Why volvo so expensive?

Tiger1

Volvo owners majority Kiasi Kiasu Ah Pek.

But lately, seen many youngster driving this machine.

Could be volvo recent car design quite nice and not boxy boring design liao. Like the XC60, find this SUV so chio, if i can afford to buy, i confirm get one.

actually volvo is very highly rated in europe and rest of the world , not any less then BMs or BENZ, only in singapore its not as popular.

Still remember volvo quite popular in the 90s, models like the 240, 940 and 960.

xc60 T5 is a drinker!!!

If you can afford to buy XC60, dont think you will be bother about the fc. Edited by 13177

volvo have never been cheaply priced since donkey years...even before they come out with all the new design...in summary...volvo is not for everyone..is either you like it or you don't ....alternative....want cheaper option......go buy VW....

Edited by LoverofCar

If you value a comfortable ride over handling, go for the brickmobile and stay away from Bimmers. It has the most comfortable driver seat among cars too.

Outside warranty period, don't bother to service at the official dealer (at least 2-3 times more expensive).

The old 5-cylinder turbo (even the 2.0) is fun, quiet (if you don't floor it), sings better than any 4-bangers (if you do!) and economical enough. I get slightly more than 8km/litre in my ppc-chipped 229hp van and I zoom from A to B.

Exactly. Expensive car then people want mah. Cheap car who wants?

Look at Skoda. Good and cheap car, but nobody wants.

Frankly, Volvo brand has neber been cheap. Cannot compare to Skoda which has been selling at affordable price all the while. If they were to price it expensive, lagi nobody will buy.

^_^

• Dislike 1

Surprised that nobody mentioned the high servicing costs. Understand that it is more expensive than Mercedes and BMW.

And you hear this from?

• Dislike 1

Bro,

Volvo has always been sold as a premium conti overseas, almost same price as bmw. Just that Singaporeans got no mind of their own, only like to buy cars other people buy, that's why BMW got a "inflated" premium status. That's why so many buy the cheapo bmw 320. Rather take the XC 60 any day. the Swede is definitely a better drive than the sluggish german. Buy the XC 60, you can let the 520 smell your exhaust at the traffic light.

Observed that volvo's recent pricings are quite high, nearing the region of BMs. For eg, a 2013 xc60 can buy a 2013 BMW 520 liao. Why hur?

Price $222,000
Road Tax $1,212 / year
Transmission Auto
Engine Cap 1,999 cc
Power 177.0 kW (237 bhp)
Reg Date 26-Nov-2013
Mileage 4,000 km
Features Turbocharged Engine Producing 240BHP, 6 Speed Powershift Auto Transmission, Keyless Entry, Push Start/Stop Button, Bluetooth Hands Free.
Accessories Premium Leather Upholstery, Sporty R-Design Exterior Styling, 20" R-Design Rims, High Performance Sound System, Factory Fitted Rear Camera
Description Active Bi Xenon Head Lamps, Active Sports Chassis, Great Value Management Car, Viewing By Appointment, Call Now For More Information!
COE $93,889
OMV $42,239
ARF $51,212
Depreciation -
No. of Owners 1
Type of Veh SUV
Category PARF Car, Almost New Car
Availability
Available

Posted on: 07-Feb-2014 | Last Updated on: 18-Feb-2014
Tags: Volvo XC60, 2013 Volvo XC60, Volvo, XC60, Used Volvo

Sure, so premium until kenna bought over by Geely...haha.

because Geely more premium than Volvo,

same thing like TATA more premium than Land rover and Jaguar [:p]

anyway, it's good for consumers, in soon future, chaeper Volvo/Land rover/Jajuar will be in market :D

Surprised that nobody mentioned the high servicing costs. Understand that it is more expensive than Mercedes and BMW.

Ws told me volvo parts are cheaper than the two brands that u had mentioned.

I just thought to put in a few words here on my thoughts on Volvo.

1) It's unlikely to have the MIC Volvo sold here in the near future and I doubt price will drop materialistically, if at all. Even if they decide to do so, this will then cause further drops in demands as well (we all know why). Volvo sells MIC versions in China with models that are suitable for their local market such as a S60L (I leave you to guess what that means). Right now, we get the European-made ones.

2) Volvo's chinese name is 沃尔沃 not 富豪.

3) As for servicing charges, if someone cares to reveal Merc and BMW's servicing charges, we can certainly do a comparison but it's tedious (what's changed at what mileage is different for different brands). Of course, the pricing has to be authorized dealer's pricing not external workshops. And for the record, it's not cheap in absolute terms but I also wonder in relation to the other brands, what is their positioning. Just for all to know, Wearnes has internal KPIs to return car to user on same day, reduce repeat visits and reduce waiting time. It also has an express servicing. Wearnes pay for your taxi ride after you drop off your car. Depending on the situation, they can also pick up and drop off your car for you with advance notice.

4) Volvo is definitely not the cheapest conti car. I can think of Skoda and VW already.

the service recept says ~$800 for normal service.

seems expensive but dunno how it compares with Merc and BMW...

Depending on the situation, they can also pick up and drop off your car for you with advance notice.

this is chargeable right?

i know C&C offered this FOC to Merc owners...

Purely anecdotal, but I had a friend who had an s60 and e200 at home, both serviced by the respective AD.

Friend also say wowo servicing more expensive than mercherlees.

I just thought to put in a few words here on my thoughts on Volvo.

1) It's unlikely to have the MIC Volvo sold here in the near future and I doubt price will drop materialistically, if at all. Even if they decide to do so, this will then cause further drops in demands as well (we all know why). Volvo sells MIC versions in China with models that are suitable for their local market such as a S60L (I leave you to guess what that means). Right now, we get the European-made ones.

2) Volvo's chinese name is 沃尔沃 not 富豪.

3) As for servicing charges, if someone cares to reveal Merc and BMW's servicing charges, we can certainly do a comparison but it's tedious (what's changed at what mileage is different for different brands). Of course, the pricing has to be authorized dealer's pricing not external workshops. And for the record, it's not cheap in absolute terms but I also wonder in relation to the other brands, what is their positioning. Just for all to know, Wearnes has internal KPIs to return car to user on same day, reduce repeat visits and reduce waiting time. It also has an express servicing. Wearnes pay for your taxi ride after you drop off your car. Depending on the situation, they can also pick up and drop off your car for you with advance notice.

4) Volvo is definitely not the cheapest conti car. I can think of Skoda and VW already.

Agree on the service experience, best in class probably sharing with Lexus some says.

An additional few hundred more for servicing with that premium feel.....that is the different between owning a b&b brand vs premium brand...again.....please go buy VW lah...don't crowd wowo service centre..