Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Doesn't RC have their own fun raising projects to gather funds for residents activities ? This money collected from old newspaper collection, old clothing, ... etc. And also sponsorships from neighbourhood shops, funding from CCMC. If really they wanted to gather all resident for bonding, just a token sum of $1/- for all residents will do but why the discriminating of old & new citizen. Gone were the days in the past years where RC members actively works for the residents, doing house visits and really know their residents especially the old folks cos this are the old folks who stays at home alone where their children at work. Nowadays, I hardly see any RC members visiting houses and any happening or activities within the zone, you are "yourself" to go to the centre lift lobby to read at their notice board. If you don't look at the notice board, you don't even know what happening in your zone. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 I think there are many ways to phrase their intention to promote their intended activities. They could have said," In order to attract new citizens to join our activities and forge a better relationship with their neighbours we are offering a special discount (there's no need to specify how much since existing citizens are already paying like $3)" for the new citizens. Just highlight the "special discount". This will not be seen as discrimination as previously did. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 What is new? Our telco has been practicing such "discrimination" since competition started in the 90s. Attractive discount and peaks offered to new subscribers, while recontract customers get absolutely nothing (or if one is thick skin or have some time to spare, can call the customer service to "beg" for some discount vouchers). 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Issued apology liao, as usual HONEST mistake...knn Asking us to MOVE ON. https://www.facebook.com/MacPhersonRcZoneB/posts/582835851840424 It has come to our attention that the different ticket pricing for our event last Sunday has caused some disquiet. We sincerely apologize for what happened and would like to offer an account of what happened. The event on Sunday was intended to bring residents of MacPherson Zone B together, to catch up with neighbors and to promote greater cohesion and integration. As such, one of our objectives was to encourage new citizens to join community events where we have seen friendships forged over the years. We thought that a lower ticket price will encourage more new citizens to come forward. In doing so, we have neglected the feelings of the majority of our residents. It was a once-off decision by our committee to charge differently and definitely not a policy of the MacPherson grassroots. We have absolutely no ill intent but we recognize that it was an unwise decision. As fellow residents, we have never harboured any intent of discriminating fellow citizens. It is our mission to bring people together and we cherish the opportunity to volunteer and serve our community. This episode is an honest error in judgement on our part. We are truly humbled by this and thank everyone for pointing out how we had erred. We have learnt from this episode. We are always grateful for the support that our residents have given us. We endeavor to continue improving ourselves and serve as best as we can. Thank you for your understanding and generosity. Never think that different ticket pricing will discourage locals to join in? ha ha! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Screenshot_20170803-024558.png sketch-1501699635432.png http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/firms-need-to-cooperate-to-build-industry-wide-capabilities-heng-9086344?cid=fbcna This one sums up what's wrong with the government. Because of big government, keep expending, keep increase regulations and makes companies more difficult to operate and increase expenses. If government size could reduce, reduce government regulations, government would have less expenses and that will reduce taxes and will help companies. But doubt that will happen as government keep thinking big government is the solution. Just yesterday, I read lta clarified that taxi and private hires are not allowed to deliver goods to earn income. See this one also want to regulate.. Everything government also want to regulate and increase the size of government. Where do all these money come from that need to fund big government? It's from private sector, its from our taxpayers. So end up how? Increase government = increase in taxes and etc and end up everyone suffer. Everyone suffer because all will be paying higher taxes with more regulations and makes things more difficult for companies and people to do work. Keep expanding means they have more excuses to increase their perks and million dollars salaries. But gonna agree on your points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Issued apology liao, as usual HONEST mistake...knn Asking us to MOVE ON. https://www.facebook.com/MacPhersonRcZoneB/posts/582835851840424 It has come to our attention that the different ticket pricing for our event last Sunday has caused some disquiet. We sincerely apologize for what happened and would like to offer an account of what happened. The event on Sunday was intended to bring residents of MacPherson Zone B together, to catch up with neighbors and to promote greater cohesion and integration. As such, one of our objectives was to encourage new citizens to join community events where we have seen friendships forged over the years. We thought that a lower ticket price will encourage more new citizens to come forward. In doing so, we have neglected the feelings of the majority of our residents. It was a once-off decision by our committee to charge differently and definitely not a policy of the MacPherson grassroots. We have absolutely no ill intent but we recognize that it was an unwise decision. As fellow residents, we have never harboured any intent of discriminating fellow citizens. It is our mission to bring people together and we cherish the opportunity to volunteer and serve our community. This episode is an honest error in judgement on our part. We are truly humbled by this and thank everyone for pointing out how we had erred. We have learnt from this episode. We are always grateful for the support that our residents have given us. We endeavor to continue improving ourselves and serve as best as we can. Thank you for your understanding and generosity. This is what you get when you have narrow minded people or volunteer run a RC, they can't think beyond their intended objective. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Bo wei gong. Cock up 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Bo wei gong. Cock up Someone once said, "Call a spade a spade". How the heck did the flyer write-up get past QC? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Never think that different ticket pricing will discourage locals to join in? ha ha! Needless to say, must be one of the new citizens within the RC who proposed this, other new citizens supported it, and then the bosses all as usual bochup to check and think, and say 'OK - pls proceed'. Now say error of judgement, then everything sweep under carpet liao lor. