Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

there's always a captive market for it.

Although many gave up after 2-3 months driving with them, and yet there is another new group join them. If not we would not see so many uber cars on the road liao.

The rental is kindof high at $455 per week... 1 month at least $1800 liao

I think the sonata cabs are like $110 or so a day?

Never thought of that and you are right! It's still cheaper than taxi rental and still driving a 'private' car  :yeah-im-not-drunk: 

Although many gave up after 2-3 months driving with them, and yet there is another new group join them. If not we would not see so many uber cars on the road liao.

A sucker is born everyday.

Used to be one of them.

Can  I ask is the payment by Uber prompt?

If yes, how does it works..

Thank you

Yes, payment is prompt, every week. So far no issue. Grab on the other hand, delayed up to a month sometimes. 

With your reply, it is suffice to say the both are having the same problem...

I actually have a friend who is driving a taxi now and challenge me to take up Grab or Uber and from his passenger's feedback, many gave up after 2 to 3 months driving with them.

But if you look at the way they advertise, many will fall into the hole with their marketing strategy.

Many gave up because mindset is different. There are even more that continues driving making use of the apps to their advantage, just that you have not met them yet. Uber/Grab is not a get quick rich scheme. Guarantee you will NOT become millionaire or whatever aire driving Uber/Grab, not to mention Taxis. Don't believe what others say or advertise until you do your maths before trying, then again, 1 to 3 month trial is only for them to get into the real world of being a PH. Nothing comes free, otherwise, most Taxis drivers will not be complaining about government or how their own lives sucks. 

Used to be one of them.

No doubt about it, otherwise there will not be losers when everybody keeps winning. 

LOL.... No need to plea, beg or harass...

黄先生,新加坡是讲法律的。找个好律师。。。

Lawyer?

Can't even find the guy or the car. What can the lawyer do?

Used to be one of them.

When did you start and end?

My information was that those that started early could really make decent money. 

Yes, payment is prompt, every week. So far no issue. Grab on the other hand, delayed up to a month sometimes. 

Temasek mah.

If really cannot get your money then go look for Ho Ching lor. Either that or go outside Tan Chong motors and protest lor.

Edited by Kusje

Many gave up because mindset is different. There are even more that continues driving making use of the apps to their advantage, just that you have not met them yet. Uber/Grab is not a get quick rich scheme. Guarantee you will NOT become millionaire or whatever aire driving Uber/Grab, not to mention Taxis. Don't believe what others say or advertise until you do your maths before trying, then again, 1 to 3 month trial is only for them to get into the real world of being a PH. Nothing comes free, otherwise, most Taxis drivers will not be complaining about government or how their own lives sucks. 

No doubt about it, otherwise there will not be losers when everybody keeps winning. 

Agree, Driving for a living is different from driving for own pleasure.  

on the other hand, there is always a market of ppl who want to try drive Uber/Grab.  I even heard of young university students doing it on part time basis.  Its a good way to supplement their living expenses. But the fallout rate is also high.  Ppl will try for few to 6 months and give up. 

Where got so good in this world?  The reality will set in and ppl will know that its not easy earning that couple of thousands per month.

And i'm still not convinced that with Uber buying so many cars recently, how the hell will this biz model sustain...... 

Agree, Driving for a living is different from driving for own pleasure.  

on the other hand, there is always a market of ppl who want to try drive Uber/Grab.  I even heard of young university students doing it on part time basis.  Its a good way to supplement their living expenses. But the fallout rate is also high.  Ppl will try for few to 6 months and give up. 

Where got so good in this world?  The reality will set in and ppl will know that its not easy earning that couple of thousands per month.

And i'm still not convinced that with Uber buying so many cars recently, how the hell will this biz model sustain...... 

This looks likely a short term fix model for the authorities to calm the mass ex-taxis users crying foul of no cab when they need one, as well as sardine MRT uses. Once the fix is in place or minimized, a clamp down on PH will begin. Till then, Drivers should just keep quiet and work the way in their favor when they still can.

Grab no worries even if payment delayed. On the other hand if you got any issues with uber,you will never get your issues solved cos they don't have a proper office department for people to look into and no telephone to call also.

Huh?? You sure we are talking about the same Uber? or some 3rd party apps company call Luber or Laber or UYer or something?? No office to call? No telephone number ??? LOL!! 

Okok..... am not here to argue. If you say no proper office, no telephone and you believe so without actually physically finding out or going down to their real office (not virtue ones), and only hear say....... so be it. I rest my case. 

then can you tell me what's the telephone number of uber in Singapore.They don't even have proper department for different purpose,mind you.By the way uber is just an app platform for riders to connect with drivers.

Huh?? You sure we are talking about the same Uber? or some 3rd party apps company call Luber or Laber or UYer or something?? No office to call? No telephone number ??? LOL!! 

Okok..... am not here to argue. If you say no proper office, no telephone and you believe so without actually physically finding out or going down to their real office (not virtue ones), and only hear say....... so be it. I rest my case. 

then can you tell me what's the telephone number of uber in Singapore.They don't even have proper department for different purpose,mind you.By the way uber is just an app platform for riders to connect with drivers.

So shiok.. drive brand new car no need pay 35k down payment. I felt am being jealous we paid 30-35k? Than can get to feel a new car in sg.

post-145795-0-00070400-1477544249_thumb.jpg

Edited by tanyingjie

then can you tell me what's the telephone number of uber in Singapore.They don't even have proper department for different purpose,mind you.By the way uber is just an app platform for riders to connect with drivers.

Yes there is proper department but there is a phone number

post-113529-0-71238900-1477557424_thumb.jpg

How they going to sustain depends on whether they can get more investors to throw money in... They are aggressively advertising their rental cars... a lot signed up and a lot throw keys...

LCR has all sorts of car.

I even saw a SLG Prius.

Today just saw a new mazda 2 sedan from LCR! LCR really have all sorts of new cars!

just wondering out loud, will anyone mind if the uber driver wear sloppy t-shirt and short? especially for the female passengers.