mag you have is Penthouse or Long Hsu Pao? :D

Anyway, do you know reading in a car is bad for the eyes? You shouldn't encourage it, unless you want to sabo your passenger's eyesight lah...

Don't put your feet on my dashboard. Why charboh like to do this ah?

Yah...girls like to do this! I don't know why also....!

Maybe want us to see their nice legs? [;)]

I also same as you don't expect monetary compensations lah... AT LEAST a thank you should be fine... And oh ya to add.. PLEASE DONT BLOODY CLOSE MY DOOR SO HARD I CAN FEEL THE 'WIND'!

Hate this too. Even when young boy boy time, I hated when other people slam the door, whether I inside the car or not. Coz I will feel heart pain for the driver / owner.

Actually is just, ji dong abit can liao, normally if friend tompang me or something, his drinks / food should be on me / group he tompang. Even if not whole meal, at least dessert of something, just to show appreciation for the ride / his kindness. See ba, if win New Year / Reunion / CNY TOTO, I'll get a two seater, so don't need heck all this crap.. And another sedan (Evo or FD2R) to tompang my family..

1 I would like to sit in your car...soonest possible. Btw, the mag you have is Penthouse or Long Hsu Pao? :D

2 Anyway, do you know reading in a car is bad for the eyes? You shouldn't encourage it, unless you want to sabo your passenger's eyesight lah...

3 Yah...girls like to do this! I don't know why also....! Maybe want us to see their nice legs? [;)]

1 Recently I go digital liao, I pass my passeners iPads and let them surf pawns..... good, right?

2 Reading text / words not so good for eyesights, that's correct; so in order to protect their eyes, I encourage them to skip the words but focus on the nice pictures...

3 but I don't understand how xmm can lift up her legs and put them on the dashboard? either the front of the car is very spacious to allow enough space to do it, or the xmm has not-too-long legs...... I rather she sits sideway and rest her legs on my thighs!!! or reverse it, rest her head on my thighs and put her legs on the door/window...

Edited by Maseratigood

Hate this too. Even when young boy boy time, I hated when other people slam the door, whether I inside the car or not. Coz I will feel heart pain for the driver / owner.

Actually is just, ji dong abit can liao, normally if friend tompang me or something, his drinks / food should be on me / group he tompang. Even if not whole meal, at least dessert of something, just to show appreciation for the ride / his kindness. See ba, if win New Year / Reunion / CNY TOTO, I'll get a two seater, so don't need heck all this crap.. And another sedan (Evo or FD2R) to tompang my family..

I also don't like passengers slam car doors hard when they get out. But what to do, by the time it happens, too late to stop it.

Some HK taxis have auto open/shut doors, maybe someone can start selling the add-on kit which does it!!!

and they really read it?

i would think the average person will give a "wtf" reaction

I seldom fetch 'ordinary' persons easily, those I decide to fetch are those I know who will read..... [grin]

the point is be selective who you are happy to fetch, and even happy to tolerate if they 'misbehafe'.