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Someone once said, "Call a spade a spade". How the heck did the flyer write-up get past QC? There is no such thing as QC here for very long liao. This is why there are so many problems everywhere here, lift, mrt and roads etc. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Someone once said, "Call a spade a spade". How the heck did the flyer write-up get past QC? I can understand if someone designing the banner is not PC or PR savvy. But this one is macham like level 3 beginner level lesson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Hahahahaha Passion Card? Got moi for free under ns50. Can use for what i also dunno. All i know is i got a free ezlink card.The source of their funds is very obvious right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Issued apology liao, as usual HONEST mistake...knn Asking us to MOVE ON. if every 699 still NIMBY care about HDB price, scare this scare that, then nothing will change and everyone just continue to suck it up. But dun when things happen to the people around you then start to complain cos you had that one vote to make it count. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 if every 699 still NIMBY care about HDB price, scare this scare that, then nothing will change and everyone just continue to suck it up. But dun when things happen to the people around you then start to complain cos you had that one vote to make it count. It's too late bro. After seeing the result of GE2015, I have given up on the political scene here. Instead of opposition gaining more support, the PAP got 70% support. Don't make me post the Kenneth Jeyaretnam photo here man. Some Singaporeans just loved been screwed in the arse, KPKB a bit then come back for more. Anyway, must be damn stressful for the RC members to issue an apology past midnight. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Seriously, thinking out loud. If there are no FTs or new citizens, will there be any significant issues for our economy? If we do not collaborate with governments of the world, how or will we survive? I trust we are fine with the construction sites/roads and maids type of "FTs". If the government really pay salaries in the same range as those of our neighbours, will we be able to attract the "right" type of people to serve, given that the world is definitely a much different place than say, in our fathers'/grandfathers'era...that there are more choices to better lives or career opportunities? In the same token, in all honesty but I guess this is a virtue politicians seldom relate to, does having high salaries really enable more capable citizens to stay put and serve the ppl? Perhaps, because I often look from a bigger picture perspective ie what the world outside is facing daily which can mean that I do miss out on just the red dot, my home per se. I suppose the most ideal is red dot island is strong and united to face the diverse conditions of the world. It is still the bottom line that matters to all governments. The cheapest labour, the cheapest land, the cheapest materials etc that will attract more businesses e.g. China which have had the fastest growth when businesses all over the world flocked there to set up factories etc. It is little wonder they became a super power so fast. It's world war in progress now. Weapon of aggression : Economy. Just my thoughts. I think we will fare poorly in light of those competition. We have nothing but lots of kpkb ppl. After all that kpkb, these either migrate to a better place to enjoy another 2nd class citizenship or stay on to work till death. Yes, the future is bleak. Better start now to jump ship. No hope liao. Must change government paying world salary scale but cannot have any side income of any sort. If possible all in power must walk, take bus. Train is for those who can tahan breakdowns only. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 It's too late bro. After seeing the result of GE2015, I have given up on the political scene here. Instead of opposition gaining more support, the PAP got 70% support. Don't make me post the Kenneth Jeyaretnam photo here man. Some Singaporeans just loved been screwed in the arse, KPKB a bit then come back for more. Anyway, must be damn stressful for the RC members to issue an apology past midnight. Cannot give u anymore up.... Sgreans love PAP no matter what... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 Mostly agree. Seriously, thinking out loud. If there are no FTs or new citizens, will there be any significant issues for our economy? If we do not collaborate with governments of the world, how or will we survive?I trust we are fine with the construction sites/roads and maids type of "FTs".If the government really pay salaries in the same range as those of our neighbours, will we be able to attract the "right" type of people to serve, given that the world is definitely a much different place than say, in our fathers'/grandfathers'era...that there are more choices to better lives or career opportunities? In the same token, in all honesty but I guess this is a virtue politicians seldom relate to, does having high salaries really enable more capable citizens to stay put and serve the ppl?Perhaps, because I often look from a bigger picture perspective ie what the world outside is facing daily which can mean that I do miss out on just the red dot, my home per se.I suppose the most ideal is red dot island is strong and united to face the diverse conditions of the world. It is still the bottom line that matters to all governments. The cheapest labour, the cheapest land, the cheapest materials etc that will attract more businesses e.g. China which have had the fastest growth when businesses all over the world flocked there to set up factories etc. It is little wonder they became a super power so fast. It's world war in progress now. Weapon of aggression : Economy.Just my thoughts. I think we will fare poorly in light of those competition. We have nothing but lots of kpkb ppl. After all that kpkb, these either migrate to a better place to enjoy another 2nd class citizenship or stay on to work till death. Yes, the future is bleak. Better start now to jump ship. No hope liao. Must change government paying world salary scale but cannot have any side income of any sort. If possible all in power must walk, take bus. Train is for those who can tahan breakdowns only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 3, 2017 Share August 3, 2017 It's too late bro. After seeing the result of GE2015, I have given up on the political scene here. Instead of opposition gaining more support, the PAP got 70% support. Don't make me post the Kenneth Jeyaretnam photo here man. Some Singaporeans just loved been screwed in the arse, KPKB a bit then come back for more. Anyway, must be damn stressful for the RC members to issue an apology past midnight. You are right, there is no more hope on the political scene here liao. Majority people only complain here and not happy things here, but when comes to actual GE, they still love the white. Maybe could be also the opposition did not do much, so people also cannot pin any hope on them, so might as well continue to get screwed. Lol. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...