Kangadrool Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 must have e-envelopes too. and e-glue will be on the way too. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Singtel has an add-on service for Whatsapp and Facebook to user who are without data plan at about $6+ per month. I was interested and called the customer service and was told user need to turn on the data network on the phone to access to the service, but when asked if this will risk the excess data if other apps are running on backend and tap on the mobile network? they say it will be charged! wtf! meaning if you need to use the apps, then you turn on the mobile network and 'hope' that you won't incur additional data charge cos 1) you duno what apps are running behind the system, 2) you did not accidentally press FB or Internet browser while, 3) you DO NOT click the link that was shown in the whatsapp messages. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 sinktel not happy bcuz they can't have their cake and eat it too. They sell you for a fixed price; voice, sms and data. Voice makes the most money for them when you exceed your quota, followed by data if you're not careful about roaming charges. When voice and sms starts going into local data, they lose money. So they can try to claim back from service providers or curtail customers data quota or slow it down. Just like ERP. Make you pay more bcuz you ask for it. Oh yeah, they want to make the world a better place to live in by charging you more and bringing in more profits. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 This is an interesting discussion. I can see from ISPs' POV, simple I want more money and I'm not getting any money from whatsapp, wechat etc. First, they don't use ISP servers to host because they have their own, except they may have subscript to a single ISP for using the bandwidth so whatsapp is already paying for bandwidth. ISP or rather those in mobile / internet biz will lose on their SMS and MMS subscriptions. This is what they are worried about not the use of their bandwidth, it is just a silly excuse to charge whatsapp. If people still use whatsapp, nobody will exceed the "free" SMSes given to them then it would not be profitable for them to keep the service. Just imagine, paying say $39 per month with 200 "free" SMSes,, 1GB of data (4G). If whatsapp data is only say about 2kb per mesg, it would be almost equivalent to 500,000 over "free" SMSes... comparing to their 1 excess SMS cost $0.0535 they would have lost $26,750 per subscribers, of course the ISP will be "red-eyes"... hahaaa 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Might as well ask SingTel to sell only the basic phone, Calls & SMS only ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Might as well ask SingTel to sell only the basic phone, Calls & SMS only ..... Maybe that's what they want, just that IDA don't allow them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 singtel sld go buy up whatsapp..............than buy up line............and buy up wechat...........buy buy buy..........I thought they were very good in buy buy buy............ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 singtel sld go buy up whatsapp..............than buy up line............and buy up wechat...........buy buy buy..........I thought they were very good in buy buy buy............ [laugh] Maybe the good ones don't want to sell to them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Not that they have a choice. WhatsApp, with the new services such as voice calls rolling out soon, threatens their very existence. It's a do-or-die situation for them. Time to avoid singtel. the dumbass woman doesn't seem to understand how the internet works. might as well start charging for email too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Technology merging is inevitable. Voice, data, text and even video is going to merge. And they all go into a data stream, be it fibre, cable, wireless or cellular. Service provider can either innovate, jump on the bandwagon first or kpkb to authorities to protect them. When you do the last, you're anti-competition. Imagine a new video service come along and provide high QOS, streaming HD video for free or sells by advert. What does sinktel and sh do ? Complain, block service or charge people when they are already selling bandwidth ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Maybe the good ones don't want to sell to them. their shareholder sibei rich mah...........use back door purchase lor............lol................ [:p] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Not that they have a choice. WhatsApp, with the new services such as voice calls rolling out soon, threatens their very existence. It's a do-or-die situation for them. Either you roll out relevant services, or you go extinct. Just because they own all the pipes doesn't mean they can sit back and shake legs and yet expect money to roll in. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spanly 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 The big winners are these OTT providers. They didn't need to invest in any of the infrastructure to support the ever increasing bandwidth demand; just riding free on the bandwidth that the telcos needs to put in place... At the same time, since they don't charge their users for using their apps, everyone happy & no one will kpkb(network down also not their problem what) on them... they're the saint. Meanwhile, the telcos are facing increasing pressure due to the loss of revenue as they now earn less on SMSes, international calls(used to be a fat cow for them) plus heavy demand for data so need to spend more to expend their networks etc.. & have to incur the wrath from all of us by lowering our bundled data & all this talk... they've to play the devil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Soon we will see this - 2GB data bundle (excludes Whatsapp, Wechat, Line, Facebook, Google, MCF, and whichever website you can think of except Singtel.com and all gahmen websites) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 That is the stone-age mentality that they have. And it's the easiest way out for them actually instead of gritting their teeth and then putting in the energy and investments to develop talent which can create cutting-edge technology. How many industry-shaking innovations have they come up in the last ten years? It won't be easy for them to innovate and better WhatsApp at their own game; a pity actually given the tremendous amount of resources that they have. Either you roll out relevant services, or you go extinct. Just because they own all the pipes doesn't mean they can sit back and shake legs and yet expect money to roll in. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 They do this, byebye singtel for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 (edited) I sincerely hope Singtel would start charging whatsapp company money But I also hope whatsapp co won't pay When massive subscribers migrate to other telcos, I love to see stinktel kneel down and say sorry to whatsapp co And when stinktel say sorry, I hope whatsapp co will never allow them to carry the services anymore Once stinktel loses massive subscribers, I hope to see liquidators come in to slaughter the fat cats Already we have seen such destructive revenue policies, at the public detriment, in mrt Now a glc wants to do the same? Wow! 2016 bros! Squeeze stinktel where it really hurt the most, their bosses balls Don't forget last time who spoil the World Cup market by bidding high high? Don't forget when the govt allowed other operators to come in, the fixed line fees dropped from $20 plus to less than $10? All hail the Internet! Edited February 27, 2014 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 If Singtel want to charge FB/Whatsapp, FB also can charge Singtel for using FB page. From the culture of Singapore, especially an organisation that is indirectly owned by the ruling party, we all know where they will put the costs of paying FB to very well... end of the day, double suffer... Die loh... Like that we better start buying pigeons and send messages tied to pigeon's legs. Massive step back for civilization when that happens. AVA+MOM will come out say you must pay the pigeon for working for you. cannot exceed 44hrs/week otherwise must give extra nuts. DAMN! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...