13177 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 (edited) 3.5k not good enough? I was pay 2.2k when I started worked. People are very demanding these days..... 3.5k is starting gross pay or with experience? When was your 2.2k pay? If at least 10 years ago, then cannot compared liao?! Lol. Engineering job usually should be higher pay than business job, due to engineering degree needs 4 years to complete as compared with business degree?! Edited October 27, 2014 by 13177 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 My nephew's NUS course mate. Computer engineer working in GIC IT. Normal honors. Only 4 years and hit 8k. Still got chance one la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
xherion 2nd Gear October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 3.5k is starting gross pay or with experience? When was your 2.2k pay? If at least 10 years ago, then cannot compared liao?! Lol. Engineering job usually should be higher pay than business job, due to engineering degree needs 4 years to complete as compared with business degree?! Yes as i said above, engineer pay is higher than business only for first couple of years, after 5 yrs, the business guy's pay will easily double the engineer's. Happened between me and my wife LOL 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 OCT 14. - More engineers will be needed to come up with elderly-friendly infrastructure as Singapore faces an ageing population, said Dr Vivian Balakrishnan. "There has been an increase in life expectancy... this has lead to an unprecedented rate of ageing," he added, noting that engineers who can cater to t the demands of changing demographics will have more opportunities. The environment and water resources minister was speaking at the 48th annual dinner for the Institution of Engineers (IES) - held on Friday night at the convention centre of Resorts World Sentosa - where he was the guest of honour. In his opening speech, Chong Kee Sen, IES president, said it is "critical to resolve the issue of compensation to attract and retain talents in this industry". It is important to do so because engineers are needed to address many challenges, such as climate change, depleting natural resources and land scarcity, he added. http://asianewsnet.net/More-engineers-needed-to-support-an-ageing-populat-66480.html whatever... let the money talk... show me da money!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 whatever... let the money talk... show me da money!! Right. If you're doing a job that don't make money, like engineering maintenance, don't expect high salary. You are a cost to the company. And companies like to cut cost and replaced you with cheap FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 And they become financial engineers when they switch to finance lol! Jokes aside, heard a lot of those complicated structured products, options etc were coined by engineers who made the switch to Finance cos of their mathematical aptitude, analysis and training! there is a masters in financial engineering in NUS. heard very good. friend got in fresh grad already about 6k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Yes as i said above, engineer pay is higher than business only for first couple of years, after 5 yrs, the business guy's pay will easily double the engineer's. Happened between me and my wife LOL just take into consideration auditor pay vs engineer pay. engineer fresh grad about 2.8-3k. every yr 3-5% Per yr. auditor fresh grad about 2.7k but annual increment $500-800 less than 5 yrs already big diff liaoz. even for engineer to senior engineer take abt 5-10 yrs. senior engineer abt 5-6k? if auditor stay in big 4 for 10 yrs easily 8-10k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 just take into consideration auditor pay vs engineer pay. engineer fresh grad about 2.8-3k. every yr 3-5% Per yr. auditor fresh grad about 2.7k but annual increment $500-800 less than 5 yrs already big diff liaoz. even for engineer to senior engineer take abt 5-10 yrs. senior engineer abt 5-6k? if auditor stay in big 4 for 10 yrs easily 8-10k One of my company's auditor was a Mech Engineering grad. He switched over upon grad, slowly got his various auditor cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 when he audits the accounts, got check if the metal rings on those arch files are mechanically sound boh? Extra value added service/audit. One of my company's auditor was a Mech Engineering grad. He switched over upon grad, slowly got his various auditor cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 One of my company's auditor was a Mech Engineering grad. He switched over upon grad, slowly got his various auditor cert. one thing about auditing is the barrier to entry are relatively low. don't even need a relevant degree. just ACCA will do. that said. ACCA also not easy. get the chartered accountant then huat liaoz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 when he audits the accounts, got check if the metal rings on those arch files are mechanically sound boh? Extra value added service/audit. This one not power enough. Another former colleague, NUS Mech Engineer grad. Joined my company as IT Specialist. Then moved on to Marketing Executive and on to Operations Manager and kena head hunted by other company. He never used his degree background at all. Not sure where he is now. one thing about auditing is the barrier to entry are relatively low. don't even need a relevant degree. just ACCA will do. that said. ACCA also not easy. get the chartered accountant then huat liaoz. He was with one of the big four before coming over to my company. During our chit chat, he told me he was a mech engineer trained that surprised me. Not sure in detail how he did it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 3.5k not good enough? I was pay 2.2k when I started worked. People are very demanding these days..... you cannot compare like that la... last time 1 plate chicken rice $2/- last time coe < 5k last time hdb 5bdroom < 200k how i wish can go back to those times.. This one not power enough. Another former colleague, NUS Mech Engineer grad. Joined my company as IT Specialist. Then moved on to Marketing Executive and on to Operations Manager and kena head hunted by other company. the degree is but a stepping stone... open door liao.. must have different skill sets to get further... of cus luck to meet the right 恩人 also must have... 恩人啊... where art thou?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Engineering is generally: Underpaid (when compared to other line) Overworked (alot of thinking to do, multi tasking, 50% of my time spent in doing actual engineering work, another 50% project management) But the satisfication when i complete a project from start to finish is priceless. Thoughts coming from an engineer.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Engineering is generally: Underpaid (when compared to other line) Overworked (alot of thinking to do, multi tasking, 50% of my time spent in doing actual engineering work, another 50% project management) But the satisfication when i complete a project from start to finish is priceless. Thoughts coming from an engineer.. i have no regrets doing engineering. but then again, i was lucky because i wasn't stuck in a dead end engineering role. but its not a career i would recommend for everyone. given the state of engineering nowadays, i wouldn't want my children to do engineering in future if possible. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Yes as i said above, engineer pay is higher than business only for first couple of years, after 5 yrs, the business guy's pay will easily double the engineer's. Happened between me and my wife LOL Maybe still depends on which field and which company. Some people who is a business degree, even working for more than 5 years, pay also not say very high. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Engineering is dead in SG. Replaced by cheap FT. Go to finance, you'll make more money there. I know, I was once an engineer. Which field of Finance can make more money ? Teach me leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Which field of Finance can make more money ? Teach me leh.. i guess almost all fields of finance will earn more than the average engineer bah just look around your own social circle. what car is the average finance professional is driving vs what car an average engineer is driving? you have your answer there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 (edited) Finance unless do sales, otherwise for back room operations, middle office will be just normal payout like the rest. not forgetting long hours Me doing Ops currently but not in banks. Edited October 27, 2014 by Rollagt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...