Lala81 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Err usually they are not likeable or cute/handsome. Anyway these shows overdramatise +++ I never watch all these shows other than ER or scrubs (for the humor) you mean like this guy? lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Accountant math is bery easy one +-x/ only haha the headache is when the numbers don't tally ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 dunno leh. i find engineering degree obselete very fast though and usually quite irrelevant to the work place. even when i was doing hard core engineering work, i think i used less than 5% of my degree knowledge? lol how many of you engineers here really utilise the engineering knowledge you learnt in your degree? Probably your overall knowledge is broad but just that over the years due to lack of usage & forgotten most of it. Singapore medicine is also like that. Angmoh teach differently. They show u something then explain the theory behind it. In a way it's better, they retain more. so they are more narrow based but the people seem to retain it better. Not sure if engine is like that also (as taught by the europeans). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 haha the headache is when the numbers don't tally ? Don tally is not because of add plus time divide [if it is, then is careless lor) Don't tally is use apply pricinple wrongly Sometimes even if tally, answer can still be wrong due to wrong accounting principle But basic accounting is obselete even before I started studying, simi software can use True Accounting is applying the principle and looking for kangtaos to fit the business purpose Don tally is not because of add plus time divide [if it is, then is careless lor) Don't tally is use apply pricinple wrongly Sometimes even if tally, answer can still be wrong due to wrong accounting principle But basic accounting is obselete even before I started studying, simi software can use True Accounting is applying the principle and looking for kangtaos to fit the business purpose But don't break the law lah Wait ah gong cum and catch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 (edited) Don tally is not because of add plus time divide [if it is, then is careless lor) Don't tally is use apply pricinple wrongly Sometimes even if tally, answer can still be wrong due to wrong accounting principle But basic accounting is obselete even before I started studying, simi software can use True Accounting is applying the principle and looking for kangtaos to fit the business purpose ok. My sister did audit for a few years. so I don't really know what regular accountants do haha. Edited October 27, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 ok. My sister did audit for a few years. so I don't really know what regular accountants do haha. Audit is very hard life Heng I no do Liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 Everyone seems to think that biz courses are easier, and the road to big salaries. But forgot that barriers to entry are low, and even then, if a person has NO interest in business, marketing and finance, it would not be advisable to take up such courses or jobs either. Same as for engineering. Being engineer, I had the chance to do some business modules as well. Personally, it wasn't interesting to me. Economics is so-so, more appealing to me as there was some sort of logic to it. Marketing is mostly wishy-washy stuff. And the math in Finance can be quite tough too. Problem with many of our engineering students, and why they lose out to FTs, is that they are not very hands-on. Mostly book knowledge only. Many don't even know how to properly chuck and drill metal or the various ways to fasten metal parts together. And we're talking DEGREE holders here... How to draw high pay? Worse, nowadays there are more "shake-and-bake" (read: instant) engineering courses here in poly and univ, shortening the duration of study, but learning even less! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Everyone seems to think that biz courses are easier, and the road to big salaries. But forgot that barriers to entry are low, and even then, if a person has NO interest in business, marketing and finance, it would not be advisable to take up such courses or jobs either. Same as for engineering. Being engineer, I had the chance to do some business modules as well. Personally, it wasn't interesting to me. Economics is so-so, more appealing to me as there was some sort of logic to it. Marketing is mostly wishy-washy stuff. And the math in Finance can be quite tough too. Problem with many of our engineering students, and why they lose out to FTs, is that they are not very hands-on. Mostly book knowledge only. Many don't even know how to properly chuck and drill metal or the various ways to fasten metal parts together. And we're talking DEGREE holders here... How to draw high pay? Worse, nowadays there are more "shake-and-bake" (read: instant) engineering courses here in poly and univ, shortening the duration of study, but learning even less! More often than not local companies have a hand in producing desk top paper engineers. Overseas... engineers have to OJT from operators to technicians to AE and then finally engineer... engineer title also not given liberally... theories learnt during coursework can then be used to good effect.. tat is wat sets engineers apart from operators/technicians... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Problem with many of our engineering students, and why they lose out to FTs, is that they are not very hands-on. Mostly book knowledge only. Many don't even know how to properly chuck and drill metal or the various ways to fasten metal parts together. And we're talking DEGREE holders here... How to draw high pay? Worse, nowadays there are more "shake-and-bake" (read: instant) engineering courses here in poly and univ, shortening the duration of study, but learning even less Yes the hands on part is true. But even with hands on, an equivalent guy from india, china, myammar or philip whose family is sill back home in some low cost village will easily undercut on salary alone. And more often than not thats what companies are doing. Its simply not an attractive career when th facts on the ground is going downhill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 The 3.5k was starting pay without any working experience. Now engineering degree also quite fast. SIT only 2 years. 3.5k starting pay quite high! Some people with degree even work for many years, pay only close to 4k. Unless the person move up to become manager, then only could hit 5k! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 at the end of the day, it depends on which sector the gahment wants to push... trending was industrialisation-manufacturing-engineering-pharma-biosc-financial-service just look at the number of engineering grads to other disciplines you will know why engineering paid like bagalas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 at the end of the day, it depends on which sector the gahment wants to push... trending was industrialisation-manufacturing-engineering-pharma-biosc-financial-service just look at the number of engineering grads to other disciplines you will know why engineering paid like bagalas Bioscience was a big thing for a couple of years, then it died down.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 (edited) Another..... just like semicon, etc..... When people went on to poly to study biotech spouting all the niceties years back, I wanted to laugh at them. They were brainwashed with great career prospects. But, the reality is, most biotech, bioscience degree holders are actually washing test tubes and beakers for a living. You need at least a PhD in this R&D line to do something more meaningful than test tubes washers. If they have no aptitude or means to further their studies to PhD, their careers are pretty much limited. Yes, can do sales (provided you have the ren yuan), you also need at least a bachelor degree. Of course, you can branch out to healthcare etc etc... but it's all wasting people time and precious resources in a way. Unlike engineering which is much more versatile, getting a basic biotech qualification is another story. And to compound the problem, we have plenty of ready imports in this sector. Even my PRC neighbour who is in this line, run road to USA after he gotten SG Citizenship, for better pay and prospects. Bioscience was a big thing for a couple of years, then it died down.. Edited October 28, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 actually real engineer below to what sector ah? i very confuse...coz every here n there i will see engineer title iirc i saw Sales Engineer before construction consultant also Engineer Manufacturing line also got Engineer etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 3.5k starting pay quite high! Some people with degree even work for many years, pay only close to 4k. Unless the person move up to become manager, then only could hit 5k! Now I think 3.5k should be quite normal? Most of my friends who just graduated are getting 3.2-3.3k on average. Quite a number getting 3.5k and some getting above 4k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 I was an engineer for 5 years before moving to finance. at the finance interview, the interviewer thought my pay after 5 years in engineering was 8k and told me they can only pay me fresh grad pay. then i found out their fresh grad pay was still more than my last drawn engineering pay... thats 2008 before Lehman by the way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 The grass always look greener on the other side. Given the way things are moving globally in today's highly interconnected world, tables can turn around quickly. Today's well-paying trade/industry may quickly become obsolete tomorrow. I believe the best is to do what you are good at and comfortable doing and focus on doing it well. At the same time constantly upgrade yourself and keep abreast of the latest development in your trade/industry and not get caught behind the curve. It is the survival of the fittest. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Can talk normally cannot work or not as good. Cannot talk well one normally very good at work. Seldom you see can work and can talk one. Being able to communiate & present well, & ability to work is not mutually exclusive. You can be decent in both. The important thing is to make a real effort to do so (as oppose to give an excuse that you can only be one, or the other) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...